We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful heritage home stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hallstatt, Upper Austria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sohaisoph...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful heritage home stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 2 nights at Ruth's home with my parents and sis and it wasn't enough! Beautiful lake views from the 2 bed rooms (there was a third that I didn't use), kitchen and balcony. Gorgeous wooden furniture and house decor. Ruth was warm, friendly and very hospitable. She even gave us a tour of her garden and cut us a rose when my sis kept exclaiming how beautiful they were! She shared with us an Austrian white wine. She gave us local insights- where to eat, hikes we could do, what to see.

To note:
Her house is at the end of Hallstatt away from the main tourist area but wasn't a problem as Hallstatt isn't very big and the walk wasn't too far.

In Austria my understanding is that their rubbish need to be seperated based on recycables, organic, others. So that had to be done at this guest house.

Thank you so much Ruth for the lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thanks for your warm words! It's a pleasure having met you and your family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
1 review
“PERFECT LAKESIDE RETREAT”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This house is an incredible hidden gem in a gorgeous city. Hallstatt is an incredibly beautiful and interesting place and is a must-do while travelling in Austria, and this cottage is the perfect lakeside retreat to stay in. After spending time in the city itself, you take a short walk up the lakeside road--past the most beautiful spots for photos--and arrive promptly at this darling cottage.

This home maintains a facade and decorations which are true to historic Hallstatt homes. It both has the legitimacy of being a well-maintained, classic home, and it is a welcoming cottage. If you want to stay in a TRUE Austrian lakeside home--do yourself a favor and stay here.

The location is perfect: you're right by the lake with unobstructed views, and really close to the actual 'hub' of the city--but with views you couldn't get in the 'downtown' area. My fiance' and I stayed here for three nights, and really enjoyed coming 'home' from following a day at the salt mines, hiking up the Dachstein, taking the ferry, eating lake-farmed fish, etc. to sit on the beautiful little balcony. The balcony was perfect for a light breakfast or glasses of wine at night. [Great view of the sunset and surroundings!] We didn't use the kitchen, to cook but noted that it was equipped with anything we could need. Everything was clean, neat, organized, and accessible (Wifi included).

Also, the family who owns the house is extremely nice and knowledgeable about the area and history; they're truly interesting and kind people. We couldn't be happier that they allowed us to stay in their amazing home!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thanks Christina - you two are for sure amongst those guests we'll keep in our hearts!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schmidtab...
schmidtable
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“California to Austria”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Love love love.....I am in Sound of Music!! Spotless and breathtaking to say the least...cannot find a complaint and the one thing my family is not comfortable with I will state later but would I stay here again? YES!!! We are very private people and love the top floor and again just immaculate. I have read reviews about Ruth the owner who stays downstairs but can simply walk upstairs to the part you rent...we shall see if we feel as if we are having to not be ourselves on our vacation...walking on eggshells can be uncomfortable but we are very clean and respectful and expect the same to us. I HAVE READ SHE IS VERY NICE. This is much better than any five star hotel on the water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Thanks, see you in the morning;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilbertAz...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite stop in Europe”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay in this rustic chalet right on the lake in Hallstatt. If you don't mind low ceilings and squeaky wood floors, it's a great family apartment. Quiet and peaceful with the most amazing views right out the windows or on the balcony. Kitchen has everything you need to do your own meals. Parking is not right at the house, but we found a place inside the gated drive close by. It's a two minute walk to the center of town. We did not want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie H
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most exquisite location!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lake Hallstatt is an unbelievable location. We felt like we were stepping back in time. Our family of five - two teenagers and a six-year-old, had wonderful quality time here.
Some things we did that I would recommend: We rented a boat and motored to Obertraun. That was a highlight. The Salt Mine tour was educational and helped us understand the history of the region. Within about 15 minutes of our arrival (by car from Munich - pretty easy drive and very beautiful!) we jumped in the VERY COLD lake for a quick dip. Also: We woke up the first morning in time to see the sunrise over the mountains and we have never seen a more peaceful place on earth!
The house itself is fine - the floors are a little squeaky so I did feel like we had to tip-toe a little since the flat is on the second floor. However, our hostess Ruth was so wonderful and even brought us a homemade cake to eat for breakfast on the second night of our stay.
On Ruth's recommendation we ate twice at Gastof Zauner, down the road.
We would now love to return to Lake Hallstatt in winter! What an extraordinary place!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mornings on the lake
Liked least: Squeaky floors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$131
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing