We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!! downfall we had to come home :(”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

First of all i have to say that i have been to some fantastic hotels in the caribbean, aruba, dom rep, mexico but this hotel just blows them all away! from the staff the people the food everything was just perfect if anybody has any worries about choosing this hote! DON'T!! its simply amazing.

My auntie and I decided to get away for week after going through some relationship troubles we needed a holiday and this hotel just stood out to us it we were looking on the internet i think the main attraction was that there was no children so it'd be a nice relaxing holiday!

We flew from newcastle and arrived at the hotel about midnight this is where we were greeted by Dino the nightshift reception manager (he turned out to be a really great friend during our stay) our suitcases were taken by the bellboy and we sat down and had a drink with a ham and cheese roll. We then went to our room which was 117 the same level as reception just round the corner it was in a lovely part of hotel we had a sea view too room was lovely and modern looking with two twin beds, it was a bit on the small side but nothing major, only gripe we had was that there wasnt really any drawer space especially when two women are sharing a room! lol

we unpacked our things and decided to take a walk around the hotel at night just to get a feel of where everything was we were greeted by dino again n he told us best places to go where everythng was he was amazing! really look out for this guy when you go!

next morning we went down to breakfast! oh my! i am a very fussy eater but i certainly found something to eat every single time i went! made to order omelettes bacon sausage toast the list is endless you will never go hungry!

the pools are fantastic really big plenty of sunloungers i'm an early riser i looked out of balcony doors on a morning and people were placing their towels at 6:30am there really wasnt any need to you could always find a lounger! constantin and gog were brilliant for their service alot of the waiters/bartenders were romanian and hungarian had really good english and could easily strike up conversation with them! we were informed by Dino that most of the people who work there were on work experience doing hotel management courses they were all so friendly!

we ventured to the beach one afternoon not the prettiest beach but the beach bar and restaurant was brilliant mihai was on top form, a couple of days they all knew what we were drinking an knew our room number lol was great! the only trouble with the beach is on the weekends the locals would flock here so it was hard to get a lounger unless you were up pretty early so top tip is lay by the pool on a weekend!

dinner the same as breakfast was alway something to eat the desserts was lush our favourite were these coconut balls oh they were to die for and the strawberry ice cream yummy! we made friends with the chef in there his name was Anthony from Laaaaanndoon!!! typical cockney dead cheeky he was lovely though!

entertainment we were only there for a week :( wish it was two! every tuesday night was gala night the week we were there it was the black and white ball where everyone dressed up in black and white, we didnt go to this as we felt the seating was a bit too close together for us and we don't like to dine outside, but its a great way to meet other fellow guests there! we were told the tuesday after gala night would be fire and ice so everything was decorated red and blue!
We made great friends with the resident duo liason susie and lee, i can't believe how people have slated her voice yes it may have ben repetative but shes an amazing singer and a lovely girl to boot! and i cant believe how people think 11:45pm is 'too late' for the entertainment to finish, we had met a group of people there were we would just sit for ages after the entertainment had finished just chatting away and having a laugh ordering as many drinks as we could before 12am all inclusive cut off point! ha ha! Anya was a bit strict mind she wouldnt give us another drink until we had finished the other one! lol so we all downed them! christodopolous made the best drinks i just called him chris by the end of the night got a bit of a mouthful after a couple of tequila shots! Service on a night was immense, i became great friends with ronald nick and richard the waiters on a night i even added them on facebook lol their service was oustanding they knew what were drinking what room number we were in,. we worked our way down the cocktail list and did find that there was alot of alcohol in very strong to our liking so we ordered it as not too strong to which we were replied with... but you're on holiday! haha

we had many drunken nights and i think at one point we didnt go to bed til 4am we were mainly sat in the lobby at night chatting away to Dino! as i said before such a great guy! i tell you i bet he sees some stuff going on on a night ha ha!

theres a bus stop outside the hotel bus number 30 runs straight to limassol there wasnt really much there to be honest we did find a debenhams but prices were extortionate i'd say at least a third more expensive than back here in england

age range, well im 26 and my auntie is in her forties there was a mixture of age ranges here we met a few people who were only 19 and upwards it wasnt all just couples here either as i thought it was going to be there were friends here holidaying together and families it was just brilliant everyone was remarkable met some really great people here too!

just book this hotel! it was very emotional leaving i wanted to stay id be happy living in that hotel! lol it was a shame that we were only there for a week as we felt we were just getting to know the staff and the hotel and people, so next year we are going back for TWO WEEKS!!! YAAAAYYY!! lol

oh just a quick note dont bother going to thomson meeting its basically them trying to sell overpriced excursions nothng about the hotel itself theres a board by the toilets that tells you all you need to know about flight coming back so dont waste valuable sunbathing/drinking time! and this hotel has free wifi throughout the hotel bonus!!!

enjoy it like i said its the best hotel i have visited the food the weather service the people!

xxxxx

Room Tip: 117 nicely located and has a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank wellywonderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,915 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

My partner and I were looking for a laid back chilled out week in the sun and found it at this excellent hotel. We read some bad reports about building work and traffic noise but when we got there we could not understand these complaints. We had a superior room with sea view overlooking the pool on the so called noisy side of the hotel and had no disturbance at all. The entertainment does go on untill around midnight but that was no problem. The pool area was busy because the hotel was full when we were there but no big deal, we always got a sun lounger along with everyone else. The staff in the hotel are outstanding and cater for your every need and the food was superb with a great choice every night, (try the pork in calvados sauce ), my partner is vegetarian and found good choices each night . I would recommend taking the all inclusive drinks package when you arrive, it was 19EURO per person per night but covers all your beer (Carlsberg) wine, cocktails, spirits, coffee etc, well worth it in 34 degree heat. All in, we could not fault the place and got the same feedback from the many people we met. only complaint was thomson ( not the hotel reps) THE FLIGHT WAS A PAIN, the aircraft was a joke, needed a refit or convert to cargo plane because its passenger days are over.When will tour companys realise the holiday starts when you walk through the door of the aircraft, then the hotel. Well done Atlantica Bay. Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Well where do we start.
On arrival we thought we had the wrong hotel. You walk into a fantastic reception area and you receive a fantastic welcome on arrival and the staff can't do enough for you to help you. The porter takes your bags to your room whilst you get a drink and snack and start to chill.

The room we got was brilliant, it is modernly decorated with a huge double bed, air-con, good storage spaces for all your items. The bathroom is really nicely finished and is very clean. You will get a free bottle of water initially but if you want more in your room, get it from the bar and take it up. Its common sense really if you want water. The cleaners do enough for you without replenishing your water stocks.

The staff here are amazing, the bar staff are very effiecent, when you are chilling by the pool, they come and ask you if you would like a drink, if they see you are reading or asleep then they leave you in peace. We tend to sit around the smaller pool of the two which was really nice. You are near the roadside (say 150 meters or so) but the traffic is not a problem, you don't tend to notice it at all and yes there is a building site across the road but again you switch off to it. They don't start working on it until later in the day anyway and finish early so it doesn't bother you.

Food is fantastic also, there is such a variety, breakfast has so much choice you can't go hungry, same at lunch as there's so much choice. Evening meals are great again something different every night. There's a great variety of local foods as well as items you tend to eat at home so there's plenty of choice for fussy eaters. The al a carte meal is amazing, such great choice and the presentation of the food is great, this was a fantastic meal (recommend the beef fillet). Some tables are a little close but generally don't bother you.

Schnibbles on the balcony terrace is great, Just ask for them and the staff will bring you them (nuts and popcorn). They go well with your drinks.

The local bus service is brill. 2 euros for a all day pass is great if you want to get out and about as well.

Entertainment team aren't bad. They have a lot of singing acts but mix in some magicians and comedians. Some of it wasn't to our taste but lets be honest, not everyone is the same. There's loads to do during the day, jewelry and cocktail making, local ruins, photograph tour, daily quiz. There's loads more to list but you can see there's plenty happening. If you want to chill out you can as it's all in a certain area of the pool side so it doesn't bother you. The main pool is more lively and do play music but it's not loud. Just background music really.

Overall a great holiday, one of the best yet. Staff are great, hotel is great, room was great, drink was great, oh and schnibbles were great. There is a great mixture of age groups, from the twenties to oldies.

Little tips - Don't pay too much attention to the bad reviews.
Men need to take trousers for meal at night time, can be smart, casual or just comfy. shorts aren't accepted. Just the rules.
There is a themed night on a Tuesday which is fantastic but be aware of the dress code, the invite says "dress to impress". Just helps so you blend in with others.
Location is as they say, out of the way but we liked that as your not in the really busy area of limassol.

Room Tip: Just go all inclusive as drinks can be a little pricey but you can get a deal if you go half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Cannot fault the service from all the hotel staff, they do really make you feel relaxed. Booked for 2012 before we even went in 2011, this will be our 4th year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin190927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one week in July and it was my first experience of an all inclusive and I would highly recommend it. The accommodation was great - good facilities and plenty of space both around the hotel pools and on the hotels beach section. The staff were helpful and friendly but not intrusive. The location of this hotel is a slight downside as it is not within walking distance of anything. The one area where I think the hotel should make an investment is in the entertainment. Admittedly this hotel is targeted to a certain customer base but if I wanted 1* Butlins I would have stayed in the UK. Although saying that friends stayed for the second week and they said that the entertainment was better. Overall would I go back? Yes I would - the hotel does 'exactly as it says on the tin' - weather great, food great, staff great, easy to hire a car and it was a very pleasant week.
Claire, Belfast

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Claire809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.8 km away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#6 of 56 in Limassol
1,662 reviews
1.9 km away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.1 km away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 56 in Limassol
2,139 reviews
5.6 km away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
1,024 reviews
11.9 km away
Alasia Hotel
Alasia Hotel
#3 of 56 in Limassol
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing