We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”
Review of Hotel Stein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stein
Ranked #84 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Let me start with the positives. First off, I don't think you can find a hotel with better location in Salzburg if you are there to see the sites. You are literally at the junction of the two main thoroughfares putting you very close to just about any of the main tourist attractions. Secondly, the view from the rooftop bar makes up for a lot of the shortcomings of this hotel. Spectacular. Especially at night.

My issues lie with what is advertised on their website and what I actually got. On the website, the rooms look fantastic with stylish furniture, luxurious upholstery and comfortable space. What I got was a more like a road side roach motel in a one stop light town. I get it. This place has probably been there for hundreds of years and supposed to have that old-world charm that so many European hotels have. I didn't see it. I just felt duped.

This might be the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. It was a little warm for early December and there was no AC. An open window meant hearing every bar patron in the whole town on their way home talking as loud as possible. Noisy is a massive understatement. The carpet was dirty and worn. The floor was sloped. The hot water came and went.

That chic room that is shown on the website was certainly not where I stayed. My suggestion, find another hotel and go get a drink at the rooftop bar at Hotel Stein.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2015

Very good location on the Salzach. Spectacular view from the roof terrace of the Old Town of Salzburg (at night a bar, breakfast room in the morning). If you have ever played the computer game Starship Titanic by Dougla Adams, you will have an idea of the decor (art deco gone a little wild). Rooms on higher floors are less noisy (mine did not have the spectacular view, but was on a side street), but have very low ceiling. Strange layout of room and bathroom (quite spacious). Good bed, no noisy in my room on the 5th floor. Breakfast (no buffet, only a la carte, very strange imho for a hotel of that category) ok, not great. Nice staff. Not cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

near to everything in salzberg nice hotel, rooms clean, some of staff were great,a couple staff trying to charge me for room that was already paid for, that made me feel sick trying to explain not even a sorry ,but would go back as the hotel itself was great.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank keithron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We did not stay at the Stein, but we did visit the rooftop bar on three occasions during our 2 weeks in Salzburg.

It is the best view of Salzburg and surrounding area, except for the ones from the Fortress.

It is a wonderful way to unwind after a day of touring the wonderful city.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Senioronabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

HotelStein by far, has the best location in Salzburg. One can access the old and new town by foot very easily. The views of the Salzach River and the Hohensalzburg castle are spectacular.
Besides the fact that the breakfast was not included, there were some other downsides. I had to pay extra for double occupancy. Everywhere else I stayed in the world the quoted price was for 2 people per room. The place needs some major renovations. The hallways are dark and gloomy. The bathroom décor was stuck in the 80s. The hairdryer I tried to use didn’t work and I had to ask the desk twice for a replacement.
Tsk-tsk-tsk HotelStein.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ukrkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
873 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,639 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#50 of 132 in Salzburg
298 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.4 km away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#56 of 132 in Salzburg
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein

Address: Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: RM 699 - RM 1,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stein 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel in great location, right at the main bridge of Salzburg in the historic city center. The festival halls, as well as the congress centre are only a few minutes away. Stylish rooms and 7th floor roof top terrace with great view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Stein Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing