We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Ishavshotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This is a modern, clean, quiet hotel with a stunning waterfront view and a superb breakfast buffet. The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. Staff were polite and helpful. The room was well equipped. This hotel ranks near the top of the Scandinavian hotels that I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Steven C,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It means a lot to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

My stay at Scandic Ishavshotel in Tromsø was a a real pleasure. The things I look for in a hotel room in particular filled the bill: clean bathroom with a nice tiled shower stall with 2 options for water delivery (waterfall & handspray). The TV was huge: HD with many channels, including dedicated HD channels. Room temperature (usually too hot and/or stuffy at most Norwegian hotels) was perfect! Only complaint: Opening the window to make it even cooler when I slept did not lower the temperature. I missed not having a thermostat I could adjust. Other things:; The restaurant (Roast) is good. Limited menu, but a whiff of a gourmet experience (hotel restaurants usually vastly overpriced and unsensational from a culinary standpoint). Prices were also good for what you got. The breakfast buffet is famed as the best in the region. Everything imaginable was available, and all well-prepared. The personnel behind the desk were unfailingly friendly and helpful during my entire 2-day stay. The hotel is right by the water, and most rooms have breathtaking views. Most things you'd want to do or see are within walking distance, and airport bus is just outside the main door (not the case with many Tromsø hotels).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 18Stephen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 18Stephen90,
Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Having stayed in several Scandic Hotels during this Globus Tour, we were so surprised to see that this standard room was larger, with a larger more comfortable bed too. We had a lovely corner view of the harbour which added to the ambiance. The bathroom great too. Very friendly staff.
The buffet breakfast was excellent. We also had dinner at The Roast Restaurant. The menu is limited but the food excellent, as was the service.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank yous o much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The hotel was in an excellent location but the main plus of our stay was the view out our window. Any room on the northeast side had an excellent view of the docks and bridge as well as mountains and church. The room was nicely furnished and very clean as well as comfortable. The hotel restaurant had a terrific buffet for breakfast. Couldn't ask for much better. Excellent variety that tasted great. It was within easy walking distance of a number of restaurants, souvenir shops, and local attractions. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Brilliant four day stay here celebratiing a 60th birthday. Location, views and breakfasts all just as good as previously described....stayed in a junior suite on floor five with marvellous views of the harbour and the cathedral. (Also rendered us up close and personal with Hurtigruten ships and the beleaguered Poseidon ...that was quite diverting). .
Ate once in the evening at Roast...that was probably enough, there are some excellent restaurants about the centre of town.
Lovely stay, Tromso well worth the journey in summer .....thank you.

Room Tip: Harbour view amazing but comes with harbour activity....into the small hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DJH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear DJH2,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! it means a lot :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.4 km away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
501 reviews
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ishavshotel

Address: Fredrik Langes gate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tromso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Green Hotel in Tromso
#5 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: RM596 - RM1,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ishavshotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Ishavshotel has a unique location on the quay in the centre of Tromso. It is easy to get to as the bus station is close by and the airport is just 5 km away. Our rooms are of a high international standard and for conferences and events we have rooms in all sizes for 2 - 450 participants. Our restaurant offers a contemporary a la carte menu consisting only of the freshest seafood, fish and local meats all prepared in an original Josper grill featured in our open kitchen. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing