We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,534)
Filter reviews
1,534 results
Traveller rating
1,076
384
47
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
384
47
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light supper paleo restaurant great hotel guest lounge floor lounge complimentary dinner bluetooth speaker sparkling water eighth floor squeezed orange juice evening supper hot dish national gallery breakfast buffet amazing breakfast train station nespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,534 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Loved this hotel and highly recommend. The rooms are small but very modern and functional as well as comfortable. I had everything I needed and enjoyed a good nights sleep. The breakfast is fabulous and the supper is a great bonus. Excellent location and very cool pink chairs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street as they are quiet
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig S, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Greetings BondiKiwiFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us.
Our breakfast is a special point of pride for us, it was just awarded "Best in Oslo" by Twinings, and we are very happy that you enjoyed it as well.

We are also planning to open a wine bar in the autumn of this year, and we hope you will be back to check it out.

Wishing you a very fine day, and looking forward to welcoming you back to our pink chairs in what is hopefully the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is pleasant, the room is cheerful, the breakfast buffet is abundant and delicious. It is nice to have a simple super available. We requested a quiet room with a view. We were given a room facing the street, Rosenkrantz Gate. Although the room was on a high floor, drilling and construction noise could be heard from streets being repaired in front of the hotel. The construction project was close to the hotel entrance, and you had to walk around barriers to get to the front doors. In addition, there are two pubs kitty corner to the hotel. The noise from the pubs started about 7 PM and continued until 3AM.
The first of our four night stay, we complained to the hotel attendant that our room was chilly in the evening, and the heat didn't work. She offered to move us to another room on the second floor, which we declined because of the noise problem. We complained each day, but never got heat. The manager told us they couldn't fix the problem and offered us of a bottle of wine or food as recompensation. We declined the offer and crawled under the lovely down covers to get warm.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DianaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear DianaCA

Thank you for your positive review and constructive feedback. First of all let me express our sincerest apologies to the fact that we were unable to solve the issues regarding the temperature in your room. We did have several other rooms available for you, also facing a more quiet part of the area, but fully understand that you preferred to stay in your room.

The construction work outside is part of a major city/street beautification project run by the municipality of Oslo. The project operates under strict regulations in regards to what hours they are allowed to perform the most noisy part of their work, but we are truly sorry to hear that this also affected your overall experience.

On the positive side, we were pleased to read your comments on our breakfast, evening meal and overall ambiance.
We sincerely wish we could have done more to rectify your overall experience during your stay, and hope you would consider returning to us on another occasion. We would be happy to accommodate you with one of our best rooms and some refreshments in Paleo Please feel free to contact me directly for help with any future reservation, christian.arnet@olvathon.no

Best wishes for the summer from all of us at Thon Rosenkrantz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Average sized room, very clean. Great service. About three blocks to the downtown square, six walkable blocks to the Nationaltheatret train station. There's a high-speed train from the airport which takes about 20 min. Did I mention the breakfast which is included??? Wow!! This takes buffet to a whole new level, with reindeer, caviar, along with the usual breakfast type foods. This is the hotel for tourism in Oslo. There's also a small pub across the street which has a neighborhood pub feel, as opposed to tourist feel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TiggerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear TiggerHere

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Thon Rosenkrantz, and for posting such a great review of your stay.
We were delighted to read your comments on our rooms, cleanliness and service level.

Your generous praise of our breakfast is motivating and inspiring to read and has been shared with all our team members.
Our main goal is to offer the best breakfast in Norway, and were continuously looking at new products and new ways to present Norwegian food culture to our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope to se you back again with us in the future

Best wishes from everyone here at Thon Rosenkrantz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Very central, near harbour. Quirky, individual decor a refreshing and fun change from the usual dead-hand-of-the-designer stuff.
Staff terrific. Best breakfast we had anywhere in Norway. We absolutely loved this hotel

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jill2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear jill2906,

Thank you so much for your positive review and for choosing to stay with us at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz.

Delighted to read your comments on our unique design, breakfast and team members. We hope to see you back again with us in the not to distant future.

Best wishes for the summer from all of us at Rosenkrantz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We had the opportunity to test the staff of the Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo on May 29th 2018.
My wife and I arrived at the hotel at 20:30 after travelling since 7 am, expecting to check in to our room. The receptionist Aleksandra was polite and efficient but could not find our booking by date or name. Eventually she found it by the number but informed us that booking was for more than a month earlier and the hotel was full that night.
While she did not accept any blame she immediately took responsibility for the situation and began calling all the Hotels in the City. She was joined by two other members of the hotel staff who worked for over an hour to find us a room in a very over booked Oslo. When the phone failed to get results they searched the web and called friends across the city. By now we were pretty upset but these three capable and efficient young people simply did not give up. We were offered coffee and tea and made to feel we were being taken care of.
This went on for over an hour until Aleksandra received a call back from the First Hotel Grims Grenka, who had a room for us. Aleksandra called us a taxi and went with us to the taxi to make sure the driver new were to take us. She also called the receptionist at the First Hotel Grims Grenka, made her aware of our situation and we were treated right.
Throughout the drama the staff was courteous, efficient, professional, empathetic, kind, helpful, polite and stayed with the problem until it was solved.
We followed up with a letter to the hotel thanking them for their help and while the hotel policy is not give refunds for no shows, they would make an exception in our case.
So while i have never officially stayed in this hotel I strongly recommend it when you are in Oslo

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian A, General Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Clive,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience. Reading your review and kind comments on our team members made us all really happy and proud. Your praise of Aleksandra, Iben and Peter has been shared with everyone here.

We sincerely hope you will find the time and occasion to return to Oslo in the not to distant future. We would be delighted to have you as our guests, please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Best wishes for the summer from all of us at Thon Rosenkrantz!




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews