We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Prater/Messe(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$75
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$184
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$115
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Styles Wien City(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AZIMUT Hotels(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
US$84
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Harmonie Vienna(Vienna)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$198
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$459
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
241
483
256
90
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
483
256
90
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationwelcome drinktea coffee making facilitiesconvenient locationminute walkexcellent locationthe main shopping streetvienna airportvisiting viennabreakfast roomcity centrewienmariahilferstrassereachablestopsconvenienceconcert
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel has a good location, one block from the Metro and the Westbanhoff train station.
The lobby looks very nice, but our room was a dump: old, dirty, with heavily stained carpets (see photos). The hotel lobby is 4 star, but our room looked more like a hostel. It was expensive (USD $204.63 per day) , and did not include breakfast. Good wifi.
I can understand the hotel is being renovated, but they should at least lower prices of the old rooms. There is some noise coming from the street since there are some bars nearby.
Not recommended unles you get one of the refurbished rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruizvicentello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay in our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences described!

We have already 170 rooms renovated, these can be booked as "classic" or "superior" category in the internet. During your stay, few of these rooms have been available, so that we could change your room to feel more comfortable.

Our plans are to renovate the last 82 room in 2013, so that all carpets will be new.
The rate during your stay was so high, because of a hudge congress in Vienna.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you are using the Westbahnhof for train travel this hotel is convenient, and it is a straight 25 miutes walk gently downhill to Vienna's central Ring area. Also on main tram routes. But for most international train travellers a location closer to Wien Meidling (while the Hbf is being rebuilt - September 2012) would be better. Internally, the claimed **** gloss of the foyer did not extend to our 3rd floor room, which was cramped, not non-smoking, and overlooked a busy street. On a warm day and without effective airconditioning we had to keep the window open, so traffic noise was a problem almost all night. The decor was tired, even grubby in places. The absence of an in-room coffee and tea-making tray takes it below industry standard for this type of hotel, and if holidayimg in Vienna you should be able to do better elsewhere. Beware also of large tour parties or conference delegates if you want a fast early breakfast and checkout, though the desk staff were efficient in pre-booking an early taxi. Overall - underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smokng room that does not overlook a main street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wiltshireman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay in our hotel.
First of all, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences described!

We have already 170 rooms renovated and equipped with air condition, these can be booked as "classic" or"superior" category in the internet. In the "superior rooms" we also offer tea and coffee facilities. During your stay, few of these rooms have been available, so that we could change your room to feel more comfortable.

Our plans are to renovate the last 82 room in 2013, so that all carpets will be new.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

At the time of our stay, the hotel was busy with a lot of tour groups and several conferences in their function rooms. The breakfast room is not easy to walk around in, as it is packed with tables and guests. The breakfast offerings are generous. It is a buffet, and by the time one finishes he'd feel very full.

A took a while before the receptiion counter staff Arnold was able to assign us to our two twin rooms. Because of the heavy bookings at that time, he said that had we arrived later that night (i.e. later than 9:30pm), we might have been sent to another Mercure hotel. He checked us in efficiently.

In the rooms, when you switch on the TV you'd see a welcome note on the screen with your name on it. That's interesting! It's my first time to see anything like that.

The beds and linen are comfortable. The bathroom too is clean and has amenities. The size of the room is quite average.

The advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the Westbahnhof. Just cross Felberstrasse outside the hotel door and you'd be entering the train station on its side, nearest the platforms.

For the price of the hotel, value is satisfactory.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nav795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guest,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Westbahnhof. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

One block from the Westbahnof station, this is a great spot to use as home base when exploring Vienna. Quick access to the subways, buses and trams, we came in from the airport and used it as a central point between our daughter's concerts at Schonbrunn and St. Peter's. Good wifi in the room, not particularly luxurious, but clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCWorldVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guest,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Westbahnhof. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked this hotel for our last night in Vienna to be close to the station in the morning. That was a good move but choosing this hotel was not. We were in a room on the second floor. I have never seen such utterly worn out carpets. paper thin, stained and torn both in the corridor and in the room. Neither myself or my husband would stand on the floor in bare feet! The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. Towels clean but worn very thin. The general state of the hotel had a look (and an aroma) of being old and worn out.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrsC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cseibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay in our hotel.

First of all, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences described!

We have already 170 rooms renovated, these can be booked as "classic" or"superior" category in the internet. During your stay, few of these rooms have been available, so that we could change your room to feel more comfortable.
Our plans are to renovate the last 82 room in 2013, so that all carpets will be new.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews