We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Feichtinger Graz Hotel(Graz)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Graz(Graz)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$59
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bauernwirt(Graz)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
A.E.I.O.U Oekotel(Graz)(Great Value!)
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
16
21
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
21
11
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Life is very short and since my father in law was soon to be turning 93 and in marvelous shape, my husband and I thought this would be a really nice time to visit his old home town of Graz, Austria. A chance to see his remaining relatives, visit some of his old "stomping grounds". We picked Hotel Kern Buam to stay at because it is very nicely situated not in the downtown core, but close enough to get there by car in less than 15 minutes. The hotel is a lovely, three story hotel with an elevator. Amazingly clean, quiet and the staff is excellent. No problem with English. Very reasonably priced and within walking distance to a grocery store and a really nice medium size mall ~ where the shopping is really good. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The breakfast is excellent, very fresh and plentiful. My only concern is for those that may have a mobility issue with getting into and out of a bathtub. Due to the height of the shower/tub combination it is very difficult to maneuver stepping in and out. Plus the shower soap dispenser is at one end of the shower stall while the shower head is at the other. So moving from one side to the other for the soap is very slippery. As a younger person I was ok, but my 92 year old father in law struggled. But as long as he was careful and hung on to the side of the tub, he was okay. But it did give us some worry. Not seeing any other rooms ~ not sure what other types of bathroom facilities are available, but it is worth the question. Other than that, everything was really nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: For those with mobility issues, ask if they have a walk in shower instead of the tub/shower combo.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MoniqueS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We stayed in Kern Buam for one night during the Advent in Graz and we were very satisfied.
The hotel is nice, cosy, peaceful and very, very clean.
It is a bit pricey but all hotels in Graz are so, specially at the time of Advent/ Christmas time. This one was quite affordable.
As we stayed with a 3 year old child we wanted nice, peaceful and clean place. We got it for sure.
The lady at the reception, when we arrived, didn't speak Englihs, which I think is a negative thing. She did not know a word of English. But somehow we communicated what we needed..I recalled some German words and phrases. She offered us some cookies as a gesture of welcome.
The room is big enough, very clean, as well as the bathroom.
Sleep quality is great because it is very calm, peaceful, the bed is comfortable and we had nice sleep there.
Location is good if you come by car. You will find it easily exiting from the motorway and it is is easy to come to the centre. There is no problem to find parking place in Graz. Especially during a weeked becauise it is free of charge.
If you don't have a car I am not sure how convenient it is to go by public transport.
Breakfast is included in the price, which is great, And breakfast was very good. It si a buffet and there were varietes of food; eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, yoghurt, sweets, cornflakes, juice...I don't understand why some reviewers had objections and remarks to breakfast. There is something for everyone!
When we checked out, we got some pumpkin seeds and honey cookies as a present, which I consider a really nice gesture.
There is no atmosphere in this hotel but if you want clean, cosy, peaceful and not so expensive place to stay, it is Kern Buam. We had a nice stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GabyCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well, that sums it all up I guess.

This was a last minute booking, hence was glad to even get a hotel room in a busy and popular weekend place like Graz. The hotel is about 5kms away from the center, and you will ned to take the bus from just outside, or have your own vehicle. Parking in Graz is not a problem at all, no matter what others may say. I found easy street parking on Fri evening as well as all day Saturday.

The hotel is squeaky clean in typical German fashion, an the room while compact, is very functional and comfortable, with a large window that brings in the air and light, and a wrap around desk for ample storage. However, the shower stall is very tight and cramped. Wifi was fast and reliable.

The biggest disappointment was the truly pathetic and inedible breakfast. No fresh juice or fruits, no healthy cereals. no healthy yogurt, no proper selection of teas, no proper bakery items. Everything was worse than supermarket quality. We quickly went to the center and had a wonderful breakfast at Mangolds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Kern-Buam, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Kern Buam, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Mr. ZenHealer, thanks for your review. Unfortunately we could not satisfy you with our breakfast buffet. Our reception is open 24 hours - please contact us directly for your individual convenience. Concerning the bath room: we also have rooms which are equipped with a bath tub - please mention that for your next reservation. Best regards, Hotel Kern Buam, Mag. Gloria Weber-Krugfahrt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I erroneously booked this hotel ten days early and did not realize my error until the day I wanted to check in. The staff was extremely understanding and though they could not refund the unstayed night they gave us a steep discount for the night we did stay there. The hotel is very clean and the room was large. The bed was very comfortable and quiet despite the hotel being on a busy road. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety and the buffet was continually resupplied so nothing was empty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stay here a couple of days in order to visit the city of Graz.
The hotel is close to highways.
Nr.32 bus stops nearby and in ten minutes you are in the center of Graz (Jakomini square), ready to visit the center (Unesco).
The reception is polite but they speak german language only.
No restaurant available.
Normal breakfast.
At the end a very good place to stay to visit the city and around.

Room Tip: We had room 311. Very nice and well equipped.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manliowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews