We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the stay!”
Review of Fjordside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fjordside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Fjordside has some great relaxing views and beautiful landscaping. Our party of seven enjoyed the stay there. We used the bussing system to get to Bergen and didn't have any troubles. The bus stop is a short walk from Fjordside too and it wasn't too difficult to figure out the schedules (even for this hick from the sticks). Aasane is a central bus station along the way and has a grocery store and shopping mall are right there - so it was convenient. Jorle and Rita were very friendly and if we ever decide to return to Bergen, we'd stay with them in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Having the kitchen was nice. Norwegian food prices are a huge shocker for Americans - as well as ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BetterButter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Fjordside is a lovely lodge in a stunning location, overlooking one of Norway's beautiful fjords. We had everything we needed for self-catering in a lovely, clean and cosy apartment. The terrace was also a beautiful place for breakfast every morning! Rita gave us a lot of good advice for visiting the surrounding area and beyond. One of the highlights was finding the natural swimming pool she recommended in a mountain river near the small town of Mo, about an hour and a half from Fjordside lodge. Renting a car is definitely recommended for exploring the spectacular surroundings in your own way, at your own pace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank AlisonMacKellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Unfortunately we have to contradict the high scores of other guests, as this was the most expensive accommodation of our entire trip in Norway, and the lowest in quality of services offered. In practice, although the view from the courtyard garden was really worthwhile, and very friendly owners, we had a room where the shower had no water enough to make us a decent shower, and slept on a sofa bed! I managed to take a shower with water that came out of the thread, but my wife, and her long hair, they had to wait to get to the next hotel to Alesund (a hotel with excellent room and breakfast included, in the city center, cheaper of this lodge!).
Also, I have serious doubts that the linens are replaced at each change guests.
Two other aspects that make the price too high, is the lack of breakfast, and the distance from the center of Bergen (but we knew that), but we were hoping that the room was superior to the others, since it was the most expensive.
To conclude, I would say that there are two solutions, or the owners take the lowest cost, aligned on drill equal in quality accommodation in norway, or are forced to advise against this accommodation to future guests. At least the room we had.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rickmanolo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritrip, Owner at Fjordside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

In this review I don't recognize the guest's or their decription of one apartment. They decribe a sofabed, but then we are talking about the cheapest apartment. All the apartment's are selfcatering with their own kitchen. This info everybody gets in their offer. To insinuate that the bedlinnen might not be clean, is said to damage Fjordside Lodge. I can't think that anybody of my guest's will do that. They have all been very satesfied and greatful for what we have done for them. If something has been wrong, I'm sure they would let us know instead of writing such a damaging review. With so much problems, it seems strange to act that all was great.
I really can't understand this at all. The problem is that I can't do anything to prevent this.
Hopefully this will be discover as a fraud.
Best regards, owner of FJORDSIDE Lodge - Rita Ripman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We are small family of three loving each other people. Our values are health, love, family and nature. We found a lot of these in Fjordside Lodge!!

We are not going to describe how wonderful this place and its location are (please read this in the other references)!

We would like to pay more attention to the owners of this gorgeous property. And they are just wonderful! For us (two adults with one almost 16 months old baby-boy) it is important when we travel to feel as if we are at home. We could stay much longer if we could! Thank you for spending with us some very cozy moments!

We would be more than glad to come back to Norway for longer time and to visit Rita and Jorle again!
Rumi, Momo and Jassen (Bulgarians living in Tyrol, Austria)

Room Tip: If you need a great view, you have to take the upper apartment. But if you travel with your family a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank momospr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A cosy place to stay about thirty minutes out of Bergen. The highlight was sitting out on the deck admiring the fjord below. We also enjoyed a hike up Veten, which we were directed to by Rita and her husband. The beginning of the walk is a 10 minute drive away and takes about two hours. The view is delightful.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daisy570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,369 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#15 of 49 in Bergen
116 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
957 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fjordside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fjordside Lodge

Address: Steinestoevegen 745 | Hordvik, Bergen 5108, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Bergen
Price Range: RM576 - RM890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FJORDSIDE Lodge is located 15km north of Bergen near road E39. FJORDSIDE Lodge is a unique spot near Bergen, with a wonderful garden and a magnificent panoramic view over the fjords, islands and surrounding mountains. Traditional red houses with turf roof and a beautiful garden enclosed by hedges and untouched nature. Here you find two large terraces and a garden where you can eat your breakfast, barbecue, enjoy a silent moment, read a book, or just admire the view over the fjord. Your stay also includes access to a gas grill and a fire pan for barbecue using coal or wood. Both terraces include a wonderful view of the fjords. Fjordside Lodge offers romantic and creative surroundings with a fish pond and one cat. Some free-range chickens and our small organic farm, create the perfect atmosphere. The children also have a paradise with a large playground on the property. It's short trip to the beach where they can find small crabs. There is also a marina close by and mooring is available on private quay. SURROUNDINGS: Close by: Hiking trails, fishing, beach, food market, local bus, and area tourist attractions. Tourist attractions: Bergen Centrum, the world famous Bergen fish market, old postal trail Bergen- Trondheim, Tellevik fort, Saetre farm and Norsk Trikotasje museum (Museum of Norwegian Knitting Industry). After crossing the long floating bridge you are surrounded by islands and waterfalls in the west, and lakes and rivers in the East. Sognefjord and Voss are only a 90 minute drive away. Everything else you need is within a very short distance. APARTMENTS are fully equipped, updated and tastefully decorated including towels and bed linen. Wi-Fi is available free of charge. At approximately 55m2 each apartment is fully equipped for 4 people and self-catering. The bathroom is bright and welcoming with in- floor heating, shower, toilet, washing machine, towels, hairdryer and soap. The kitchen is fully equipped with all necessary equipment for cooking and storage. This includes a Coffee maker, kettle and common spices etc. The living room has HD flat screen TV with most channels, DVD player and a selection of DVD's. Wireless 30MB internet is free of charge. For a small fee we can stock your refrigerator before your arrival, just ask. APARTMENT A (Salhusfjorden 55m2, max 4 persons): - 1 sleeping alcove with double bed - 1 bedroom with bunk beds, 1 living room - fully equipped kitchen - bathroom (shower only),washing machine APARTMENT B (Sorfjorden 55m2, max 4 persons): - 1 sleeping alcove with double bed - 1 bedroom with double bed - Living room including dining table - fully equipped kitchen - bathroom (shower only), washing machine APARTMENT C (Veten 25m2, max 2 persons): - 1 combined bedroom/LR and bedroom - Kitchen and bathroom ANNEX/CABIN (max 2 persons, extra bed space) - approx. 20m2 - bunk beds - wash bowl and potty MISCELLANEOUS: - kettle, coffee-percolator - water from our own well - smoking not permitted - pets allowed only by pre arrangement - cash payment in NOK on arrival - The refrigerator can be filled before arrival INCLUDED: - Free Parking, bed linen, towels, taxes, baby cot, 30Mb WI-FI, electricity and end cleaning RATE: Please contact us for a rate quote or check web our page ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fjordside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing