We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful café & great atmosphere - Poshy staff & average coffee”
Review of Fuglen

Fuglen
Ranked #15 of 72 Coffee & Tea in Oslo
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Fuglen is quite an institution. Not just a regular café, it is properly a genuine design bureau, where you can sit & sip your coffee on a vintage sofa, or set your workstation on a beautiful art déco table for a few hours.
The venue is really great, and the atmosphere has this little retro taste that makes us wanna chill here a bit longer.

Big minuses though : average food & beverage + really snobby service staff. Such a pity that a beautiful place like that is ruined by the poshy & careless attitude of their staff.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LG-Aude-LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Fuglen makes some of the most superb cocktails - but they are rather pricey if your not an Oslo native... They’re worth it though!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank pettercolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We stopped here after a busy afternoon of sightseeing in Oslo.

Cool, retro atmosphere--a long and narrow space with vintage furniture. Seating was very tight during our visit--a bit too tight to make the shop as appealing of a place to relax/chill as we had hoped. Still, we spent about an hour reading, writing some postcards, and enjoying our coffees.

Service was very nice but definitely on the slow side. The slowness at the coffee bar was driven by precision; for instance, the baristas were weighing carefully exactly how much espresso went into a given drink. I will say the end results were very enjoyable; the cappuccinos were well-balanced and not bitter, and the ratios of espresso, milk, and foam were spot-on.

Overall, cool spot.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

I had an Easter special mocha and it tastes really good. Coffee in Norway is certainly above average than many countries. The interior of the Cafe is cool and it makes the whole coffee experience even better. I'm going to miss the coffee here and hope I will have another chance enjoying it soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Fuglen has good coffee, but you can find good coffee other places nearby as well. The interior decor is cool and catchy. Nice to sit down at Fuglen to enjoy the retro furniture.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank StainawarijaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fuglen also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Fuglen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing