We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
260
239
190
106
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
239
190
106
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterfall shower q lounge rooftop bar recommend this hotel boutique hotel spacious room breakfast buffet nice breakfast location is excellent the main street public transport central location train station opera house catwalk harbour fortress
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The location of the hotel is good, not too far from the station, the centre or the harbour.
The 'be right back' sign was at the check-in desk when we arrived & after what felt like ages waiting around, we were met by a member of staff.

As we were about to use the lift, the electricity in the whole building went off, so we were directed to the stairs. The corridors need some TLC / paint work as some walls and doors look shabby and there are stains on the floor.

The design of the room is interesting with an array of 'lighting moods' in place of the usual light switches on the door. Unfortunately, for a country that loves it's darkness & dim lights - they have curtains in the room that are not fit for purpose. They do not cover the windows adequately and as such if in a room facing the lobby, you have to contend with really bright wall lights that are left on all night. Note to management - get black out curtains that fit the windows, or turn off / dim those design lights in the lobby (see photo).

The room lacked amenities with no kettle or tea or coffee making facilities.
You had to ask for a kettle from reception which according to the facilities guide, they would then take a deposit for.

The bathroom was adequate, but it could do with an upgrade as things looked a bit tired. For example, the button to convert the shower hose into the waterfall shower fell off. Water went everywhere all over the floor of the bathroom.

The restaurant for dinner has a good concept 'elevated comfort food' & aspects of it reaches its aspirations with interesting flavours. However, the mains which the (very lovely) waitress recommended, were under expectations (e.g. burning the fish, yet undercooking it so it was translucent on another part of it).

Breakfast was good if you went for the traditional Norwegian fare of bread / cheese etc, however the hot food was of poor quality. Likewise, the orange juice tasted like it it had been watered down to 50% water and the coffee was also somewhat weak.

The members of staff in the hotel were very friendly, although it seemed understaffed.
Overall, the hotel was fine, but would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look out into the central lobby.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottosMaximos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Leder  at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Greetings from Grims Grenka!

Thank you for taking time sending your feedback- these are very important for us to keep up the service level and expectations upon arrival. I will take them all with me and share with my team accordingly.
I`m very sorry we did not meet your expectations this time, please let me know next time you plan to see Oslo. You can email me directly at marianne.bergseng@firsthotels.no for further contact.

Wish you a lovely day and hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I honestly don't get the complaints on TripAdvisor about this hotel. This is basically like every other "hipster" boutique hotel with its mood lighting. I agree it could do with a bit more light but it's not a deal breaker. Rooms are a bit small but not unmanageable - it fit two girls and three large suitcases perfectly fine. A bit cramped but like I said, not unmanageable. Toilets are a decent size, by European standards. Bed are wonderful - great night sleep!

Location is good. Centrally located in the city centre but not so central that you're right in the horrid hustle and bustle of touristy Karl Johans gate. It's an easy 10min walk to all the main parts of the city. Super accessible.

Check-in and out was a breeze - typical Scandi efficiency. No complaints

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meiling_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Daglig leder at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Greetings from Grims Grenka!

So sorry our late reply.

Thank you so much for your feedback- we`re so glad we met your expectations and that you felt wonderful at Grims Grenka in Oslo.
I will share these happy moments with my team and we hope can see you two again :-)

Best regards,

Marianne Bergseng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

There is a place for "quirky designer ideas", but it is not in this hotel.

The rooms do not have a number on the door. Instead, eventually, you may spot a number written sideways on the carpet.

When you find your room, it is stupidly difficult to turn on lights. Instead of a switch, there is a ridiculous rocker device that - individually - controls various parts of the room. You can't see this anyway when you enter the room, and you have to find somewhere to put your key card before it will even work, so if you arrive at night you are in trouble.

When you can get the lights on, there is only a dim gloom created. Better than nothing, but frankly useless. In the bathroom, the lighting is so poor that there is hardly any chance to see yourself in the mirror while shaving.

The shower is so small that as a reasonably small person I had trouble turning round without disembowelling myself on the pointlessly large shower control. If you are in any way overweight you probably won't be able to get in and close the door.

If you wake up at night, you won't be able to find any light switches without a miracle.

The bedroom floor had 3 changes of level - small steps with no visible indicator, guaranteed to help you stub your toes many times.

Some public stairs were see through, with no guidance as to where a tread started or stopped.

Only plus point was a good breakfast selection.

Just don't stay here. You will regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Me-from-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Hotel needs a facelift. It always looks closed as it is so dark, and this applies to the rooms as well, with very little light.
Room was cold (to be fair it was -10 in Oslo at the time), but you need two duvets to keep warm at night.
No amenities in the room too (coffee, water etc) and there is no bathroom privacy (you can see the toilet and shower from the bed).
The room looked like it needed a good scrub. Grim is an appropriate name.
Norway is prohibitively expensive and a room for £180 per night would get you something amazing anywhere else in the World.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

A very well placed hotel. Central enough for Oslo centre for the theatre, opera house, royal palace and central station (about 15mins with luggage),as well as the historic areas including the Viking museum, large garrison fort with several attractions and the water front area.
The hotel's reception/lobby was rather gloomy; with dark décor and furniture and subdued lighting. Not for reading (maps etc)!! Check in/out was efficient. Our room turned out to be rather small (on the 6th floor) but with a large bed so that wardrobe and cupboard doors could not open properly and 2 people could not pass. Only one side of the bed had a side table and reading light. The TV was offset to the right of the bed, but no angled toward the bed. the lighting system was all electronic & pretty unfathomable and there were no instructions nor remote control. We did not attempt the sound system. The shower room only had a make up mirror on an extending arm that was on the opposite end of the vanity unit to the basin. The main shower cascaded water rather than sprayed, though there was a hand held smaller shower head. So avoid room 608. It should be for a single bed or a house services storage cupboard. It looked as though the room had been shoe horned behind a hall fire escape. Our friends next door had a far more spacious room - for the same rate; only discovered after the first night of our 2 night stay. A negotiation with reception was satisfactorily & cordially concluded.
The restaurant was excellent. It had a re-opening night (after refurbishment apparently). Attentive staff and good food. Breakfast was also well laid out and was very varied and adequate.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank treebeard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews