We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berglandhotel Salzburg
Ranked #37 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Salzburg Gem”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We found this hotel to be conveniently located within 1 km of the Old town centre and a very picturesque setting .Breakfast was typically an Austria affair of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, eggs and pastries. The staff were very helpful and fluent in English. Restaurant ideas and maps were provided by the staff as most restaurants are closed on Sundays. You can even get a nice glass of wine to have in the library room. Bedrooms are well appointed with typical European bathrooms. We would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone. Elevator is a plus and On-site parking is a bonus but limited .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    97
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
122
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Bergland is on the east side of the Salzach river which you must cross to get into the old town. However, the walk is a very pleasant kilometer in an area of town more frequented by pedestrians than motorists. The rooms are large and airy. The furnishings (armchair, bed, desk) are more European austere than American overstuffed. Think Ikea, but that seems to be the pattern in family-run, or non-chain hotels. The area also did not lack in restaurants, so we were quite well served there. There are some parking spaces in the front of the hotel. Breakfast is adequate, but mostly self-service. If you are in Salzburg to see Salzburg, this is an economical, very clean place to spend your nights. If you are looking to be pampered, this is not for you.

Oh yes, if you speak German to the man at the front desk, no matter how fractured, he will answer you in German. However, he speaks perfect English. Incidentally, the date was October 2008, but Tripadvisor does not allow dates more than a year in the past.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal-Mathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for our only night in Salzburg, and it was another great hotel find. Our room was huge by euro standards, and very clean and quiet, the decor wasnt really our style but we didnt care. Breakfast was also included in the price, which was very reasonable around 100 Euros. I do recall reading that the hotel was 15 mins walk to the old town, but I think this is a bit of a stretch, I would say closer to 20 mins walk to the touristy old town. It is an enjoyable walk however, and my wife and I did walk back late at night from the old town and never felt we were in a bad area. The breakfast was great, and I do remember the person at the desk when we checked in was very friendly, and was happy to reccomend restaurants to us and direct us to them. Short walk to the bus stop as well, which we used with our Salzburg card, (highly recommened, please see our trip itenerary for more info)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank above_the_rim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel, the breakfast was great and about a 10 minute walk to the main town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddogpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was the third stay for my wife and I at the Bergland. It is a well-run, clean hotel located about 15 minutes walk to old Salzburg. The hotel has been updated since our previous visit in 2006.

The rooms are clean and airy with some sense of space but also an air of spartanness. That is, there is a bed, a TV, some storage place and some wall decorations. The decor is minimalist and the rooms are comfortable but not plush. Our bathroom had a shower only and was small at that. However, we weren't in Salzburg for a luxurious room and jacuzzi tub so this was fine and well-priced.

The breakfast is sufficient to fuel you up so the hotel does its job to a T. The location is closer to the action than you might think from the map and we always enjoyed the stroll down to the tourist area. There are now a couple of good restaurants near the hotel so if you are tired you need not make the full walk into town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 km away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
299 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
798 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#49 of 132 in Salzburg
223 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Jedermann
Hotel Jedermann
#38 of 132 in Salzburg
310 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berglandhotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berglandhotel Salzburg

Property: Berglandhotel Salzburg
Address: Rupertgasse 15 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price range (per night): RM431 - RM772
Hotel Class:3 star — Berglandhotel Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and convenient for sightseeng (10 walking-min. to the Pedestrian Areal). Austrian hospitality, stylish ambiance and the ideal location is what you can expect from this small fourth generation family hotel. All rooms provide modern comfort with beautiful bathrooms, safe, plasma-screen-TV, private bathroom and free WLAN. The philosophy between tradition and modern features is felt through the entire interior. Very helpful for this centrally located place is the FREE CAR PARKING! The whole hotel is non-smoking. No pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH so you can book your Berglandhotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berglandhotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Berglandhotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing