We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcome and comfortable”
Review of Hillbrow Farm B&B

Hillbrow Farm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipswich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillbrow Farm B&B
Ranked #21 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Barbara and Len were very welcoming, the upstairs studio was the perfect family room. We stayed one night for a 'family do' nearby, but could easily see someone staying longer to explore Suffolk. Although positioned just north of busy Ipswich, it feels very secluded and tranquil. The breakfast was very tasty, lots of home made jams, sausages and fresh eggs - what a treat!
The scenes out of the studio bedroom in the morning - old barns, sheds and fields, looked instantly familiar, having grown up in Suffolk myself and admired the Giles cartoons from an early age the whole experience brought those fabulously detailed illustrations to life. The bonus of sleeping in the same studio space where Giles once worked, was a little bit of special english heritage.
In the morning after breakfast we has a little walk around the land, with abundant natural wildlife and some farm animals, our 7 year old also got to enjoy the place too..

Room Tip: It has to be the studio family room, for the view and the history
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakingdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed one night on 24th Sept. Barbara and Len met me as I arrived and were so friendly, I had the ground floor studio room, it was very clean with a small fridge with a jug of fresh milk and cold drinking water. The bed was very comfortable , the bedside lights were by touch and that was a nice touch, flat screen tv a lovely peaceful setting.
The en-suite was up 3 steps and was spotless, very powerful shower, basin and toilet.
I would definitely recommend this b&b to friends and family. Barry D (TITAN)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

just spent two nights at hillbrow wish it had been longer excellent place to stay really clean and tidy and well maintained and presented good breakfast and a good selection of home made jams(which you can purchase i would highly recommend the bullace) the food is localy sourced and of a high standard as the man said we will return

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we visited Jimmys farm for an event.
Len and Barbara were lovely, very friendly and laid back. We had the upstairs studio room which was clean, very spacious with a large modern bathroom.
The setting was great, a rambling farm on a great setting with lots of old outbuildings and horses in the nearby field.
If you are looking for the authentic laid back farmyard B&B experience you will find it here.
Breakfast was cooked at whatever time suited you and consisted of locally sourced bacon and sausage and free range eggs. All very tasty and well cooked.
Fantastic value, great hosts.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here using both rooms as our adult son was travelling with us, both rooms, large, clean with good furniture and an exceptional shower - not usually found in b&b rooms. We had the upstairs room with a balcony and a panoramic view. Wish we had been able to say longer, breakfast was an experience, home grown bacon, sausages, home made marmalade and jams - what a great start to the day.

Room Tip: Be sure to stop hare when in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
3.4 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
15.4 km away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#1 of 1 in Great Bricett
67 reviews
4.5 km away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
877 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
594 reviews
6.6 km away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrow Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrow Farm B&B

Address: Hillbrow Farm Tuddenham Lane | Witnesham, Ipswich IP6 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing