We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Prater/Messe(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Styles Wien City(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$116
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
AZIMUT Hotels(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$115
US$96
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Harmonie Vienna(Vienna)
US$167
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$408
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$407/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
221
358
109
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
358
109
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe museumgreat locationsecession buildingopera housekarlsplatz underground stationfood marketwithin walking distanceasked for a quiet roomprivilege roomsmall hotelhotel breakfastshort walkcity centrecomfortable hotelexplore viennalarge bathroomstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Location:
We found this location ideal. Just outside the city centre. We like walking so only took 10-20mins to get to most key locations in Vienna. Otherwise it is across the road from Karlzplatz which gives you access to 3 underground lines. You can also buy 24,48,72hour passes for the underground if you are staying a few days.

Rooms:
We were kindly given a M Privilege room on level three (room 325). The room was spacious and suited our needs. Being able to open two windows was very nice to let fresh air in. There is only street noise when windows are open. We found at night with them closed it was very quiet. The shower was large but I'm not sure why the drainage isn't quick enough, it pools around your feet after a few minutes.

Wifi:
Wifi connection was very disappointing. I could barely watch a Facebook, snapchat or instagram video without it buffering and stopping. Also when my phone wasn't being used it disconnects straight away and you have to log in each time. This would be my only negative comment.

Breakfast:
Great selection provided including scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. The room is quite small for the volume of guests but we always managed to get a table. The only thing I couldn't see was a toaster for bread. That would be useful.

Staff:
All staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer E, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Secession Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Sorry for the inconveniences with the WIFI. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Mecure Secession for 3 nights. The room was large but the bathroom small, breakfast very good.
The location was great, very close to Nachmarkt with lots of eating options. About a 10 minute walk into the old city.
We would stay here again as the staff were helpful and polite at all times. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Secession Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a week. Very good hotel with best location. Lots of museums located near this wonderful hotel. For the gourmets In 100 meters there is a market with lots of restaurants. Service one of the best in Vienna!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Georgy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Inhaber at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope you will come back,
sincerley Barbara Witting, General Manager/Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 4 nights and feel the hotel is a 3 star and not 4 as advertised. Location was good. Our room looked onto the lift and broken curtains meant you could not block out the lights at night. I emailed manager directly but no response back during the 4 days.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank joanpwilliamson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Owner at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Mrs. Williamson,
We thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. We regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations, we are always trying to make our guests happy and satisfied and therefore your comment is helpful for us to increase the standards. We apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, the manager did not receive any mail and was not contacted so we could not solve the problem during your stay.
Kind regards Barbara Witting, General Manager/Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We stayed for 9 nights in this clean simple hotel.Location is fantastic.The hotel staff is professional yet very friendly.All the questions answered,all the problems solved.Thank you,Carmen,Andreas,Valerian...and...and.. I guess there is a good manager.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lecteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews