We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, okay breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Weisse Taube

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Weisse Taube
Ranked #5 of 67 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good location, okay breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed here in December 2011 while visiting christmas markets, etc. The location is very good and very central and the rooms and facilities are nice. The breakfast is one they bring to you, with an option of having them bring some deli meat or cheese or bread, but things like eggs, cooked meats etc are extra. We didn't feel the breakfast options were as good as other b&bs we stayed at in nearby germany, but might stay here again if in salzburg just based on location

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedbreakfast v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    186
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
97
259
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
532 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We spent 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room was quite spacious and well set up with a desk as well as an easy chair. The bathroom was miniscule but this is Europe. Everything in it worked just fine. It was really easy to get here on the bus from the train station. The website had excellent directions. The location is awesome. We were only a few minutes from everything we wanted to see and do. The staff was so helpful, found wonderful places for us to eat dinner, and answered all our questions. They even provided one free internet code for us to use. We never needed another as the 3 hours was sufficient for our needs. 1 Euro for 3 hours was reasonable enough, though. There were also some delicious cookies at the desk and I am afraid we sampled more of them than we should have. Breakfast was ample and served at the table. We certainly would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We have just returned home from a long weekend in Salzburg. We greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room on the 4th floor was spacious, very clean and well equippped. Breakfast was the usual continental fare of Cheese,Ham, Cereals with the option to purchase a variety of eggs,bacon etc. Our only gripe was the charge for tea and coffee in the room.

The location couldn't be better right in the centre of town and near all the good resturants and
coffee houses. Dont miss the Golden Duck on Goldgasse, excellent Austrian food at reasonble
prices.

The staff did their best to ensure our stay was in everyway enjoyable and were a store of useful information. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

One final tip, if coming from the airport just ensure the taxi driver understands which hotel you are staying at as our driver took us to the Altsdat Raddison Blue in error

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Its location is definitively its biggest point, just minutes from the cathedral (Dom) and all the other sightseeing spots of the Altstadt (historic old town)

When we booked we were given clear instructions on how to get there, also available from the hotel's website, and we were given a code to enter the pedestrian area, unload luggage, bring everything to the room and then bring the car to the parking. Underground Parking: 10-15 minutes from hotel at 9.50 Euros per night. A nearer option was available at 14 Euros per night. We chose the cheaper one and walk to and from the parking, ± 8 minutes, much through the old town.

The (dated) rooms are of a decent size and because the hotel is located in the pedestrian area they are quite. The bathroom urgently needed some maintenance, as the silicon strips were worn and there was mould on/above the bath-tub rims. Internet is available at 1Euro for 3 hrs.

No dinner is offered at the hotel but this is not a problem as there are plenty of choices next and around the hotel. Breakfast offered a good choice though, apart from soft-boiled eggs, any other egg dish was to be paid for.

I stayed here about 40 years ago and even then remarked that this B&B offered 'basic' accommodation, though all that is needed is there. Service is polite but impersonal. The hotel doors and reception close at 10 pm and as such it does not offer all hotel facilities. While it offers bed &breakfast service within a hotel settings, as there are 30+ rooms. Prices are quite high, but then all hotels were full due to the Salzburg Festival.

The Salzburg Festival (1 week July) attracts top world-rated orchestras, star directors and star opera stars. Prices for Festival tickets ranged from 70-225 Euros per person (long dresses ladies!), so we opted for the world-famous Marionetten Theater instead which was delightful. We were seated in row 3 but tickets from row 11 (cost less :-) are better as one can read a brief translation on the side-walls. Prices for a 2 hr performance are 18-35 Euro. One has to contact ticket counter about student discounts.

The house were Mozart lived: there is no need to purchase a ticket to visit though there is a 'ticket-counter' when one enters. This is to get the guided tour 'phone', though information is given in German and English next to the exhibits and there is a video about his life at the end room and thus the phone guided tour option is not really necessary, though viewers can hear music related to the exhibits and this will certainly appeal to a number of visitors, though not all.

The biggest point of this hotel is its location, allowing travelers to hop in and out in between sightseeing or shopping. With other hotels nearby, it is worth comparing prices. We saw the lovely hotels in the Getreidegasse though, unless one has a room to the back, we would not have liked to stay here due to its enormous flow of people and noise that goes on till well after midnight.

Salzburg Altstadt is in an amazing part of town and most sites can be seen within 2 days. Schloss Hellbrunn is another site not to be missed, don't miss its trick-fountains-tour, included in the ticket of 9.50 Euro. It is worth having a picnic in the amazing park just outside Hellbrunn Schloss. Ample car parking available. When arriving here by bus expect to walk to castle, a pleasant though 20 minute walk. Check their website to see if there are other options, e.g. direct bus from Salzburg.

To sum it up: the hotel is average but the location is superb and by it being so centrally located one makes use of the room. So, all in all tumbs up, especially when the bathroom will have been dealt with ;-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We love this terrific hotel. It is close to everything and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.2 km away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#18 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisse Taube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisse Taube

Property: Hotel Weisse Taube
Address: Kaigasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price range (per night): RM412 - RM1,450
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weisse Taube 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altstadthotel Weisse Taube is located in a historic building dating from 1365 in the heart of Salzburg's old town. All major sights are only a few steps away and the closest bus stop can be found within 150 metres. Free WiFi is available in public areas and in the hotel rooms. Hotel Weisse Taube offers rooms with cable TV, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Daily newspapers and magazines are also at all guests' disposal. A luscious buffet breakfast, comprising regional breads, jams and pastries and a selection of hams and cheeses, can be enjoyed every morning. Concert tickets and tickets for sightseeing tours are available at Altstadthotel Weisse Taube's reception. The bus lines 3, 5 and 6 arrive from the station to the hotel within a 10-minute ride. The bus line 8 leaves from the airport and arrives within 20-25 minutes. Parking is possible, a 5 or 10-minute walk away you can reach a public parking garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Weisse Taube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisse Taube Hotel
Weisse Taube Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing