We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managing Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Andorra
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Andorra la Vella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

July 13th ... 3 nights. Front of house staff really helpful. I believe we were uopgraded to one oif the best rooms, top floor with large balcony. Room had few design issues and a little worn in places but nothing that spoiled the stay. Comfy bed, good A/C and slept really well.
Main issue is the restaurant which is not up to standard for even a 4 star hotel. Out of season the cafeteria is converted to dining in the evening and is not ideal. No sense of occasion and so many service errors we spent most of the time wondering what would happen next. e.g. others offered bread, we had to ask for some... no oil or butter offered. Brought wine list instead of the menus then disappeared and found out only when he came for the order. Chose an expensive bottle of wine but had to start our meal while it chilled in an ice bucket. Forgot to bring the wine completely 2nd evening, same thing when asked for another bottle of water. Food delivered in a rush then gone, left looking around for missing things eg oil / aceto, pepper, missing cutlery etc..
Felt like a package tour, get them fed and get them out. Staff busy but ineffective. Felt they ran the restaurant to suit themselves not the customer. Food was OK but nothing special and the advertised Al a carte menu was not available.

Room Service: Rang on two evenings for wine to be delivered ... no answer, had to go back to the bar first time, and via Reception 2nd time.

Breakfast: Excellent selection and good produce, except for the hot food! Laid out on wide platters with nothing to keep it warm and heaven knows what it was cooked in. Struggled to get a fried egg as they had welded together, wished I hadn't, it was cold and the "axle grease" it was cooked in stayed on the palate all day. Same with the bacon.
Minor changes to the cooking and presentation of the hot food would make this a 5 star breakfast.

In summary its about managing expectations when claiming to be 5 Star Hotel. In my opinion the hotel is a slightly flawed 4 star and the restaurant 2 Star. Might not have been so critical if it was advertised as such.

FYI ....To park the car its 20 Euro a night and includes valet parking.

NB Rating below is for the Hotel not the restaurant.

Room Tip: I think it was 609 top floor with balcony, very spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yorkshireman1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza Andorra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear yorkshireman1945,
Thank you for your comments, the next meeting of budgets will propose your suggestions regarding the decoration and furniture of the Hotel, in reference to the service received in our restaurant, will take the appropriate means and will speak with the head of the Department so what you say does not happen again. We hope you have an opportunity and return to the Hotel Plaza and check for an improvement in the service received. thank you very much and we hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Andorra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

I frequently travel on a frugal budget. I stay in places ranging from $10 a night hostels to $300 a night five star hotels, depending upon whether or not I can utilize rewards or share rooms or make something work that fits my frequent traveler mindset.

That being said, I've stayed at five star hotel prices that underwhelm. When I saw the price (I paid only $90 for a night), I assumed it must have been five stars in name only. I was wrong. Hotel Plaza Andorra is the real deal, and I was really happy I stayed here.

The location is fantastic. It's a five minute walk, if that, from the main walking road where everything is happening during the day. So, issues with location. The room was massive, with all of the expected amenities of a five star hotel (unlike some places that are five star hotels but give you a three star room when you pay three star prices). The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom was decked out. The staff were incredibly nice and incredibly helpful. Oh, and the mini-bar is incredibly cheap. That was a cool little note. The gym was simple, but modern at least. The spa was small, but still looked absolutely fantastic.

If you're a frequent five star hotel traveler, I could understand why perhaps this hotel isn't the most amazing of five star hotels. I also didn't get a chance to try any of the food at the restaurant, so if that's important to you, check out another review.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza Andorra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Plaza. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you consider us with good value for money hotel and that the services we are offering was great for a 5 stars hotel.
We hope you will visit us again,
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

My 5th-floor room was spacious, with three big windows, clean and comfortably furnished. The hotel is well located right in the centre of town. Staff friendly and helpful. The only thing I could criticize (being a stiff old lady) is the lack of a handle to help me over the side of the bath after my shower, but I heard it from the horse's mouth that the bathrooms will soon be refurbished. Plentiful and varied supply of toiletries, including a dental pack. Large selection of breads, pastries, cheeses, sausages, cereals, fresh fruit and so on at breakfast, cantankerous coffee machine! There was free wifi but the connection was wobbly.

Room Tip: Do not expect views as the hotel is surrounded by tall buildings.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza Andorra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Barbara,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staffs takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel Plaza Andorra is a safe choice. At this hotel you will have a nice clean room with a good bed to sleep in. The breakfast has a lot to choose from and the bar on the first floor also have some nice small dishes.
Its a old fashioned hotel that gives me a good feeling. It's also a plus that the hotel is just a minute away from all the shopping streets.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank RuthMoiRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza Andorra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staffs takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

As with so many 4 star Hotels it is the spa facilities that elevates the average other facilities from really 3 star. Room past its best though spacious poor quality wall coverings throughout.
Front desk star a young American who could teach the rest the basics of customer service. I don't expect to be reprimanded when the 3rd attempt at the bill is wrong because I didn't tell them my car was in their garage!
Restaurant top dog may have been to the Basil Faulty School of Hotel etiquette closely followed by a tutting evening waitress annoyed because we didn't order the wine as we were sitting down. Dinner excellent but have seen better breakfast buffets in a 2 star in Ibiza.
Cafe & bar excellent with a smiling young lady who knows how to make a good G& T

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza Andorra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andorra la Vella hotels
0.3 km away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,077 reviews
0.8 km away
Andorra Park Hotel
Andorra Park Hotel
#1 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,004 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Andorra
Holiday Inn Andorra
#7 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Acta Arthotel
Hotel Acta Arthotel
#3 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,125 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Andorra
Novotel Andorra
#10 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
637 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure
Hotel Mercure
#12 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Andorra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Andorra

Address: C/ Na Maria Pla 19-21, Andorra la Vella AD500, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Andorra la Vella Parish > Andorra la Vella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Andorra la Vella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Andorra la Vella
#3 Family Hotel in Andorra la Vella
#3 Business Hotel in Andorra la Vella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Andorra la Vella
Price Range: RM452 - RM1,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Andorra 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2006, it is located in the midst of the shopping and business area. Its emblematic hall, in warm English style -with Chester-type Edwardian sofas, Paul Smith rugs and Plensa oil paintings- summarises the personality of the flagship of the Plaza Hotels chain. Welcome to the meeting point of the Principality's best society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Plaza Andorra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Andorra La Vella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing