We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Courtlands Hotel(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oban(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
541
294
88
39
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
294
88
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal restaurantcroquet lawnafternoon teacrystal dining roomcream tea in the conservatoryputting greensea viewbeachy headconservatory restauranttraditional hotelold fashionedsconeslovely hotelmain restaurantoutdoor poololder peopleshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed here overnight- really friendly attentive staff and comfortable hotel. Really close to be able to walk to Beachey Head and enjoy some fabulous views.
As it was Easter Sunday every guest at breakfast received an Easter egg- really nice touch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vivoceanvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following you stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that the Easter Egg at breakfast was well received. Best wishes from all the team. Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2 day mid week break on this visit. Wish it could have been longer. We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 20 years and it never disappoints. Lovely sea view room. Great staff. Lovely food.

Room Tip: Best rooms are sea view but you will pay a little more for this.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ballroom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the team are great serving lovely food. I trust and hope to welcome you back to the hotel when I can assure you of our very best attention. Best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We as a golf party of 12 had a wonderful 2 night stay with evening meals.This is the third
time we have stayed at the Hydro and I must say it was as good as ever.The rooms,the staff and the food was excellent and what wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jwrigglesworth1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your golfing party. I am delighted to read you all enjoyed your stay and that the team and food were excellent. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Hydro hotel in Eastbourne is a lovely place to stay. My friend and I were in need of R and R which was exactly the result of our stay. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and polite. We received an upgrade to a room with a side sea view which also provided a panoramic view of the town. Parking for my disabled friend was perfect. The room was clean and very comfortable. We took breakfast and evening meals at the hotel. Food was beautifully cooked and presented and service was attentive without being intrusive. I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a peaceful break and will definitely visit again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jeannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read you and your friend enjoyed your stay and that the team were polite and friendly. I will certainly convey your kind words to all the team and thank you for your recommendation. best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a very enjoyable and good value break. The newly refurbished bedroom was a delight - clean, comfortable, tastefully modern and well equipped. The fridge will be especially useful when I return in the summer.
The tea and teacake on arrival and evening drink included were very welcome and appreciated extras.
Usually I just have b and b but booked dinner this time as it was only for 3 nights. I went into the restaurant with an open mind and was pleasantly surprised. The food was well presented on very hot (and very large plates for average sized portions). Must say however, that I do like vegetables a lot and these days only a very small amount is incorporated into the the main course. Hence I make alternative arrangements for dinner when I stay for a week in the summer.
I was seated near the entrance to the restaurant and could easily hear guests speaking to staff when arriving for dinner. The 15 minute time slot was being enforced and twice I heard guests arriving only a couple of minutes early being told to go away and come back in a little while. There were only 6 or 7 tables occupied and plenty of staff on duty. This, I feel, doesn't give a good impression - surely a little discretion could be used.
Otherwise the staff in the hotel are lovely and cater for guests' needs splendidly.
I look forward to enjoying the garden next time and seeing how the new planting is coming along - and if removing some of the high hedge let's in a lot more of the prevailing westerly sea breezes!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank likesabreak2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished bedrooms. Thank you your constructive feedback on the Crystal restaurant which will be discussed with the restaurant team. The garden plans are nearly completed now and we are all looking forward to the wash of colour the new planting will offer. On behalf of all the team I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when I can assure you of our very best attention. Best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews