We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soldeu's Fawlty Towers”
Review of Himalaia Soldeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Himalaia Soldeu
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

On first impressions the hotel looks ok for the money, good location, the rooms at front of the hotel are a good size, good amenities. However the first impressions didn't last. Be warned!!!

The stand out was the staff. The 2 daytime staff on the front desk were the most unprofessional and rudest I have ever encountered (and I have stayed in 100's of hotels internationally). The evening staff were ok and made good hot chocolate to their credit.

Example one: We all awoke one morning to find there was no hot water in the hotel. When we went down stairs to enquire, there was no notice about this, when we tracked down the daytime sour faced receptionist in the back office looking at her Facebook page, we were just told a plumber was going to come out that afternoon, maybe. There was no apology at all for the inconvenience. It was as if this happened all the time.

Example 2: Crappy techno music played very loud from midnight until 3am from a downstairs bar just beyond the hotel. If your at the front of the hotel don't expect to sleep until 3am. The staff did not care, said it was beyond there control. The bar in question has outside speakers in the street!

Example 3: We wanted to check out an hour later than usual to get in a morning of snow boarding on our last day. The evening staff approved this, made a note, said it was no problem. However the next day when we checked in the morning that everything was fine we were told it wasn't possible and the sour faced receptionist just said "not possible", that she was overruling a staff decision.

Example 4: When we checked out and paid (god knows why), 1/2 an hour later they located us and told us we owed another 84 euros for booking commission.

Additionally the breakfast buffet is like bad prison food. Go to Slim JIm's for a breakfast itself, up the steps beyond the hotel front door. The internet connection is expensive because its sooooo slow. £5 for 30 mins to check a few emails. My brother tried the jacuzzi in the Health & Fitness Centre, it was lukewarm, the water hadn't been changed for days by the looks of it, there was a suspicion that a boy had pissed in it.

Generally these people know NOTHING about customer service. Certainly book if you want to be entertained by gross inefficiency. This place needs new management and new daytime staff. Evening staff are ok but have to work with daytime amateurs.

On the plus side if your an insomniac who doesn't eat and enjoys bad service, they do a good hot chocolate and its 5 mins from the gondolier. Go to Pic Negre for a good deal on gear hire. Luckily this isn't the only hotel in Soldeu.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 175 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

Could not believe it when on arrival they had no room for us! Lots of excuses (hole in ceiling) and very poor customer service. We booked this hotel to be near lift station but was sent to a hotel a mile out of town. When we finally got a room at this hotel 3 days later we discovered that it had a hole in the bath. What more can be said a very disappointing experience................. restaurant very small for size of hotel and has a school canteen feeling, tables were very close together and not always available.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireSnowfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Location good, rooms good, and quiet on top floor. Buffet style menu worked well for our family but the food was poor - if I cooked that badly at home the kids wouldn't eat it. The restauranr staff were always welcoming and helpful, but the reception staff made you feel as though they really didn't want you there. They didn't smile once to us - only to each other. Any slight requests seemed to be far too much of an effort. We couldn't even get a spare toilet roll! If they improved thje food and staff I would say it is an excellent hotel to stay in, but as it stands I would definitely not go to that hotel again, and certainly wouldn't recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntyNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

A group of 30 of us went to stay at the Himalaia, it wasn't our first stay so we sort of knew what to expect. It was a mixed group ranging from 18 - 60year olds including couples, singles and families.

The Location is fantastic only a quick walk (2mins) to the lifts, close to the bars and shops.

The rooms were clean and spacious (however request a room facing the front so you are not overlooking fat alberts night club, as it can get very loud at chucking out time).

The reception staff were terrible- they are rude, unhelpful and very unprofessional - I would say this is the worst aspect of the hotel. They have absolutely no concept of customer service.

The food in the hotel is not the best either. There is plenty of choice but nothing seems to have any taste or it is undercooked/overcooked.

The hotel offers a ski locker in the basement which they take a £20 deposit for (a lot cheaper than the lockers at the lift which cost £50)

The resort itself was brilliant for our group, it is fairly small yet it has plenty of bars and a few shops. It is just a quick bus ride to Pas de la casa, which cost us around £1.70 each way.

All in all the location made the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun_worshiper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This hotel has great potential, good location, nice big rooms / bathrooms, very clean, nice communual areas for chilling out, overall a nice hotel.
However we found most of the staff to be very negative towards non spanish speaking people. On arrival the receptionist was rather unpleasent and unhelpful even though we had been travelling for hours it was almost an inconvience to her to book us in! The bar staff and restaurant staff would always serve the spanish speakers first and we felt rather unwelcome. I came down early one morning feeling unwell and was sent out on the streets to find a drink, unable to find a shop that was open the receptionist finally relented and got me a drink (I might add that there were staff in the kitchen at this time).
There were some issues with the food, we were aware of 4 people having tummy upsets whilst we were staying there, however the food was ok and no one in our party had any problems.
As others have said, the hotel is VERY warm but to be honest that suited me!! We also had an issue on one day with the hot water and again the reception staff were rather unhelpful and almost seemed amused that we couldnt have a shower
We would stay here again, but only if they had a staff change.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soldeu hotels
0.2 km away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#4 of 16 in Soldeu
518 reviews
0.3 km away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sport Hotel
Sport Hotel
#7 of 16 in Soldeu
239 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Piolets Soldeu Centre
0.7 km away
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalaia Soldeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalaia Soldeu

Address: s.n Ctra. Canillo Soldeu, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soldeu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range: RM 468 - RM 1,722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Himalaia Soldeu 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Himalaia Soldeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaia Soldeu Hotel Soldeu
Himalaia Hotel Soldeu
Soldeu Himalaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing