We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Brescia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

A disappointment. Expensive and not worthy of belonging to the "Romantik Hotels" chain.
Personnel is kind and helpful, and the location is excellent. However the structure is old, without a proper lobby and without its own Parking. If you wish to park your car indoor they address you to a nearby public facility not connected to the Hotel.
The room, a "Romantik Double featuring new Swarovski bathroom" is tiny, with a squeaky bed and the Swarovski bathroom is a joke.
There is no Wi-Fi in the room, so leave your iPad at home, and the "Wonderful
and silent position with mountain view" first shows you a dreadful backyard full of garbage cans, satellite antennas and waste material.
We had trusted the notion that the Hotel was member of the "Romantik" chain.
Big mistake, never again. 

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    121
    64
    20
    19
See reviews for
44
214
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Rooms were little crummy, bed was old and creaky and we could feel the springs, toilet was extremely small, but clean. They don't offer parking, so you have to park at the building next door. Its coupon parking, so you pay for how long your car was there. There's no porter service, so we had to lug our bags up and down the stairs in between buildings in the snow. Internet wasn't working and no one could help us. Although the receptionist did try her best. In the end, they offered their computers for us. But it wasn't quite so convenient. Service staff were polite and helpful, no issues there. Breakfast was a bit of a letdown. It was in a quaint room but spread was a bit limited. The restaurant was great though! Would suggest you make reservations. I am in 2 minds about recommending this because it feels rather no frills, but Innsbruck is a small place, I am not sure if there is a better deal out there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This was our first time staying in Innsbruck proper and it won't be our last! We have visited Innsbruck on day trips every year for the past 7 years and love this city! We normally stay 30 minutes outside Innsbruck in a wonderful 5* Relais and Chateaux in Neustift in the magnificent Stubai Valley. We will be back there this Christmas with our 3 sons! We were recommended to this hotel by our friend who is a waiter at the Neustift hotel as well as University student in Innsbruck and has been our house guest here in LA the past 2 summers. We were a bit worried as the hotel only had 4 stars, but we had a excellent stay. It deserves to be 5 stars! I would NOT stay anywhere else in Innsbruck. We booked their most expensive suite, The Maria Theriessen suite. The decor was Versace and swarovski crystal meets Imperial Austria. The living room was large and had a great view of the university and the Hofkirche. The suite was on the corner, so there were great views from all 3 rooms. Nice stereo system with some great cd's. The bedroom was very quiet and extremely comfortable for a european king bed. The bathroom was the star with swarovski crystals everywhere. The pedestal sinks were awesome! It had a large shower for 2 and a great tub for 2. They even had candles in the bedroom and bathroom to make it a "romantik" stay. The suite was 395 euros a night including a very nice breakfast buffet. The waitress even asked if we wanted eggs but we declined as I much prefer the european style breakfast. We had beers in their tiny bar the first evening and really enjoyed meeting the bartender and some of the locals. There is a nice Irish pub nextdoor with a friendly owner. A group of Austrian friends that we had met on prior trips in the Stubai valley (bartenders and restauranteers) made a day trip all the way from Vienna where they are now working to see us in Innsbruck! The Austrian people are incredibly friendly and really good people! We went to Swarowski crystal world with them and we all agreed it was a waste of money. They liked our swarovski bathroom better! They said the "Black Eagle" (Schwarzer Adler) is indeed the BEST hotel in Innsbruck. They were in awe of the suite! Unfortunately it rained our whole trip and was cold (it's usually 85-90 in July) so the hotel was not serving dinner up on their rooftop terrace. The views from the top up the Nordekette to the north and of Bergisel ski jump and Patcherfopfl Olympic mountain were phenominal. They have an original gondola car with its own crystal chandelier and table linens on the terrace where you can have dinner. We hope for better weather so we can book it for our next visit! 2 nights in Innsbruck was not enough. I never made it to their wellness area/spa in the basement because we spent so much time with our friends, but the pictures in the room and in the elevator looked phenominal. Definitely another reason for us to return! Thanks Schwarzer Sdler for a very nice stay. As our "governator" Arnold says...."I'll be back!"

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We were driving from Austria with two kids and spent 2 nights in this hotel. The location is great - 10 min walking distance from the town center. The parking garage is next door and cheap. The room was very clean and cozy. Staff is excellent. I couldn't sleep well the first night, because air conditioner was leaking, but they fixed it next day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dqr2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Staff was very professional and attentive. Breakfast included an outstanding variety of tasty food in an attractive basement room. The dinner restaurant on the ground floor has a gourmet menu. We chose the hotel because it's a 10-minute walk from the center of Innsbruck, and a parking garage is in the same block, so it's convenient if you have a car. It isn't as quiet as we hoped because it's at a busy corner. Even though it's air conditioned, the unit in our room at its coldest setting didn't keep us comfortable. The decor reflects an effort to be elegant, but the furniture in our room was a bit shabby.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojaitravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Goldener Adler
0.7 km away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#1 of 75 in Innsbruck
614 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 75 in Innsbruck
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#3 of 75 in Innsbruck
516 reviews
0.4 km away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#10 of 75 in Innsbruck
544 reviews
1.0 km away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwarzer Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwarzer Adler

Property: Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Address: Kaiserjaegerstrasse 2 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Innsbruck
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#12 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price range (per night): RM528 - RM914
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schwarzer Adler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Innsbruck this unique Boutique hotel is welcoming you. The hotel is situated only 100 m from the old town and the internet access is free in the whole hotel. The hotel offers 40 individual rooms and suites with air conditioning. Further amenities are minibar, cable TV, hair dryer, bath robes, safe and an elegant bath in Swarovski design. Our bar and the restaurant serves you typical Tyrolean and Austrian dishes in our individual parlours. After an nice sightseeing day you can elax in our small spa area in Swarovski design with a sauna and a steam bath. Also ask our reception desk for a recreative massage. The Innsbruck main station is just a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Lots of shopping possibilities and attractions such as the historic old town can be reached in a few just a few seconds by feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Schwarzer Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing