We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

The room 307 is...outdsted if you look at the photos. The oom has no individual airco so it was too warm in the room and if you open the window you have the noise from the guests that, in our case were pritty loud.

The staff is friendly, the location is good.
The fitnessroom is a big, big disappointment, just an open small room which you pass towards the restrooms. It looks this is only done to have a 4th star....pitty.

From the hotel it is easy to walk to the center and it feels a very cosy town.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Familie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

The location of the hotel is good, not too far from the station, the centre or the harbour.
The 'be right back' sign was at the check-in desk when we arrived & after what felt like ages waiting around, we were met by a member of staff.

As we were about to use the lift, the electricity in the whole building went off, so we were directed to the stairs. The corridors need some TLC / paint work as some walls and doors look shabby and there are stains on the floor.

The design of the room is interesting with an array of 'lighting moods' in place of the usual light switches on the door. Unfortunately, for a country that loves it's darkness & dim lights - they have curtains in the room that are not fit for purpose. They do not cover the windows adequately and as such if in a room facing the lobby, you have to contend with really bright wall lights that are left on all night. Note to management - get black out curtains that fit the windows, or turn off / dim those design lights in the lobby (see photo).

The room lacked amenities with no kettle or tea or coffee making facilities.
You had to ask for a kettle from reception which according to the facilities guide, they would then take a deposit for.

The bathroom was adequate, but it could do with an upgrade as things looked a bit tired. For example, the button to convert the shower hose into the waterfall shower fell off. Water went everywhere all over the floor of the bathroom.

The restaurant for dinner has a good concept 'elevated comfort food' & aspects of it reaches its aspirations with interesting flavours. However, the mains which the (very lovely) waitress recommended, were under expectations (e.g. burning the fish, yet undercooking it so it was translucent on another part of it).

Breakfast was good if you went for the traditional Norwegian fare of bread / cheese etc, however the hot food was of poor quality. Likewise, the orange juice tasted like it it had been watered down to 50% water and the coffee was also somewhat weak.

The members of staff in the hotel were very friendly, although it seemed understaffed.
Overall, the hotel was fine, but would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look out into the central lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottosMaximos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Leder  at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Greetings from Grims Grenka!

Thank you for taking time sending your feedback- these are very important for us to keep up the service level and expectations upon arrival. I will take them all with me and share with my team accordingly.
I`m very sorry we did not meet your expectations this time, please let me know next time you plan to see Oslo. You can email me directly at marianne.bergseng@firsthotels.no for further contact.

Wish you a lovely day and hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I honestly don't get the complaints on TripAdvisor about this hotel. This is basically like every other "hipster" boutique hotel with its mood lighting. I agree it could do with a bit more light but it's not a deal breaker. Rooms are a bit small but not unmanageable - it fit two girls and three large suitcases perfectly fine. A bit cramped but like I said, not unmanageable. Toilets are a decent size, by European standards. Bed are wonderful - great night sleep!

Location is good. Centrally located in the city centre but not so central that you're right in the horrid hustle and bustle of touristy Karl Johans gate. It's an easy 10min walk to all the main parts of the city. Super accessible.

Check-in and out was a breeze - typical Scandi efficiency. No complaints

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meiling_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Daglig leder at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Greetings from Grims Grenka!

So sorry our late reply.

Thank you so much for your feedback- we`re so glad we met your expectations and that you felt wonderful at Grims Grenka in Oslo.
I will share these happy moments with my team and we hope can see you two again :-)

Best regards,

Marianne Bergseng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

There is a place for "quirky designer ideas", but it is not in this hotel.

The rooms do not have a number on the door. Instead, eventually, you may spot a number written sideways on the carpet.

When you find your room, it is stupidly difficult to turn on lights. Instead of a switch, there is a ridiculous rocker device that - individually - controls various parts of the room. You can't see this anyway when you enter the room, and you have to find somewhere to put your key card before it will even work, so if you arrive at night you are in trouble.

When you can get the lights on, there is only a dim gloom created. Better than nothing, but frankly useless. In the bathroom, the lighting is so poor that there is hardly any chance to see yourself in the mirror while shaving.

The shower is so small that as a reasonably small person I had trouble turning round without disembowelling myself on the pointlessly large shower control. If you are in any way overweight you probably won't be able to get in and close the door.

If you wake up at night, you won't be able to find any light switches without a miracle.

The bedroom floor had 3 changes of level - small steps with no visible indicator, guaranteed to help you stub your toes many times.

Some public stairs were see through, with no guidance as to where a tread started or stopped.

Only plus point was a good breakfast selection.

Just don't stay here. You will regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Me-from-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Hotel needs a facelift. It always looks closed as it is so dark, and this applies to the rooms as well, with very little light.
Room was cold (to be fair it was -10 in Oslo at the time), but you need two duvets to keep warm at night.
No amenities in the room too (coffee, water etc) and there is no bathroom privacy (you can see the toilet and shower from the bed).
The room looked like it needed a good scrub. Grim is an appropriate name.
Norway is prohibitively expensive and a room for £180 per night would get you something amazing anywhere else in the World.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#49 of 103 in Oslo
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grims Grenka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grims Grenka

Address: Kongens gate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Oslo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: RM 639 - RM 1,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — First Hotel Grims Grenka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grims Grenka in Oslo city center is no ordinary hotel. The design of the hotel creates a special atmosphere for its guests, one that needs to be experienced. The hotel has 65 rooms, all of which are larger than 20 square meters and offer high quality facilities such as Jensen beds and personalized light controls. First Hotel Grims Grenka offers an in-house restaurant MADU for our guests. The restaurant offers a contemporary take on international comfort food, served in a casual setting. Applying modern twists on good old classics, we manage to make the best, even better. The creativity and experience of our kitchen team, provides an international long travelled concept, prepared with local seasonal produce. Hotel guests can also enjoy one of Europe’s to 50 rooftop terraces, Q Lounge. Seasonal open between approximately Mid May to Mid-September - it is a hidden pearl in the middle of Oslo. Here you can soak in Norwegian summer, and enjoy drinks and food of high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Grims Grenka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grims Grenka
First Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing