We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”
Review of Haus Lenz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haus Lenz
Ranked #15 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2014

With all the great reviews on Trip Advisor, i think we had the wrong expectations for Haus Lenz.
Firstly, we asked for a private room with private bathroon but were given a room with the bathroom across the room - still only for us, but with the owner Helga, being able to walk through the passage whenever - not my idea of a private bathroom. We then realised that there was a room upstairs (yes more stairs) with a private bathroom and asked to be moved to this room.
ALL the stairs - watch the you tube video. This place is great if you are staying in Hallstatt for a weekend trip in Europe, but as South Africans on a month long vacation in Europe, all those stairs were traumatic and really left a sour taste by the end of them.
The place is clean and decent, but it is like going to stay with friends for the weekend - all the owners things are everywhere - even the cupboards, unlike other bed and breakfasts we stayed in where the lodgers and the owners were separate. The breakfast was extremely simple.
The view is amazing, but you can walk up yourself (without luggage) and admire the view and return to the bottom. remember it will take you about 15 minutes to see the whole of Hallstatt.

We left wishing we had rather booked into the Hotels right near the ferry at the bottom.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top with the separate sitting room. Makes you feel a little private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PPillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Haus Lenz for 2 nights in Sept 2013. The view in the morning was breathtaking, it seemed we were in a fairy tale. The house is located pretty high up, so expect some stair climbing. We didn't mind that, because the view was totally worth it. Our room and the bathroom were very clean and the breakfast was wonderful. If you are looking for a quiet and peaceful vacation this is the right place and house. This town is truly magical.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margarita118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Haus Lenz for 3 nights in Sept, 2013. The view from our room was beautiful and breathtaking. The path up to it was quite an experience made better by a you tube video we looked at prior to our trip. Helga served a great breakfast each day and tho the weather kept us from eating outside, it was so good. Helga gave us terrific sight location information and even conducted a town tour for a group, including ourselves. Her knowledge of the area is outstanding. Would recommend Hallstatt and Haus Lenz to everyone. She also recommended a side trip to Gousausee which was, again, unbelievably beautiful. Walked around the lake and admired the view of the glacier. The room was clean, bed very comfortable, and bath very nice. Would HIGHLY recommend this place and this area.

Room Tip: We had the three room (bedroom, sitting room and bathroom) for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at Haus Lenz for 3 glorious nights, even when it rained it was heaven. The view from our room was just breath taking we couldn't believe that we had found this little piece of paradise. To wake up in the morning to no noise at all was glorious. Our room was very clean, tidy and extremely comfortable with stunning views across the lake. Helga was very helpful in giving us local information and advice on where to go. We felt very at home here and are very privileged to have been welcomed into Hauz Lenz for our short stay in Hallstatt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Haus Lenz for three very restful nights. The initial climb with luggage was enough to make us pant. Without luggage, it's just a steep walk. The benefits of being high up on the Hallstatt hill are the view, and the quiet. After about 10 pm, even with the windows open, we couldn't hear a single thing.

The room was very comfortable and homey. The bathroom was spacious, but ran out of hot water very quickly. Unless you enjoy cold showers, don't be the last to shower in the morning.

Helga is very pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast is good. There is no WiFi.

If you're looking for a comfortable and restful place with amazing views, it's hard to beat Haus Lenz.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hallstatt hotels
0.4 km away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
674 reviews
0.3 km away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
708 reviews
0.3 km away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
72 reviews
0.6 km away
Gruner Anger
Gruner Anger
#1 of 16 in Hallstatt
287 reviews
0.6 km away
Pension Sarstein
Pension Sarstein
#3 of 16 in Hallstatt
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Lenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Lenz

Address: Hallberg 17, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing