We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hohenstauffen Hotel(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Imlauer & Brau(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
US$128
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$96
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$190
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$253
US$226
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
123
167
92
77
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
167
92
77
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracethe riverold townstreet noisefantastic locationup to datecastlealtstadt
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Very good location on the Salzach. Spectacular view from the roof terrace of the Old Town of Salzburg (at night a bar, breakfast room in the morning). If you have ever played the computer game Starship Titanic by Dougla Adams, you will have an idea of the decor (art deco gone a little wild). Rooms on higher floors are less noisy (mine did not have the spectacular view, but was on a side street), but have very low ceiling. Strange layout of room and bathroom (quite spacious). Good bed, no noisy in my room on the 5th floor. Breakfast (no buffet, only a la carte, very strange imho for a hotel of that category) ok, not great. Nice staff. Not cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

near to everything in salzberg nice hotel, rooms clean, some of staff were great,a couple staff trying to charge me for room that was already paid for, that made me feel sick trying to explain not even a sorry ,but would go back as the hotel itself was great.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank keithron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We did not stay at the Stein, but we did visit the rooftop bar on three occasions during our 2 weeks in Salzburg.

It is the best view of Salzburg and surrounding area, except for the ones from the Fortress.

It is a wonderful way to unwind after a day of touring the wonderful city.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Senioronabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

HotelStein by far, has the best location in Salzburg. One can access the old and new town by foot very easily. The views of the Salzach River and the Hohensalzburg castle are spectacular.
Besides the fact that the breakfast was not included, there were some other downsides. I had to pay extra for double occupancy. Everywhere else I stayed in the world the quoted price was for 2 people per room. The place needs some major renovations. The hallways are dark and gloomy. The bathroom décor was stuck in the 80s. The hairdryer I tried to use didn’t work and I had to ask the desk twice for a replacement.
Tsk-tsk-tsk HotelStein.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ukrkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Ok so it has a good central location and a resturant/bar with great views but sadly that is where it ended for us.
No tea coffee making facilities in room No water No fridge Smallest wardrobe ever Could not hang a pair of trousers without them sitting on the bottom of the wardrobe. Single duvets for double bed???? Which were folded and left at the bottom of the bed Very strange. Seriously we cannot see how this rates as four stars Have stayed in a large budget chain hotel before and at least had access to FREE tea,coffee and water. No excuses as far as I am concerned Either add this free facility which really is the norm in 2015 or at least lose a star. Resturant menu a Bistro menu Dissapointed all round.NB. We stay in four star hotels as a rule with excellent facilities on offer This hotel does not compare

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rimms007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews