We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #134 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Small hotel just a short walk from Naschmarket , Karlplatz for transport connections, lots of restaurants nearby, the museum quarter & the shopping area. 10mins takes you to the Opera House for the sightseeing city tour buses & 15mins has you at St Stephens . Room clean & comfortable. Only went to breakfast on last day & disappointed to find very little food available for the continental breakfast. Only 2 staff covering breakfast room which meant tables took time to clear while there was a constant stream of guests coming in. Would stay again because the location was ideal. Staff friendly & efficient on reception.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer E, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Sorry for the inconveniences with the breakfast. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Location:
We found this location ideal. Just outside the city centre. We like walking so only took 10-20mins to get to most key locations in Vienna. Otherwise it is across the road from Karlzplatz which gives you access to 3 underground lines. You can also buy 24,48,72hour passes for the underground if you are staying a few days.

Rooms:
We were kindly given a M Privilege room on level three (room 325). The room was spacious and suited our needs. Being able to open two windows was very nice to let fresh air in. There is only street noise when windows are open. We found at night with them closed it was very quiet. The shower was large but I'm not sure why the drainage isn't quick enough, it pools around your feet after a few minutes.

Wifi:
Wifi connection was very disappointing. I could barely watch a Facebook, snapchat or instagram video without it buffering and stopping. Also when my phone wasn't being used it disconnects straight away and you have to log in each time. This would be my only negative comment.

Breakfast:
Great selection provided including scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. The room is quite small for the volume of guests but we always managed to get a table. The only thing I couldn't see was a toaster for bread. That would be useful.

Staff:
All staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer E, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Secession Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Sorry for the inconveniences with the WIFI. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Mecure Secession for 3 nights. The room was large but the bathroom small, breakfast very good.
The location was great, very close to Nachmarkt with lots of eating options. About a 10 minute walk into the old city.
We would stay here again as the staff were helpful and polite at all times. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Secession Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a week. Very good hotel with best location. Lots of museums located near this wonderful hotel. For the gourmets In 100 meters there is a market with lots of restaurants. Service one of the best in Vienna!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Georgy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Inhaber at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope you will come back,
sincerley Barbara Witting, General Manager/Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 4 nights and feel the hotel is a 3 star and not 4 as advertised. Location was good. Our room looked onto the lift and broken curtains meant you could not block out the lights at night. I emailed manager directly but no response back during the 4 days.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank joanpwilliamson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Owner at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Mrs. Williamson,
We thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. We regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations, we are always trying to make our guests happy and satisfied and therefore your comment is helpful for us to increase the standards. We apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, the manager did not receive any mail and was not contacted so we could not solve the problem during your stay.
Kind regards Barbara Witting, General Manager/Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,434 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#89 of 359 in Vienna
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#114 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#129 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: RM 478 - RM 831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing