We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$242
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Comfort Hotel Grand Central(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$245
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Byporten(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Hotel Oslo Alna(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$143
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Scandic Holmenkollen Park(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$165
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
254
236
184
105
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
236
184
105
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfall showerq loungerooftop barrecommend this hotelboutique hotelnice hotelbreakfast buffetspacious roomnice staygreat breakfastlocation is excellentaker bryggethe main streetpublic transportcity centretrain stationopera house
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We booked a standard double room for 3 nights but upon arrival we asked if it was possible for an upgrade (without mentioning it was our honeymoon) and they kindly obliged with a superior room -room 509- but had an internal window. Room was easy to find, numbers are on the floor and on the door.

The mood lighting was easy to use (+ or - to turn on or off), and was already lit up with another room key inserted already so no need to stumble around in the dark.

Breakfast was a decent selection of cold and hot foods, coffee came out of one of those push button machines which is ok and drinkable.

Not sure if it's a common thing in this part of the world not to have drinking facilities in the room, but there is complimentary tea, Nespresso coffee and water in reception near the rotating door where you can relax in the foyer. I'm sure you can bring the hot drinks up to the room if needed.

The bed is super comfy, felt like you were sleeping on a cloud! Bathrooms had heated floors (and even in the shower!). Our only gripe was the shower head, aesthetically cool but not very functional. I wouldn't say it was like a waterfall hitting you as such, but wish it could be dispersed a bit more. There is a secondary shower head on the side which seems to use colder water so you either have to turn it away or set the waterfall shower hotter to offset against the colder shower head.

Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Close to the station and public transport to the museums and the toy centre.
Overall, we'd be happy to stay here again and would recommend this place to stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This is one of 2 good roof bars in Oslo. I think its the best because its resonable beer, drinks and vine Prices. Nice view over Oslo. Good and central location for a Great night out in Oslo. 100m from the most famous street in Oslo, Karl Johan Street

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Geir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Daglig leder at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hi Geir.


So nice to hear from you!

As we speak, we are actually having a closer look at our summer menu now- I think you will enjoy it!

Looking forward to see you at Q-Lounge!


Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

The room 307 is...outdsted if you look at the photos. The oom has no individual airco so it was too warm in the room and if you open the window you have the noise from the guests that, in our case were pritty loud.

The staff is friendly, the location is good.
The fitnessroom is a big, big disappointment, just an open small room which you pass towards the restrooms. It looks this is only done to have a 4th star....pitty.

From the hotel it is easy to walk to the center and it feels a very cosy town.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Familie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The location of the hotel is good, not too far from the station, the centre or the harbour.
The 'be right back' sign was at the check-in desk when we arrived & after what felt like ages waiting around, we were met by a member of staff.

As we were about to use the lift, the electricity in the whole building went off, so we were directed to the stairs. The corridors need some TLC / paint work as some walls and doors look shabby and there are stains on the floor.

The design of the room is interesting with an array of 'lighting moods' in place of the usual light switches on the door. Unfortunately, for a country that loves it's darkness & dim lights - they have curtains in the room that are not fit for purpose. They do not cover the windows adequately and as such if in a room facing the lobby, you have to contend with really bright wall lights that are left on all night. Note to management - get black out curtains that fit the windows, or turn off / dim those design lights in the lobby (see photo).

The room lacked amenities with no kettle or tea or coffee making facilities.
You had to ask for a kettle from reception which according to the facilities guide, they would then take a deposit for.

The bathroom was adequate, but it could do with an upgrade as things looked a bit tired. For example, the button to convert the shower hose into the waterfall shower fell off. Water went everywhere all over the floor of the bathroom.

The restaurant for dinner has a good concept 'elevated comfort food' & aspects of it reaches its aspirations with interesting flavours. However, the mains which the (very lovely) waitress recommended, were under expectations (e.g. burning the fish, yet undercooking it so it was translucent on another part of it).

Breakfast was good if you went for the traditional Norwegian fare of bread / cheese etc, however the hot food was of poor quality. Likewise, the orange juice tasted like it it had been watered down to 50% water and the coffee was also somewhat weak.

The members of staff in the hotel were very friendly, although it seemed understaffed.
Overall, the hotel was fine, but would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look out into the central lobby.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottosMaximos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Leder  at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Greetings from Grims Grenka!

Thank you for taking time sending your feedback- these are very important for us to keep up the service level and expectations upon arrival. I will take them all with me and share with my team accordingly.
I`m very sorry we did not meet your expectations this time, please let me know next time you plan to see Oslo. You can email me directly at marianne.bergseng@firsthotels.no for further contact.

Wish you a lovely day and hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,

Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I honestly don't get the complaints on TripAdvisor about this hotel. This is basically like every other "hipster" boutique hotel with its mood lighting. I agree it could do with a bit more light but it's not a deal breaker. Rooms are a bit small but not unmanageable - it fit two girls and three large suitcases perfectly fine. A bit cramped but like I said, not unmanageable. Toilets are a decent size, by European standards. Bed are wonderful - great night sleep!

Location is good. Centrally located in the city centre but not so central that you're right in the horrid hustle and bustle of touristy Karl Johans gate. It's an easy 10min walk to all the main parts of the city. Super accessible.

Check-in and out was a breeze - typical Scandi efficiency. No complaints

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meiling_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Daglig leder at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Greetings from Grims Grenka!

So sorry our late reply.

Thank you so much for your feedback- we`re so glad we met your expectations and that you felt wonderful at Grims Grenka in Oslo.
I will share these happy moments with my team and we hope can see you two again :-)

Best regards,

Marianne Bergseng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews