We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A MUST DO! Best dinner I've ever had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikarus

Ikarus
Ranked #30 of 624 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$219
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST DO! Best dinner I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Ikarus Hangar 7 was truly the best dinner I've ever had!! The setting is so unique, being on the top floor of a glass-walled hangar. They reserved our table for the entire night so we felt no rush to finish and took our time enjoying the food and the wonderful atmosphere. The restaurant is small so it feels intimate and personal. The chef that month was from a 3 star Michelin restaurant so, needless to say, the food was outstanding! The staff was so attentive and helpful. We did the full menu (I forget how many courses) and bought a bottle of wine. It was quite expensive (around $600 USD), but we knew that it would be going into it. I've recommended this restaurant to everyone I know who has gone or is planning to go to Salzburg. You will not regret eating here, it is an amazing experience!!

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nharrison11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    38
    27
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I visited Ikarus for lunch on a Friday afternoon and did the full tasting menu with the wine and drink pairings. Although there was a course or two each of us didn't enjoy the food preparation was excellent and a several of the courses were phenomenal. In particular I would highlight the opening course of tomato mozzarella soup and a phenomenal soprasessa ravioli that was featured in one of the meat courses. Service was excellent and able to explain all of the courses in English, which we appreciated as my husband's German is still a little spotty. Wine pairings were excellent and gave us an appreciation of Austrian wine - will definitely try some other varieties if we find it here in the States.

If you are planning to go for the full tasting menu I would actually recommend doing it at lunch and skipping breakfast. Offering is the same as they do at night, but gives you a lot more time to digest and not go to sleep bloated. We like to do a couple tasting menus every time we travel to Europe and found we like the lunch option much better if it is available.

If you are a foodie or just into trying new things I would definitely recommend the restaurant, not going to find many like it in the world!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
186 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Amazing--Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We went for the 11-course tasting menu with wine pairings and loved it. Yes, it's expensive and we had trouble staying awake for the last 3 courses (it was after 11:00), but it was worth it. The chef of the month was Alvin Leung of Bo Innovation in Hong Kong and the food was superb. The food combined with the setting and the excellent wine choices made this an extraordinary experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PickyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
319 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Unique - concept - experience : one of the top destination restaurants in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Usually these words trigger a bit of a defensive reaction: what are they trying to do, why on me?
The creator of Red Bull has installed in an architecturally stunning hangar (glass and steel, James Bond movie worthy structure - use the elevator): an exhibition for the F1 red bull cars, the red bull stunts planes and ever changing contemporary art with a country and not seen otherwise theme (reception can give you very-well made complimentary documentation).
Last but not least, the restaurant hangs from a balcony on the side (if weather /temperature permits try to sit on the terrasse itself rather than the lovely but inside main room).
Every month a new guest chef comes (all from the most famous listings in the world, we usually have visited about 8 of the 12), you get to choose between several tasting menus as well as one from the Ikarus chef. The chefs are announced on the website.
As we go to Salzburg every year for the opera festival we try (but not always succeed) to come end of July beginning of August to try two chefs.
If you can be a party of 4 or 6, each should get a different menu and exchange. The presentation is beautiful, the decor is stunning, the food is great to extraordinary depending on your tastes, the service is attentive and charming (while very professional, these young people know their stuff - try them for wines and go local the value is there).
An evening you will remember.
We regret one thing they stopped offering a shuttle service from downtown so you must reserve a taxi.
Pricey but worth every cent of it.
By the way, I do not even like red bull, for me it is too sweet and tastes like bubble gum, I like their carpe diem cranberry though, you can get a selection of all their soft drinks at the restaurant or the bar if you just want to visit....

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful but unless you like "experimental" foods...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Restaurant Ikarus is located in the Red Bull-Hanger 7 complex. The complex and bars and Red Bull racing and sports vehicles are amazing. The Red Bull art gallery is an interesting mix of contemporary installations. The restaurant itself is a comfortable-modern mix. Every month there is a different top rated chef. The chef may be from anywhere in the world so checking the particular chef and his specialities is a strong suggestion. The staff is attentive without being annoying. The "butter-sommelier" makes for a rather humorous time. Yes, butter is presented to the table and explained to you. They are interesting and well flavored and not "normal" butters so it is a bit of fun. The amuse buche/little appetizers the chef sends are excellent! The chef that was the "star" of March enjoyed "foaming" foods and serving unusual combinations of things. The idea of "fru-fru" food comes to mind. The presentations of dishes are beautiful and imaginative and invite you to sample. The deserts and the wine selections are fantastic and worth the time. Ikarus is a lovely evening and very enjoyable...if the chef is to YOUR liking. Check before! It is an expensive restaurant.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank NewmansTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ikarus also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Ikarus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing