We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, a good location and not far from Events airport [40 mins]”
Review of Thon Hotel Harstad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Harstad
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was our last night after a fly drive holiday organised by Discover the World. The reception staff were very helpful - explaining how to avoid car park fees in their own hotel, for example. Room was very comfortable with blackout curtains and a view over the harbour. The breakfast was amazing - I have never seen such choice and such a spread. We would come here again. We visited the church and the land around it but sadly, as with much of Lofoten in September, this was shut. The drive to the airport was easy as was the return of the hire car. We arrived at the airport very early and were able to check our bags through to LHR on SAS.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so you can watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivertz-Pettersen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi,
Wonderful to read that you had a great stay in our region, and that logistics seemed to work our as planned! We put a lot of effort in our breakfast service. Every year there is an unofficial "Norwegian Championship in hotelbreakfast" - Twinings best breakfast, where undercover testers test about 400 hotels in Norway. In 2017 we ended up in the semifinal, meaning that our breakfast is rated somewhere between top 10-25 in Norway.
Next year we aim at the final heat! Thanks for letting us know we are on track!
Welcome back!
Kind regards Odd Kåre Sivertz-Pettersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

A charming hotel with a nautical theme in my room with a lovely balcony overlooking the harbour. The hotel is located in down town, with a few minutes walk to all the shops. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is impressive, large and with a good selection. Staff is super nice - highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivertz-Pettersen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Adele H!
Thank you so much for your very nice review!
Regards Odd Kåre Sivertz-Pettersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

A very warm welcome awaited us at the Thon Hotel. We wanted a double bed. Reception staff made sure we got one. Our room had a wonderful view of the harbour. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious.

Reception staff have good knowledge of local restaurants, and will book a table for you. We arrived at our restaurant to find it appeared to be closed. It was near enough to the hotel for us to head back. The receptionist telephoned the restaurant to find out what was going on, and ensured a welcome at the restaurant for us after the short walk back there.

There is plenty of parking, but there is a small charge to park near the hotel in one of their designated spaces.

Breakfast was very good - we found plenty of healthy options available, and enjoyed watching the people who could not resist stuffing themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaveTigerNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivertz-Pettersen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi,
Thank you so much for your nice review!
Kind regards Odd Kåre Sivertz-Pettersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

When you book a family room you expect one regular double bed and two squeezed in children's beds. Not at this hotel. 2 double beds with plenty of space for your luggage. Great breakfast with plenty to choose from.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank limpan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivertz-Pettersen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi,
Thank you so much for your review! We also have smaller rooms with smaller beds for children, so this could also be the case when booking a family room. However, you had one of the big ones, and the are really good!
Hope to see you again some time!
Regards, Odd Kåre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Only a short stay, one night. Got a room with ocean view. Nice bed. Aircondition could be better but clean and nice. Parking was not good. If you can't offer your guest's parking, don't tell us that you can when we ask before booking a room with you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
1  Thank Bjørg Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivertz-Pettersen, General Manager at Thon Hotel Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi,
Thank you so much for your nice review! Wonderful!
Kind regards Odd Kåre Sivertz-Pettersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harstad hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
0.1 km away
Scandic Harstad
Scandic Harstad
#3 of 4 in Harstad
181 reviews
25.9 km away
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
#1 of 2 in Harstad
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Harstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Harstad

Address: Sjoegata 11, Harstad 9405, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip Rainbow)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range: RM579 - RM808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Harstad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Harstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing