We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plantation
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viewpoint Guest House(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Blue Shutters Guest House(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
188
67
26
18
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
67
26
18
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanford cliffspub with roomsthatched hutsrecently refurbished hotelconservatory restaurantgastro pubdog friendly hotelsea bassa quiet residential areacompton acresspacious bathroomminute walksunday lunchlucky with the weatherour night staythe bank holiday weekendcooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

This was our second stay & we had a good feeling for this great location to stay with our dog. We wanted The Plantation to do so well but it is tired & in need of a good deal of TLC. Now over priced.
The bed in the room is comfortable with plenty of space. The bathroom has some basic features that are broken even from our first visit. There are cobwebs on the room ceiling and the handles on the room furniture are loose so a quick tidy up by a handy man would resolve this.

The food is below even the average gastro-pub standards and is very over priced. The fennel dish was tasteless and the sea bass main was swimming in water with most of the six muscle shells completely empty.

The cheerful Resturant staff do need some help and training and a simple menu would benefit all

We so wanted The Plantation to be good but unfortunately apart from the location and the animal friendly environment it fell well short.

With some well placed TLC this will be restored to the level and status that it clearly should have.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, General Manager at The Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Oliver

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing. I have very recently taken over as general manager and please rest assured that I will be looking into the issues you have raised.
I have noted the issues you experienced in the room and have spoken both to my maintenance man and housekeepers, and the issues are being addressed. I have spoken to my chef and we have replaced the fennel salad on the menu after you brought it to our attention the other night, we have also taken on board your feed back about the mussels and have changed the presentation of the dish. I will be taking steps to ensure that the issues you have raised both with regards to restaurant and the rooms are addressed. Moving forward with a new team in the kitchen as well as front of house, we will be providing a much better experience as a whole for our customers.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Donna Candy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The plantation on a short break with our dog Max.... we felt like we were staying with friends not at a hotel .the whole staff couldn’t do enough for us or our dog Max . It happened to be his birthday whilst we were there & he was spoilt rotten ..... treats bacon cuddles...We had a huge room with everything we needed . We ate breakfast & dinner in the hotel in the bar area with the dog . The food was excellent & we loved the quirky bar area with palm trees & old wooden furniture .
We booked through pets pyjamas & there was a goodie box waiting for Max plus a parcel of presents for his birthday !
If you want to stay in a lovely relaxed hotel where the staff ... Donna Ross Nick & everyone else make you feel at home this is the place !....
Thank you Donna & team you are doing a brilliant job we will return .....xxx

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, General Manager at The Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Kathy
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We all miss Max already and hope to see you all in the future again.
Regards
Donna and The Plantation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Went here for breakfast for 6 people. The food was expensive for what it was and quantity and selection was appalling . To add insult to injury the coffee machine wasn't working. we were then offered juice - no selection whatsoever, just orange juice from a very small table which was supposedly the continental breakfast priced at just under £8 which consisted of cornflakes!!! no choice of cereal whatsoever. Then as I say just orange juice, and croissants. The butter ran out, the jam ran out hardly any choice of jams to start with. Then the croissants ran out, but they did restock that. We ordered the hot FULL English breakfast. we received 2 eggs on each plate which was a nice surprise, but only one of us received decent bacon, the rest was scratty fatty streaky bacon which was not nice. we had a tomato mushroom one sausage which was too herby beans had to be ordered, and the black pudding was the thinest slice I've ever seen AND was cut in half to serve two people, so just half a thin slice each.

I really think they're taking the Mickey at this place and need to either stop advertising that they're open to non residents or do something.

The eating area was grotty too. we had seen on the internet the most amazing views but they shoved us in the bar area, no view, grotty furniture none of which matched, and poor service into the bargain.

I wouldn't ever want to go back, treat or no treat, and I wouldn't recommend either. I don't think we caught them on a bad day either, they just seemed really disorganised!

wake up, shape up, or shut up!

overpriced under average and over rated.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, Manager at The Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi Di

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing. I have very recently taken over as general manager and please rest assured that I will be looking into the issues you have raised. We as a business aim to provide the best for our customers in both food and service. I will be taking steps to ensure that the issues you have raised both with regards to service and the standard of food offering is addressed.

Moving forward with a new team in the kitchen as well as front of house, we will be providing a much better experience as a whole for our customers. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Donna Candy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Just leaving here after a lovely weekend away to celebrate my sister in law's 50th birthday. There were 10 of us with two dogs. The staff could not have been more accommodating from the minute we arrived.
Because of the snow we spent a lot of the afternoon and evening in the lounge area. Very cosy. The evening meal was well cooked, a lovely selection of food to accommodate all tastes. We've just had breakfast and it was superb. Staff were so attentive, extra tea and coffee, toast etc.

We stayed in Room 2 which overlooked the park. Huge room, very warm, with king size bed and en suite. Loads of lovely towels and toiletries. Dressing robes in the wardrobe and hairdryer in drawer. Well stocked tea and coffee selection.

Overall a wonderful experience. The two dogs were made to feel welcome, in fact there were lots of dogs in and around the lounge area.

We ate here last summer and it was nice to return in the winter. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rumblytum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, Manager at The Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review, as a team we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Regards
Donna Candy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We arrived to a very friendly welcome, being directed to our room, and informed about eating times, wifi codes and night entrances. The bar downstairs has a good range of interesting beers, and the restaurant has a good selection of food at reasonable prices. And it tasted very good too. The bedroom was very comfortable, though the wall wasn't very sound proof from the en suite next door. Luckily,the people next door weren't very noisy.
A great place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna C, Manager at The Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Dick
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed our offering both on the bar and in the restaurant.
We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Regards
Donna Candy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews