We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super stylish apartment, very clean and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Modern Style and Architecture in a Majestic City
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern Style and Architecture in a Majestic City
Dine in Style Entering the Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Modern Style and Architecture in a Majestic City
Dine in Style
Entering the Apartment
Grandeur, Contemporary, Perfect...
Entrance to block with Lift to all Floors
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
2 Single Beds
Leather Sofa for Your Comfort
Modern and Airy
Stairs from entrance to Apartment
Kitchen
Shower room
The old Telephone & Post Box by Cafe Cordina
Entrance to the block
Valletta Centre - Pjazza San Gorg just 2 minutes walk from Old Mint
Fireworks over Valletta
Valletta Waterfront with sophisticated Bars, Restaurants and Cafes
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Historic buildings, close to the Old MInt
Superb Views of the Grand Harbour in Valletta
Upper Barrakka Gardens, just a short walk away from Old Mint
Panoramic view of Capital of Malta
Let's go for a walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
sem859
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super stylish apartment, very clean and convenient for buses and ferries”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved staying at Old Mint, a lovely old building but the apartment is modern and stylish, just like the photographs. It's near to the shops of Valletta as well as the bus terminal, just up the hill from the Ferry to Sliema, and a great bakery next door. This is our second visit to Malta and would definately choose an apartment over a hotel next time, in fact this apartment is top of our list. Tips for getting around in Malta; buy a bus ticket for the Aviva buses, very cheap and will get you to any part of the island. Dont miss out on a visit to Gozo, but best of all is Mdina, the silent city. Mdina is a fabulous walled city, very atmospheric and tea (or wine) in the Fontanella Tea Gardens will give you the view of a lifetime as well as very naughty cakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable beds
Liked least: limited TV chanels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJtheMom
Phoenixville, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best vacation rental ever”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment of Old Mint #1 was just perfect. It looks exactly like the pictures posted -- even better. My two adult children and I rented it for two weeks over the Christmas-New Year's holiday. The apartment was spotless and in a perfect location. We were just a few minutes' walk from sightseeing, shops, dinning, and the main bus terminal in Valletta. But, we were far enough removed from the main streets (such as Republic & Merchant) that we didn't have any crowds and the street was pretty quiet. My son arrived two days after my daughter & I arrived and his luggage was lost. Claire did her magic helping us out with retrieving it. There is no way we could have managed it on our own and it was wonderful to have her back-up support. The apartment was also a bit on the chilly side and Claire brought us extra comforters for the beds. Her attention to detail made all of the difference.

The only drawback to this rental (if I can even call it that) was the deposit and payment options. We live in the United States and belong to a small credit union. Our bank was not able to do international wire transfers. I had to find a friend who belongs to a national bank and give her the money to do it for me. It was also a bit of a drawback having to pay the balance in Euros cash. Our bank only permits us to withdraw US $600.00 a day from an ATM. But the balance owed was over $1,000.00. We had a layover in Germany and the first ATM we went to would not let us withdraw more than 200 Euro. We did find another one that permitted us to withdraw the 440 Euro each of us needed to have on hand to make the balance owed. It would have been easier if I could have put it all on my credit card.

One last thing -- the rental company talked me into having a car pick us up at the airport. That turned out to be a great help. After having been up and traveling for over 24 hours, my daughter & I were exhausted and it would have been a bit much for us to drag our luggage onto a bus then drag it around the streets of Valletta looking for the apartment. Also, until you are familiar with the area, the apartment is a bit tricky to find. I had a car pick up my son from the airport when he came in late Sunday night and the driver even had a difficult time finding the apartment (it was dark, though).

All-in-all, this is a perfect apartment and I would rent it again if I ever return to vacation in Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the apartment and Claire's help
Liked least: the payment options
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
concordia...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Loved living in Old Mint No. 1 for a month”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

In my opinion Malta’s only city worth staying in is Valletta, and the best place to stay in Valletta is Old Mint No 1.
With plans to be in Malta a month we could not have chosen better. No 1 is a spectacular design and we loved it. It is huge, furnished in a contemporary style, has lots of storage space, and is presented fresh and clean. The well-supplied kitchen got a lot of use and the cookware and equipment was better than we ever expected from a rental unit. The knives were sharp, there were lots of options for pots and pans and the dishware & flatware was good quality. Only two things were missing: an automatic pastizzi dispenser ☺ and a cappuccino/latte maker, but our favorite take away coffee at South Street Café was just a few blocks away and cost only one euro each (pastizzi 50 cents). The bathrooms were roomy and functioned well, as did the washing machine. Since we had so much time in Malta we weren’t out exploring every minute of every day and appreciated the fact that everything in the apartment was in great condition and comfortable. The location is terrific, especially because plentiful overnight parking is an easy 3 blocks away. There are scads of restaurant choices within 6 blocks and yet this apartment is situated on a mostly residential street with a bakery next door. The owner of the building was very accommodating and sent her cleaning crew in before 2 different guest couples arrived to join us for a week each. Clair is so lovely that we felt we made a friend for life. We were sad to leave Malta and sad to leave Old Mint No 1,but look forward to returning again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, ambiance, the owner's attitude & responsiveness
Liked least: The payment process was awkward, but they are working to accept credit cards.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much at the Old Mint.

Rgrds,
Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea C
Girona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent apartment and very kind host! highly recommended!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Me and my family are very happy with our vacation, and the apartment was the most important thing for us, beacuse it was worthed. We were very confy and pleased with what we found there. Just as in pictures, we enjoyed a nice, chic elegant and clean, with full kithcen and all modern convenience apartment, situated in the heart of Valetta.

I really want to thank Paul, Nicolina and Claire for their kindness and respect! Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Andreea C

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macandree
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Large Apartment in Good Location”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Old Mint 1 is a large well equipped apartment mid way between main street and ferry service. There is no view and no direct sun coming which would keep the place cool in summer time. We would have preferred the Penthouse which has a balcony and roof terrace but unfortunately this was not available for our stay. Read the very fine print about extra power costs which I think should be more clearly presented. Payment was a not easy and would be much better with PayPal or Credit Card. We took the option of having a cab meet us which worked well. I don't think we would have found the place without someone who was familiar with it. Claire answered all our queries very well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Payment method which is difficult from Australia
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback, please note that our Booking Form terms and Condition's clearly state the electric conditions, under point 5. of which font size is the same throughout the Form. I note that you were not charged anything for electricity. We have had in the past where electric consumption is not monitored guest that leave heating/cooling appliances on whilst not at the property, thus we give an allowance built within the rental cost, we rarely charge guest only on extreme electric usage. We dont have a credit card merchant facility and thus a bank to bank transfer is the only option at present with credit card facility being looked into.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing