We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Berkeley Guest House(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Afton Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Alexandra Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Park View Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beamsley Lodge(Eastbourne)
US$147
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Lions Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$70
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
305
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruithost marksun roombunk bedsfull englishlinen and towelsdecorated to a very high standardstayed nightsfront of the housefantastic hostsbalcony overlooking the seabreakfast was excellentroyal parademinute walk to the pierbiscuitsthe bed was extremely comfortablebottled water
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful house for 2 nights. The place is spotless and tastefully decorated. Convenient location.

The welcome from the host Mark was warm however the house was very cold (in terms of lack of heating). In fact the first night the king size bed felt damp at the bottom it was so cold. We were on the top floor which maybe meant it was particularly cold. The central heating didn’t seem to stay on for long morning or evening. We discovered an electric heater in the room the second night and this was so much better. Going out of the bedroom into other parts of the house though - you were hit with icy coldness.

It was advertised that bottled water was included in the price - 1 small bottle for a double occupancy room was what we received. For the money we paid things like this seemed to be somewhat restricted.

Breakfast was adequate. Easter eggs on Easter Sunday was a nice touch. Would we return? Probably not - we’d likely try another of the multiple guest houses in the area.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CmarH, Owner at Breakers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Feedback from our guests is always welcomed, even if on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. The comfort of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and we are therefore so sorry that you found your room to be cold, but deeply saddened that you felt unable to mention it to us at the time. Had you done so, we would have done all we could to make you more comfortable, including turning up the heating, providing extra blankets and pointing out the electric heater
A complimentary bottle of water is provided in each room and we are happy to provide a second upon request.
Kind Regards
Mark and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This is a lovely place to stay in a great location. We were booked in Room 6 for 3 nights and it was perfect! This is a huge room with great views from a lovely bay window. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was amazing, in fact I haven’t slept so well in ages! The breakfast is lovely, great quality and nothing is too much trouble. Mark and Christine are great hosts and we will definitely return should we visit Eastbourne again. We’ll definitely be recommending this place to our friends.Thanks for a great stay!
Alison and Ray Whiting

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TriptravellerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CmarH, Owner at Breakers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Alison and Ray
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay.
Mark and Christine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I have been staying at Breakers on and off for the last 5 years and have never been disappointed, i am sure i have stayed in nearly all of the rooms by now and all of them are superb.
Quality fittings, spotlessly clean and you dont want for anything.
Breakfast is always pleasing and nothing is too much trouble.
I would most definately recommend this hotel to anyone of any age, i am in my 50's and use it for business and am extremely well travelled and not too easy to please but i am always confident of booking in here.
Fabulous 5* from me!

Room Tip: Sea View is fabulous with terrace to fully appreciate
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CmarH, Owner at Breakers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Deborah
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to see you and hope it won't be too long before you visit us again.

Mark and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Booked 2 nights, but cancelled on arrival since the room booked was not "en-suite" as described and there is no free parking anywhere "nearby". I have no doubt the room, service, breakfast, etc., would have been satisfactory .. but the hotel MUST take responsibility for accurate representation on the internet. They cannot blame the likes of Hotels.Com/- Expedia for providing misinformation and claim it is not their responsibility in how and what is described.

Room Tip: Check directly with hotel to ensure what you read on the web is correct
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Very clean, spacious ground floor family room. Very friendly, accommodating hosts. If we visit Eastbourne again we will look to stay here! No ocean view from our room (no. 7) but the beach is literally a stones throw away so not an issue. About 10 min walk from town center.

Room Tip: Room 7 is below street level. Its spacious for a family but the view is limited.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews