We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$67
NovotelUS$73
Hotels.comUS$67
eDreamsUS$67
TravelocityUS$67
Orbitz.comUS$67
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
369
480
193
65
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
369
480
193
65
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park good size mini bar executive room football ground per night reception staff room was large bed was very comfortable excellent breakfast short stay stayed here for one night saturday night good nights sleep toilet roundabout sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2021

HI everyone,
I stayed at the hotel for about 10 nights and my stay was comfortable. The food was good and healthy. The staff was kind and helpful. Special mention for Ms Susan who was very helpful and a thorough professional. 4-5 times I thought she went out of her way to help me with different things. It is close to city centre and Ipswich waterfront.
However, it does not have sports channels in the room and only BT sport in the bar which I believe is not acceptable for a 3 star hotel. I would recommend it but try to book well in advance for good rates.

Date of stay: August 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 897varund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 897varund

Thank you so much taking time to review on us and also rating us 4*. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction. Also pleased that Susana took good care of you. I will pass your commendation about her personally and i am sure she will be thrilled with the mention.

Looking forward to host any of your future events with us.

Kind Regards
Nuwan Jayasena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

I stayed at this hotel Aug. 15-18 2021. It's fine and about what you'd expect of a 3 star Novotel. Unexceptional, but solid. However, it has a parking problem: the carpark is inadequate and on every night of the stay it was full to capacity. On one night I had to park elsewhere, on another in the road leading to the carpark. This is despite prepaying for parking for 3 nights upon arrival. Other disadvantages: one cannot walk into the hotel without walking alongside a very busy and noisy trunk road, and the outlook from the hotel is quite unpleasant - carparks and exceptionally ugly office and other buildings.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JLBB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear JLBB_11

Thank you so much for your review. We are a very busy hotel and parking generally get filled due to our prime location. We do not guarantee or reserve spaces for any guests. Its simply first come first serve. However there are plenty of other parking solutions near by.

Kind Regards
Nuwan Jayasena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Well I am writing this while i am still checked in.
We have stayed here every year for the past five years and this year we have been disappointed. Beware of the shower in your room as the rubber seal on the door is very old and has not been replaced in the refurbishment and it will leak water out into the bathroom floor. This was a trip hazard and my little boy near fell over. They also do not provide shower gel and lotion like they did on prior occasions and this is not synonymous with a Novotel hotel. I have stayed in many Novotel hotels and they are usually up to scratch and it up to their reputation but unfortunately on this occasion Ipswich has not delivered after the supposed refurbishment.

The restaurant is only open for 3 hours in the evening and the bar is very short staffed at the moment. There are also shortfalls with housekeeping as rooms not cleaned daily and towels are not regularly replaced. This is ok for one night stay but not for a family vacation for more than one night as you'll be bitterly disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank petek858
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear petek858

Thank you very much for your review.

Apologies on this occasion you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We had to adopt and make changes to be in line with Covid guidelines. This may have partly contributed for some anomalies you highlighted. However once the restrictions over we will be back with our normal operating procedures.

Look forward to welcome you back again for a hassle free experience.

Kind Regards
Nuwan Jayasena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night - for a home football match - and sadly, they were fully booked on the Saturday night - which is no surprise as it is a great hotel. The room was spacious & bed was huge! Separate loo and bathroom which was very modern & clean and had a shower cubicle and bath. The mini fridge was also a welcome addition. Great COVID measures such as hand sanitizer by each lift. We really will make sure we book early next time to avoid disappointment of having to stay somewhere else! It is in a great location for the restaurants near Buttermarket and the adjoining streets. Special mention for Carla who we asked to get us a taxi to our 2nd hotel. Being Saturday & the football- there was initially over an hour wait & no bookings were being taken. Somehow she managed to ring around & a taxi arrived in about 20 minutes! Fantastic customer service- going the extra mile for us. She & a colleague also waited
outside with us to ensure it arrived. We were
extremely grateful! No hesitation in recommending
this as the place to stay in Ipswich.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kastres
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear kastres

Wow. Thank you ever so much for this wonderful review. My team and i enjoyed reading your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and it was our absolute pleasure to look after you both. Very much appreciate the comment about our friendly staff. And Carla is thrilled with her personal mention. Our teams are dedicated and passionate about guest services and your feedback is a testimony for all the hard work they does.

Thank you so much for recommending us for friends and family.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards
Nuwan Jayasena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021

Very good on so many levels. Very COVID aware, all of the staff are extremely competent, friendly but still remaining professional. Nuwan, the Manager leads very much by example. It is great now that the restrictions have lifted there is a genuine buzz felt especially as customers realise what they’ve been missing. Either for business or pleasure situated near the centre of town it is a great place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank nfreeman882
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwan Jayasena, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear nfreeman882.

I am delighted to read your review and sincere apologies for late response.


It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Especially as one our valued regular and platinum guest.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience Mr Freeman and we hope to look after you for many years to come while you work around Ipswich.

Kind Regards
Nuwan Jayasena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews