We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Squirrel

The lodges Woodpecker and Squirrel overlooking the meadow. Both have there own patio and garden area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lodges Woodpecker and Squirrel overlooking the meadow. Both have there own patio and garden area
patio/alfresco dining area Squrirrel Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The lodges Woodpecker and Squirrel overlooking the meadow. Both have there own patio and garden area
patio/alfresco dining area Squrirrel
Kitchen area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Spacious bedroom with extra tv socket. Bring your portable tv for lazy nights
Double bedroom with touch lamps.
Shower room with instant electric shower and heated towel rail
utility cupboard with iron/board hair dryer and bathroom toweling etc.
View of The paddocks in front of the lodges just after bailing.
Tree lined driveway to the lodges and private parking area.
The view taken from Woodpecker towards the entrance.
Village walks on your doorstep.
Our proud village of the year sign. Coddenham is a conservation area.
The old village post office beautifully restored by the previous owners.
St Mary our beautiful listed church. well worth a visit.
The village shop/cafe has fresh  bakery fruit & veg, wines spirits , provisions.
.A view from one of the village walks.
Needham lake approx a ten minute drive. Ideal for fishing, picnics or simply a relaxing stroll
Single style folding bed closed.
Single style optional  folding bed open. Approx mattress size 186x74cm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jean N
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I chose this location for a holiday at random and was certainly not disappointed! The lodge we stayed in, 'Squirrel', was spotlessly clean, modern and extremely well equipped. Very tastefully decorated it felt like home from home. The location is quiet, peaceful and absolutely beautiful, Grahame has taken great care to keep the grounds surrounding the lodges in very good order which made the whole experience very pleasant indeed. It is within short driving distances of major towns and cities with easy access to supermarkets for provisions. My only regret? We didn't book for longer! I really hope we get the chance to visit again very soon, it was stunning and I have already recommended it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was extremely well maintained, above expectations!
Liked least: The local pub was closed!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
I,m glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Coddenham. Many thanks.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaBonhe...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Two of us stayed for six nights during a research trip that took us to various parts of Suffolk and Norfolk. The accommodation was perfect for our needs, very clean and quiet; well appointed kitchen was well stocked and excellent location. One of us used the bedroom and the other slept on the sofa bed in the open plan sitting room and kitchen. The latter was adequate but may not suit a couple. It was well insulated and warm. The landlord was very welcoming and helpful yet left us to our own devices, which suited us well. The village has a great shop as well as a post office and pub and services are just down the road. An Asda is not far along the A14, just take the first exit for Ipswich (and the FC) where the petrol is cheap.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review on the whole concept hope to see you again some time.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBr...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet lodge”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Had a relaxing week's stay at one of the two lodges. Tranquil setting, lovely village and shop. Thinking we may come back in the future!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Hi , I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit plus the local shop etc.

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimScott
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in Squirrel Lodge for a couple of weeks in August. Really nice modern, clean and functional accommodation with everything you need for a relaxing break in Coddenham.

The owners Grahame and Rosie were very friendly, helpful and kept the lodge / grounds in excellent order.

If you're looking for base from which to explore Suffolk then look no further!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for your honest comments .

Grahame
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing