We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Maltese food.. ”

Nenu the Artisan Baker
Ranked #32 of 275 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nenu The Artisan Baker is a meeting place for young and old, locals and foreigners, frequent patrons as well as those desirous of a taste of local authentic cuisine served within an old setting, restored to a pristine and unique look. Undoubtedly, the business venture places major emphasis on the need to promote the historical, cultural and societal importance of the prima donna which prompted the whole idea behind the project, namely... the Maltese bread in its traditional format. Apart from the meeting spots such as the 'Bar' area and the 'Discovery Room' area (primarily aimed at the younger generation), the premises offer an extensive dining coverage spread in many key points such as the 'Courtyard', the 'Attic' and other areas which may easily cater for special occasions and events.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a traditional Maltese food this is the right place! Go there and have real food.. service? A little bit slow and disorganized.... for the rest 5 dots...

Thank moorabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Public Relations Manager at Nenu the Artisan Baker, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our traditional Maltese cuisine!

We’re sorry about the waiting time, which is mostly due to the increase in the diners at the restaurant. Will pass on your message to the team. We encourage everyone to book in due time before coming to the restaurants to make sure that we have tables available. This also helps the restaurant manager is reducing waiting times.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back at the restaurant someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

It was just a stop in Valletta for a few hours on my way back. I was advised by locals that it is where one can taste the best local Maltese delights in the miniature capital city of a miniature country, Malta.

The advice was genuine and very true. Despite the slightly long waiting time due to the long queue and high demand from consumers, the waiting time was definitely worthwhile. I was served the most authentic and delicious food by the most professional and friendly staff members who came from different parts of the world to contribute to this small in size yet great in value place and city.

NENU is the Artisan Baker for all those who can appreciate true value regardless of size.

Highly recommended

Happy Easter!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ADEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonpace, Public Relations Manager at Nenu the Artisan Baker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are sorry you had to wait a bit but happy that you enjoyed the traditional Maltese cuisine. We will also pass on the message to our team...we're sure they'll appreciate it.

Hope you enjoyed your stay in Malta and perhaps also that you'll visit the islands again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This was next door to our apartment and a fantastic find. Friendly staff, traditional menu that was delicious. When we were there there was a big party of locals celebrating something so it was great to be somewhere that locals choose. You need to book and be prepared for the glass floor at the entrance!

Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonpace, Public Relations Manager at Nenu the Artisan Baker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Our glass floor is gaining international fame :) This allows people to have a peak in a traditional Maltese bakery below even if they are not dining at the restaurant.

Maltese people tend to dine at Nenu to relive the good old days or learn more about traditional Maltese cuisine. And yes, we always advice pre-booking.

Thank you for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We booked a table at this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel manager. It was lovely to eat in a restaurant serving local dishes and frequented by local families. It was fully booked but the service was excellent from Branco and Nicole. Branco apologised for the level of noise from other diners but there really was no need as part of the enjoyment of eating here was feeling part of the local scene! My husband had ftira which he loved and found so filling he couldn't manage a dessert which is unlike him! I had delicious sea bass with local vegetables which was equally good. This restaurant is highly recommended for a true Maltese dining experience.

Thank judy2253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonpace, Public Relations Manager at Nenu the Artisan Baker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed the experience. Will pass on your kind message to Branco and Nicole....they will appreciate it.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had a late lunch at Nenu the Artisan Baker. The restaurant was packed even though it was almost 2:30pm. The food was excellent and included:
• Maltese coffee – brewed with cinnamon & anise, very fragrant. This is a black coffee served with sugar
• Kinnie – an interesting Maltese soda made with Mediterranean Chinotto (bitter orange); very different from American sodas, not as sweet. I heard that you either liked it or not. As for me, I liked the aroma and the light sweetness.
• Almond liquor – dry but smooth and very aromatic.
• Complimentary good crusty bread with bigilla (broad bean pate, a traditional Maltese food, prominent in mezze platter) & very tasty sun-dried tomato puree.
• Baked sea bass fillets (2) served with baked skinless potatoes & mixed veggies (sweet carrots, green peppers, zucchini, onions). The sea bass was frozen according to our honest waiter, it was good nonetheless.
• Delightful rabbit ravioli in a lightly sweet sauce. The portion was too big, so we took more than half home.
• Halva gateau with fig puree – refreshing smooth texture, soft like a pudding, fragrant with light floral aromas, topped with a delicious fig puree. The gateau was perfectly sweet. A wonderful ending to a nice meal, thanks to the recommendation of our sweet waiter Aymen -- so glad I asked for his advice as I was debating between the Halva and the Imqaret!
• With the bill, our waiter brought us a complimentary limoncello which is so delectable!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoveAllKindsOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonpace, Public Relations Manager at Nenu the Artisan Baker, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you so much for your detailed review!

We really appreciate your comments especially because it's clear that you have experience in travelling. It's always a pleasure to share our knowledge of our local traditional cuisine.

Hope you enjoyed your stay in Malta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nenu the Artisan Baker also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Nenu the Artisan Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing