We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent service”
Review of Enter Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Enter Viking Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Viking hotel is a good hotel but has some points that can be improved. The location is very good to visit the city but there is no place to park your car. The city parking is closeby but is expensive (250 NOK per day). Our room was not very big, but clean. The bathroom looked like it needed an update (shower cabin was one doorhandle missing e.g.). Wifi was with ups and downs, not working all the time.
Breakfast was very good and the afternoon waffles compensates a lot of course :-)

UPDATE: A mail with medicines should have arrived during my stay in the hotel but it didn’t. In the hotel they told me that Norwegian Custom department is very strict and did not allow pills to be send by mail, so I would probably not get them. 2 months later, I got a letter at home from the hotel, with my medicine !!!! Custom had released them and sent them to the hotel, and they had returned them via UPS to my address (on their cost). What a great service!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BertXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable reception staff. Smooth check-in and check-out experienced for 4 adults and a baby. Initially a cot was requested however at check-in we were upgraded from a 2 bedroom to a 3 bedroom apartment, the cot was no longer required and the additional cost for the baby cot was removed.

The apartment is fully furnished and all amenities provided. Washing machine and dryer provided. When the light bulb in the laundry room required repair, prompt assessment and repair by the maintenance person was observed.

Good floor heating. Good water pressure in the shower. The supermaket (Spar) is literally around the corner. Convenient location within the city center.

Paid car parking nearby - do need to book in advance as limited spaces noted.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jason8881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Very central, small and quiet comfortable hotel. Clean and friendly. Generous breakfast. We were lucky and had a beautiful experience on our whale tour with Francesco. . 50 to 100 Orcas in a fjord. Lovely.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank LouiseGrundmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

On the outside the building looks very worn and dated, you start wondering what you are going to be staying in. You check in to the hotel itself and they walk you outside up some old stairs to get to the 2 bedroom apartment. The door opens and I was shocked at how beautifully cool it was. Very new, nice hardwoods, french doors and a fully stocked kitchen and bath. We stayed for 5 nights and I would stay there again! Friendly, more than nice and convenient.

Room Tip: Upgrade to at least a 2 bedroom, very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The first time I stayed at this hotel in March 2015, we had booked an apartment, which was fantastic. The location is very convenient, the staff was friendly and helpful and there were free and delicious waffles from 5pm to 9pm.

The second time I stayed here, I had booked hotel rooms, which are much smaller than the pictures online. In one of the bathrooms all hocks were brocken and to my disappointment the waffle serving time had been reduced to 6 to 8pm, contrary to the information on their website.

I recommend the apartments but not the hotel rooms, which would need a bit of a refurbishment and breakfast is just OK.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Veronique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.5 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
343 reviews
0.2 km away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
188 reviews
0.5 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 km away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter Viking Hotel

Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: RM359 - RM979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enter Viking Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Enter Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing