We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Nearby Hotels
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points by Sheraton Penang(Tanjung Bungah)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lost Paradise Resort(Tanjung Bungah)(Great Value!)
US$55
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chymes(Tanjung Bungah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Hope Inn(Tanjung Bungah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Foo Homestay(Tanjung Bungah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
CC's Beach House(Tanjung Bungah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveller rating
97
284
252
118
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
284
252
118
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet breakfastacross the roadspacious roomgreat poolnice viewindian restaurantsea view roomswimming pool isnight marketpenangbusbatucozasia
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 848 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Flamingo Hotel is a budget hotel suitable for family and large groups. Many of the visitors are on Group tours from Europe and appear to stay for 1 or more months, to escape the European winters.
The Hotel is noisy, as the rooms have hard floors, doors banging, noisy, happy tourists without any consideration for others, but thats holidays!
The Restaurant, at breakfast, struggle to handle the large crouds, and the management should take more interest in seeing that platters are re-filled quickly and not left empty.
Seafood specialty night, good value for money. Unable to get an Iced-tea at the Restaurant after a hot day out and had to go to the Hotel next door, (Paradise Beach) where we were served quickly, even though that section was closed.Later found Ice Tea at the pool bar, just outside the Restaurant, which was made in the Restaurant, strange!
Swimming pool clean, though the furniture could do with an up-date.
Beach lounges grabed by the European visitors first thing, and belongings left, even when they were not there.The Hotel should moniter this, so others can take advantage of the beach, should they wish.
Staff helpful and the rooms were kept clean by the room stewards.
Rooms have little storage space, cupboards with no shelves so unusable.
Bus stop outside Hotel which will take you into Penang for 2 ringitts each way, good value, or use the Hop-On bus at cost..

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Ms Hilary,

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang!

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay.

First of all, we apologize for the setbacks you faced during the busy period. Please be assured that your comments are well noted and looked into with team for better improvement.

Nevertheless, we are happy to hear that our weekend buffet and room cleanliness were up to your expectations. We are also glad you’ve enjoyed the warm hospitality delivered by our team.

We genuinely hope you will visit us again. If we can be of further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us at +604 892 7111.

Best Regards
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I have been visiting Penang for about 13 years now. For the last 4 years I have stayed at The Flamingo. This hotel is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels I have stayed in at Penang. It is situated on the beach at Tanjung Bungah which is easy to get to by public transport.
The rooms are big, spacious and clean with a decent size balcony. The housekeeping staff are very efficient and friendly.
All the staff are amazing. As you walk in you are greeted by the friendly bell boys who always assist you or share a joke. Again, in reception the staff always greet you and help you in a friendly, professional manner.
There is a vast array of food on offer at breakfast catering for the different nationalities of people staying. The quality is good and, again, the staff are great.
I can’t recommend this hotel enough and I’m already looking at flights for my next trip in 2019.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Titanbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Greetings from Flamingo hotel by the beach,Penang!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled to know that you had an excellent stay experience, particularly the service provided. Our team will be delighted to hear such wonderful words from you and we are sure they will strive more to make your next stay much better than before.

It is our pleasure to know that you are planning to return here. If we can be of further assistance to you , please do not hesitate to contact us at +604 892 7111.

Thank you again!

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I have short vacay and stayed for 3nights with my small familly. Suitable to bring small baby..very calm n cozy.Nice view..buffet breakfast got a lots of choices, friendly staff. Have shuttle bus service .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank sarahhamzah19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Greetings from Flamingo hotel by the beach, Penang!

It is delightful to hear that you are pleased with our hotel in general and that you had a wonderful stay experience during your family holiday with us.

We sincerely appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to provide us your feedback on our hotel.

We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future. If we can be of assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us at +604 892 7111.

Have a nice day!

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

This is our second 3 week visit to Flamingo by the beach. This is a great hotel with spectacular views over the bay of Penang. The staff here are excellent and friendly. We have made good friends with many of the long term staff and management who always go the extra to make our stay great. The restaurant is excellent, food is great, I have nothing bad to say. We will certainly be visiting again in 2019

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank anorakmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the beach,Penang!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us in Penang.

We are delighted to learn that all arrangements and services extended during your stay met your expectations. Your very kind comments have in turn been passed on to members of staff who are indeed most appreciative.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang again. If we can be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us at +604 892 7111.

Thank you and have a great day!

Best Regards

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Cons
1.Bad room service /housekeeping..
Its 4pm and no housekeeping is done! When called up, staff mentioned it's floor by floor duty and will do when time for my floor... Excuse me... But till 4pm??

2. Swimming Pool..
Went for swim at their pool, but the staff telling can't wear tshirt and go swim.. Hello.. It's swimming dress and you can't recognised it? But others with tshirt are just happily swimming thru...?

Overall.. It's overpriced.. Overrated hotel..

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DevFusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamingoPenang, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Greetings from Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, as it is precisely through such comments that we are able to improve and remain true to our committed effort of serving guests in our utmost capacity.

While we appreciate your comments on our housekeeping services and pool users that were not in proper swimming attire, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.

We take note of your disappointments, rest assured that we have addressed the issues raised with the departments concerned and necessary actions were taken for immediate improvement.

Once again, we thank you for letting us know about your unpleasant experience. We look forward to welcome you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us at +604 892 7111 if we can be of any assistance for your next stay.

May you have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews