We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
47
105
31
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
105
31
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews twin room evening meal ski lockers gondola station bar prices are stay at this hotel again cooked breakfast salad room safe coffee machine fresh towels bars and restaurants central hotel ski holiday an ideal location pic negre yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Well, i believe this will be the longest review i have ever done here. So here we go...

This hotel is one of the worst places i have ever stayed in my life. I'm very sorry to say that they should be closed so less people would get bad...

- Breakfast: The food is something from another world. My dog would eat that. Breakfast is just horrible. The scrambled eggs are a shame. i was one of the first guests to be at breakfast at 7.30am. Well, the eggs were already cold. and the taste is even worse... besides that, they got the fattest bacon in the world. They should get an award because of that. that was absolutely disgusting. The coffee at the machine is another chapter... the black coffeee comes with more water then coffee. Horrible !! OMG... There is a juice machine that i prefer not to say anything.

- Dinner: this was included. but I did only in the first day. i don't have words to describe what is that. Again, i wouldn't offer none of that to worst enemy.

- the room: the size is all right. Heating is medium. i got my bottle of wine very cold beside the window (inside the room). the mattress are awful. and the blankets ?? very similar to those prisoners use in prison. Old and nasty. it's cleaned in general.

- Bathroom: another big challenge. OMG... i have to put tapes against the wall to hold the shower in a position i could take a shower. but it's impossible not to wash the whole bathroom. they could get another award, the thinnest soap in the world. Seriously, it was less then 1cm. The shampoo comes in a sache... it's better to go to the supermarket and buy some floor cleaning then using those things.

- Water: don't drink it from the sink. you're not in the Alps. or you'll regret for days...

- Service: no, this is a riot ! my first question (in spanish) was if the restaurant (very famous in town) beside the hotel would require a reservation. i heard a "i don't know, have never been there". then i decided not to ask anything else.

- location: very close to the slopes. but Soldeu is really a place to ski and nothing else.

- Ski room: there is no heating in this place. So get prepared to have your skis with snow in the other day. The light gets on by a sensor. But forget if you're alone. It doesn't work and you'll have to use your cell phone light ! then you should take your boots to the room. This is a interesting thing. You can take your boots to the room, but you cannot walk on boots in the hotel. so what you have to do is take it off and walk in socks through the garage full of oil and old cars. Yes, this amazing room is at the garage. you'll see your boots full of oil.

- The pain au chocolat (not made there) in the breakfast is really good. that is the only good thing in this hotel.

Room Tip: Forget this place ! it's hell on earth.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank FabioGal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed here January 29th - Feb 4th 2018 for our ski holiday and on arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is warm, cosy and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful if you needed them.

The rooms are quite small, but fully functional and comfortable, had everything you needed.

The catering meant a continental breakfast from 0730 to 1000 and then a buffet style dinner from 2000-2200. The breakfast was great, loads to choose from, scrambled eggs, toast, yoghurts, continental stuff, cereal and so fourth you really can't complain, although one coffee machine meant queuing, they could do with installing a second.

Main issue with the dinner was the time! 8pm was too late. It really dictated how our evenings went unfortunately. We'd have preferred it if they started dinner from 6:30/7pm. The meal time would sort of mess around with how you spent your evening, because you end up staying in apres later waiting for dinner to be ready, but then by the time dinner is ready you eat and just sleep on a full stomach. If it was earlier, you've got the option to eat, take it easy for an hour then head of for a few beers before bed. Definitely something the hotel should consider changing.

Maistre is in a great location, close to all the good pubs and bars of Soldeu. The nightlife here to my surprise was excellent. There are several bars (Aspen, Barcode, The Harp, Fat Albert's to name a few) with great atmospheres and great staff, really made our holiday. There's even a night club, which you'd hear the punters spilling out from at 4am unfortunately.

In terms of the skiing - Grandvalira is awesome. Very very impressed by it all. You can rent your stuff from Pic Negre next to the hotel or you can use one of the hire places right next to the gondola (more convenient as you can literally plonk your stuff in a ski locker next door for 55 euro for the week, takes 4 people).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main road as there is where the drunk people fall down after they leave the club at 4am.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhysCoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We've stayed here for few days of our skitrip to Grandvalira - and this is a good place; there are some minor issues You need to be aware though (poor WiFi, namely!)
The meals were good, esp dinners; for the breakfast it's "English Breakfast", a solid foundatin for half a day on the slopes ;)
what we were missing, we were told our room should have a beautiful view - and the view was actually on wall of building 2m ahead :(

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Small friendly hotel in a great location. We stayed in a twin room - it was small but had everything needed. The food was good and the atmosphere very friendly and relaxed. Special mention to Theresa who works Reception and the Bar. Very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful - nothing was a bother.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank AE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The reason why I’ve scored this as 5/5 is just because of the staff there. They’re all lovely and went out of their way a couple of times for us. On Christmas Eve we didn’t realise there was a 5 course special meal which started at 8 (restaurant is usually open 8-10 for a buffet style meal in busy periods or al a carte during quieter times)... we rocked up at 9:15 and although everyone else had been there since 8, they still let us sit down and made sure we got all 5 courses and really made us feel like it was no trouble even though we were so late.

All of the team are fab and we really enjoyed chatting to them who are all at least tri-lingual.

Sure, the rooms aren’t huge, are a bit 90’s and basic with no tea/coffee making facilities with a tv from 1993...But when you’re there to snowboard/ski 9-5pm all you need is somewhere warm to stay, where you feel welcome and has a bath to ease the muscles at the end of the day with decent food. And this place has that.

Soldeu itself has a few bars and restaurants, is laid back and good for couples that want a quieter one and families. Go up the road to Pas de la Casa if you want full on apres ski and partying.

Grandvalira for snowboarding and skiing is class, lift passes are reasonable as are the restaurants and bars on the mountain. All of the sectors from pas to el campo are linked by loads an loads of runs and lifts so you can make every single day a different experience without breaking the bank, unlike other places in the alps.

I’d definitely come back and plan to ASAP and as long as you know up front what you’re getting with the Maistre, you’ll also have a fab time.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews