We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, but it works”
Review of Hollmann Beletage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollmann Beletage
Ranked #3 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I can say that we have stayed at many different types of places but this one is unique, and they mean for it to be that way. They could not have been more helpful in all respects. Andrea, our new good friend, went above and beyond to help us to get our train tickets from Budapest to Vienna and then again from Vienna to Prague. Not only did she get us a supersaver ticket, which was about 1/2 what an ordinary ticket would cost, but she hand delivered the tickets to our hotel in Budapest for us so that they would be there when we arrived. Mind you, she lives in Vienna! The room was very clean and spacious. It is within walking distance of everything, except the Wachau Valley, which you have to take a train to. We did this and see our other review of the Wachau Valley...well worth the trip. The breakfasts here were over the top. You could not think of anything that they did not offer, including the best crapes that I have ever eaten. The only drawback is that they have air conditioning, but I do not think it is a working a/c. It makes noise but no cool air comes through, thus, not the best for sleeping. Thankfully, it did cool down at night and we had the windows open and after 11:00 p.m. it got pretty quiet. I would definitely stay here again and Andrea if you are reading this - THANK YOU AGAIN!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 583 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hollmann-Beletage (H-B) for 2 nights in May. We booked an X-large room and paid a rate of 230 Euros per night (about $300) that included all taxes and breakfast.

The new hotel, built on several floors of a residential apartment building, is likely more than 150 years old and is centrally located in the heart of the old city. It’s very convenient to busses and subways, and within walking distance of a good number of major historical and cultural sights.

Our room had 2 large windows that faced beautiful old buildings across the street. The view is far from pretty, but it is what one would expect in the heart of an old city.

To reduce noise levels, the hotel installed double windows – an outside set and an inside set, and to get fresh air (see below) one must open both sets of windows. Not a problem – so far.

Our room was approximately 20 ft. x 15 ft with 11-12 foot ceilings. One of the 20’ walls is comprised of a set of floor-to-ceiling modern, wooden, nicely finished doors. One door hides a safe and minibar, another door hides a set of storage cubicles and clothes hanging space, another hides a 20-22 inch tv and more storage space, and there’s a double set of doors that hides the bathroom. (You can open one door to gain bathroom access, or you can open both doors to expose almost the entire 8 ft. width of the bathroom.) Some of the doors have lights that illuminate when they are opened.

The new wooden floors are lovely looking, but they are completely bare. Bare floors are common in Europe, but there’s usually an area rug or, at the very least, a floor mat put down at night on each side of the bed. Not at H-B. Moreover, wherever we walked in the room, the floors creaked.

The bed was a platform consisting of two separate single mattresses, each with their own comforter. There was a nightstand on each side of the bed, a desk, a double bed sleeper-sofa, and a coffee table.

The walls were white and there was no wall decoration whatsoever - no wall design, no art. Nothing. Overall, the interior furnishings are a step up from Ikea. It’s functional, it can sleep four people, but there were drawbacks in our room worth mentioning.

Some of the closet doors open 180 degrees, but some only open to about 95 degrees. This means, for example, that you cannot watch the television set from the bed. (And if the door opened wider so you could view the tv from the bed, it’s doubtful you’d be able to see much on the extremely undersized screen.)

The closet doors are so tall that some warping has occurred. This means the lights often stay on when the closet doors are closed.

The bathroom is small. There’s a tub with shower, but the partial glass shower wall does not cover enough of the length of the tub. As a result, it’s difficult to shower without getting the bathroom floor wet – not a few drops, more like a half liter.

There is not enough flat storage space in the bathroom. We don’t carry many toiletries, but we found ourselves using the night tables for many of them and keeping some in our suitcases. (Note that there is not one drawer in the room.)

Although there was a thermostat in the room, we found the a/c woefully inadequate. The weather was relatively mild (low 60s at night, mid 70s during the day) but it was humid. Because of the inadequate a/c, we left our windows open when we were in the room during the day. But because of the early city noise that begins about 5 a.m. we closed both sets of windows at night. Unfortunately the a/c couldn’t cool the room or reduce the humidity. As a result, we had two restless nights. (We should also note that the a/c did not cool down the public spaces – the lobby, breakfast room, or the mini-theater. It was always stuffy and the outside temperature always felt cooler than the hotel spaces.

We mentioned the a/c problem to the front desk and were politely told that it was in the process of being repaired.

The keyed lock on the door to our room did NOT function properly. It often required us to turn over and reinsert the key, jiggle the cylinder, etc. etc. etc. Sometimes it took us 30 seconds to enter and once or twice we needed front desk assistance. When we complained, we were told that the lock was problematic and would have to be repaired again.

Given the lock situation, the fact that hotel personnel leave at 9 p.m. (you gain access to the hotel using a key) made us nervous about being able to open the door to our room when no one was around to help.

The breakfast was very good and it was served in a lovely room that had 2 large French doors for ventilation. Again, there was not enough air in the room for us to be comfortable.

When we went to breakfast on our first day, there were no introductions or explanations. Orange juice, and a tray with 2 jars of cut-up fruit, 2 small glasses of carrot juice, a cut apple, were brought to our table. We were asked what kind of hot beverage we wanted, but no one explained how breakfast was served, and it wasn’t until we saw other people ordering from a menu that we realized there was a “card” for ordering hot dishes. For some reason everyone else in the room was given a card, but we had to ask for one (and for coffee refills as well.)

The H-B is modern and trendy and it’s extremely expensive for what you get. There ARE nice touches. For example, we were given an iPad for the length of our stay, there’s a mini-theater that plays 3 or 4 movies a day and seats 8-10 people on wooden attached “bleacher” chairs, there are two or three bottles of liquor left in the lobby all day, snacks provided in the afternoon, and there’s a small yard with a few tables and chairs and a large hammock. The staff was uniformly friendly, but the service provided was not always professional.

In our view these touches do not begin to make up for the stark room, the lack of ventilation in our room and in the public spaces, the room lock problem, and the inadequate shower.

We selected H-B because of Trip Advisor reviews. When we read Trip Advisor we always read the worst reviews first and eliminate the “poor” and “terrible” ratings that involve reservation and other idiosyncratic problems. We’re careful about our selections and when we spend $300/night for a room we expect far more that the H-B offered.

There are better choices in Vienna at far better prices. We know this because we visited several alternative hotels during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigShotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PALP, General Manager at Hollmann Beletage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback.
At first let me express my appreciation for mentioning our good location in the heart of Vienna's city center, our outstanding breakfast, our complimentary services and facilities (free iPads, cinema, terrace, free homemade snacks all day long) and our friendly staff.

Regarding the ventilation and A/C system: I have to admit that we occured a partial breakdown of our cooling system for 2-3 days - unfortunately during your stay. I honestly apologize. The A/C has been repaired in the meanwhile and works perfectly well. Every room has its own thermostat and can control its own temperature.
Hollmann Beletage is situated in an building dating back to 1893. We tried to keep as many original touches as possible, therefore high ceilings, wooden double windows and wooden parquet floorings (mainly refurbished original floor). The "creaking" of the wooden floor is due to its age (it is NOT new, we really tried to keep the old own, as it creates its own atmosphere) and some say "part of the experience in good old europe". As for the interior of our rooms and the hotel: even though we have the highest respect for the smart and clever scandinavian IKEA design, we do prefer our custom-made interior. Our beddings, closets, basically all interior has been designed by architects and custom made by austrian carpenters.
As for the mentioned closet doors: either doors open 180 degrees OR are insertable into the closet itself, which allows to watch TV from the sofa AND from the bed. We will take your feedback as a hint to let our front office staff get more into details when personally escorting every guest to his room upon check/in. Again the problem with your door lock must be admitted, I apologize. We have had the lock replaced in the meanwhile.
I would very much like to welcome you some time in the future, in order to make up for the things mentioned. Warm regards (even though A/C is working) from the centre of Vienna, Philipp Patzel, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Hollman Beletage is a discreet. modern hotel in downtown Vienna. Its location is superb. We stayed for 5 days and since it’s located in the city centre (St. Stephen’s Cathedral, Kohlmart and Graben, Opera House, museums, etc), we saved time and money figuring out where to go. Everything we wanted to see, we saw by walking.

The hotel’s attention to detail is fantastic. It provides free breakfast until 11:00 AM and if you are going for a day trip, you could leave a note the night before and they’ll pack some provisions free of charge. They even lay out afternoon snack like tea/coffee, fruits, cakes, sandwiches (and fresh fruits in the room).

The staffs are cheerful, polite and helpful. Also, the floor is hardwood, a big plus for people with allergic reactions to carpeted room. We would definitely return to Hollman on our next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

On the final stages of our whirlwind tour of Europe, this hotel restored our faith in quality hotels and service.

Andrea at reception was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was a peach, the shower excellent, great bed, really clean and inviting, well stocked bar fridge, fresh fruit in the room, toilteries, fantastic location etc. etc. Too many extras to mention.

Breakfast was a show stopper. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyHMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

For a long weekend exploring Vienna we needed a centrally-located hotel, much like all the other hotels we've used for other cities in Europe. The Hollmann Beletage is certainly central (don't buy a "Vienna Card" - you can walk almost everywhere), but that's only the beginning. This is a small affair so reception is not manned all the time (check the website). We arrived late but had advised them of this and we had been emailed a code to gain entrance. We found our key and welcome pack on the reception desk, and a message chalked on a blackboard outside our room welcoming us. The room was a surprise. The large bed in the centre was very comfortable, and behind the headboard was a sink and work surface. The freestanding bath was at the side of the room with a shower over and a curtain around. The toilet was a separate cubicle. So the bathroom and bedroom are one space - it was great fun! There was a minimalist air to the whole room with some lovely extra touches we have not always had elsewhere - an umbrella, a long shoe horn, fresh fruit, a well-stocked minibar, slippers, extra towels, bath salts, "Pez" sweets and dispensers, a CD player next to the bed with a bespoke CD in it, along with a radio/iPod dock, a chaise longue and bath robes. The wireless internet was faultless, and the TV good quality with a decent range of channels. As you can tell we loved this room! But the most surprising thing for a hotel so very close to the city centre was just how extremely quiet it was. We experienced practically no noise, outside or in.

So we settled in late, and were met by two more surprises the next day. Firstly and most importantly was Katharina on reception.She was the only person we saw on reception the whole three days and she was exemplary. Friendly, excellent English (something we are always hugely grateful for, being monolingual Brits), helpful, cheerful and relaxed. She sold us tickets, booked us restaurants, ordered taxis and recommended places to see. She helped us with a couple of minor problems and was even exceedingly nice to me when I confessed to breaking a bathroom fitment! Rarely has a hotelier been so helpful and welcoming. The second thing of note was the breakfast. Each day was different, it is served by a collection of delightful serving staff and cooked to order in plain sight . No ghastly buffet here! Everything was good quality and some of the egg dishes were unique and very tasty. This was undoubtedly the best hotel breakfast we have had in a hotel in Europe ever.

It takes a lot to make me effuse about a hotel, but the Hollmann Beletage has succeeded. Their motive seems to be to make you feel so welcome the place feels like home - and they succeeded superbly. Were I to return to Vienna it would not be the magnificent architecture, history and excellent attractions - it would be to re-experience one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Put this place right at the top of your "100 places to stay before I die" list. And then book it. Go on - what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilTheDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,553 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,894 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#6 of 358 in Vienna
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,532 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,229 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 358 in Vienna
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollmann Beletage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollmann Beletage

Address: Koellnerhofgasse 6, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#3 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#6 Business Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: RM834 - RM1,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollmann Beletage 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, design refuge, living room for globetrotters and the pampered jetsetters: the Hollmann Beletage is all this and much more – a Viennese jewel in the truest sense of the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hollmann Beletage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollmann Beletage - Design And Boutique
Hollmann Beletage - Design & Boutique Hotel Vienna
Hollmann Beletage Design Boutique Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing