We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Domizi(Vienna)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. Stephan(Vienna)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    Hotel Royal(Vienna)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Kaerntnerhof(Vienna)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Lamee(Vienna)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Hotel Topazz(Vienna)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    Reviews (609)
    Filter reviews
    610 results
    Traveller rating
    440
    147
    13
    5
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    440
    147
    13
    5
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsatrium bartraditional roommaisonette roommozart museummozart's houseperfect locationoldest hotelcharming hotelstephen's cathedraltraditional hotela stones throwloved this hotelfour nightshuge bathroommajor sitessmall hotelfamily room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    134 - 139 of 610 reviews
    Reviewed 23 September 2015

    I do a lot of research when we travel and look for hotels that are in great locations, have a lot of charm and history and look attractive from the photos and descriptions. For all those reasons, we chose this hotel and found it to be as good as it looked! Loved the interior design, comfy, quiet room and great service......it also has a good restaurant on the premises which can be a real plus. I wrote a separate review on that. A note about our room......when we opened the door, the first thing we saw was a stairway leading to a second bedroom upstairs.....we didn't need that but thought it was a great idea if traveling with children. The hotel also offers free wi fi, flat screen TV, all the bathroom amenities, comfy beds and all the charm you could want. Mozart lived upstairs for a time in his life (forgot to mention Konig von Ungarn is reputed to be the oldest hotel in Vienna). All in all, we were delighted with this hotel in every respect.....walk a block and you're at St. Stephen's Church and yet the hotel is very quiet.

    • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank BKandCB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 September 2015

    We stayed here at the end of August and spent four nights. We have got only positive emotions and enjoyed very much. Hotel is located in the very heart of Vienna on a quiet street. Our room was huge, full of light, elegantly furnished and very clean. Breakfast was rich, tasty and even four hot meals for selection offered. All the service and amenities were on really high level.
    We would like to especially acknowledge the professional excellent work of receptionist Mr. Wolfgang Winkler. He was very attentive to all guests requests and really helped us.
    We will certainly come back here again.

    • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank olegkh2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2015

    I'm submitting this review late, but visited in December 2014. My sister and I were traveling. I was looking for a historic hotel and Hotel Konig Von Ungarn fit the bill and then some and I would recommend this place easily.

    The room was spacious with very high ceilings, a dressing area near the door, a large bath room with tub. The bed had nice linens and was super comfortable. Very good housekeeping. We ordered room service a couple of times which was speedy and good food. It was a nice touch to have a mini Christmas tree and a plate of Christmas cookies in the room when we checked in.

    The only Con for me is that the bathtub was quite slippery, so beware! Both my sister and I nearly fell and we each ended up with bruises following the slip and slide.

    • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank MelissaBinNYC
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 August 2015

    We spent a week in Vienna and this hotel is great. The location is excellent in the middle of the historic section of town. The breakfast, included in the room rate, is quite extensive, very tasty, and you can order hot, freshly prepared and cooked dishes from a short menu to accompany the buffet. The staff is very attentive, knowledgeable and helpful in every way. Our room was historically charming overlooking Schulerstrasse but very quiet. We experienced the charm of old Vienna with modern conveniences to make our vacation one of the most memorable by lodging at Hotel Konig von Ungarn.

    Room Tip: One of the historical rooms
    • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank JJinSA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 August 2015

    We returned to this hotel after a first visit 30 years earlier in the autumn of 1985. It was a special place then and still is - a charming old hotel right next to the Stephansdom and to the building where Mozart lived when he wrote 'The Marriage of Figaro' and within easy walking distance of all the many other charms of central Vienna. The hotel is one of the Vienna hotels recommended in Baedeker's 1900 edition of his guide to Austria.

    Our room was excellent - large, with a huge (possibly more than?) king-size bed and very quiet, overlooking Mozart's utterly quiet, footpath-like Domgasse at the rear. Excellent bathroom with two basins, strong and simple-to-operate shower plus cute towels appropriately featuring the Crown of St Stephen. Good air conditioning. And complimentary Mozartkugels.

    Our breakfast, included in the room price, was good but - our only reservation - one of the waitresses rudely insisted the two of us didn't sit at a table set for four, even though there were plenty of free tables and, as it was half past six in the morning, it was unlikely that the place would be getting crowded any time soon. Also she reprimanded us both as if we were naughty children when one of us left the milk jug from the buffet on our table (we hadn't been offered a small jug of milk with our tea). She rather spoiled the atmosphere of breakfast by being obviously cross with us and gossiping with a colleague about our bad behaviour, as she clearly saw it.

    But overall recommended as one of the nicer places to stay in Vienna.

    • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank higvin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Waltraud R, Manager at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

    Dear guest,
    thank you very much for your positive comment about your stay in our hotel. We are sorry for this incident which happend to you during your breakfast. We analyzed this situation together with our breakfast team and this was definitly not our style of behaviour. So we reacted immediatly and have made sure, that this will not happen again. Once again we apologize and thank again for your very positive comments.
    With kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews