We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Dining with a superb view of Sliema setting your scene Open plan Kitchen, Living, Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Dining with a superb view of Sliema setting your scene
Open plan Kitchen, Living, Dining area
Outside Table & Chairs
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
View of Sliema from Roof Top Terrace
Kitchen island with Stools
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The old Telephone and Letter box, by Cafe Cordina a short walk from Old Mint
Shower Room
Kitchen Island
Spiral Staircase to Double Bedroom at Lower Level
Double Bedroom at Lower Level
Relax on the sofa
Upper Barrakka looking over the Grand Harbour a short walk from Old Mint
Enjoy the outdoors in this Historical City
Large Private Sun Terrace with the Penthouse
Dining table
Private Roof Sun Terrace for the sole use with the Penthouse
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Relax in Valletta
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Upper Barrakka Gardens loading of the Canon at Midday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bron S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Penthouse is really lovely. The views from the dining room across to Tigne are stunning and one can see the boats going across from Sliema to Valletta. The apartment was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The kitchen was superbly equipped with enough equipment to cook a four course meal! The only quibble was the lack of a handrail on the spiral staircase down to the second bedroom and I would not recommend the apartment to anyone unsteady on their feet, or a family with children. However, I think this is pointed out in the brochure. Nevertheless, a holiday in The Penthouse or indeed in any of the other apartments is well worth a visit. The building is very secure so no chance of any unauthorised person wandering in off the street. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very clean and well appointed”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Located close to a good selection of restaurants and a short walk to the bus station. Appartment is modern, clean and well equipped. On the equivalent of the 5th floor the lift was very practical.
The pre-visit comms were very good as was the check in and out process.
The only thing we would change was the air-con in the main bedroom, desirable at night in peak season, but is somewhat noisy. Instead we made do with a fan and opening the patio doors, but then had the early morning traffic noise. The unit in the second bedroom is very quiet and shows how unobtrusive it can be (i.e. easy to sleep with it on).
Our comments were noted - it this were changed it would be a 5 star rating from us.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anabelmos...
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Mint Penthouse is a really nice apartment in the Center of La Valletta. The situation is perfect.
The apartment has two rooms, one of them is in the first floor and really big, the other one is a bit small and closed. However, both rooms have air conditioning, so in summer must be ok.
The views from the roof are amazing, great to have dinners and some drinks.
The only thing I didn't like was the electricity consumption. You only can spend 20 euros of electricity, if you spend more, you will need to pay. In 4 days we spent around 10 euros, and we barely stayed in the apartment. So, maybe in summer, with the air conditiong can be an issue.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
I am happy to learn you had a great stay over at the Old Mint Penthouse, we enjoyed having you.

Just for the record electricity is monitored and an allowance allocated to your stay, which is detailed in full on the Booking Form you filled in. Unfortunately they're some visitors we had in the past that totally abused the Air Conditioning units leaving them on when not at the Penthouse and in all rooms, which apart from the extortionate cost of electricity nowadays is somewhat disrespectful and carefree as a result we were forced to introduce the monitoring of electricity, albeit giving an adequate allowance, which covers none abusive visiting guest. As you experienced this to the effect of only using 50% of the allowance.

We hope to have you back one day, thank you for staying at the Old Mint Penthouse.

Regards,
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheapskat...
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Can't say enough good things about the Old Mint Penthouse. The pictures of the unit were fantastic, but the reality was even better--beautiful views from the roof and balcony, first-rate kitchen, excellent bathroom, perfect mattress on the bed for a good night's sleep.

A few notes: Truly, the location couldn't be better. It's at most a 10 minute walk from the buses, and only a couple of minutes to Republic Street (bring some good walking shoes, though, some of the streets are steep). One night, we saw the Malta Philharmonic at Manoel Theatre, walked a block afterwards for a late dinner at Legligin, and then had only a 2 minute stroll home.

I highly recommend arranging for the car pickup at the airport. Our driver took us straight to the building, which might have been a bit tricky to find for a driver not well-versed in the intricacies of the Valletta streets. She showed us everything we needed to know for our 10 days there--how to work the TV, appliances, locks on the doors, etc. By the way, the manuals for all the appliances are in a drawer in the kitchen, which was much appreciated, especially when it came to the washing machine (I did have to dust off my schoolboy Italian to decipher the latter). As others have said, you might not want to brave this unit with smaller children--there is a daunting spiral staircase down to the second bedroom, not to mention up to the rooftop. And bring some slippers for the marble floors, if you're here when the weather is chilly.

I'm a coffee lover, so I was delighted to see a French press in the kitchen. (You can find excellent beans at a shop called Chocolate District on Melita St., which they will grind for you.)

The kitchen is superbly equipped (the only thing I would add is a rack to dry dishes on).

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: It was a little cumbersome to have to wire money for the deposit and to have to show up with a wad of cash to pay for the rental.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica012...
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, clean, lovely”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed here for a week. It is in a great location and we loved Valletta. The place itself is attractive and clean. The view is astonishing. You have private access to the roof where you can sunbathe and take in the sites.
The property manager Nicolina was very friendly and helpful.
The room separation wasn't ideal for our family with small kids, but two couples or older children would be just fine.
I would recommend this to anyone. A great find.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$132
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing