We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Lunch on a miserable wet Easter Saturday”
Review of Kings Arms

Kings Arms
Ranked #88 of 448 Restaurants in Wakefield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely and cosy with real fires.
Dog friendly. Wholesome food. Small areas which are very tight with narrow tables but also a conservatory and larger dining areas with private dining.

Thank buzzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssBrewGM, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We visited here with some friends and ate in the Gaslight restaurant.

The food, service and atmosphere was lovely. We had a fantastic night from start to finish complimented by our server, Billy! His personality and wit had us chuckling all night.

Will be back very soon, thank you Kings Arms.

Thank Missg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssBrewGM, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your great review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that Billy was able to keep you entertained throughout the evening :)

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Great food and excellent service in lovely surroundings. Ate in the Gaslight Restaurant which was really nice. Will definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssBrewGM, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello John,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Kings Arms and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

I expected a decent meal in a nice place, and I reckon The Kings Ams exceeded my expectations. We managed to get a late booking (6 PM), the pub/restuarant had been busy all day, but it was worth the wait. The pub is a quite beautiful building, low ceilings, gas-lit, awesomely decorated in a very typical English way, full of shiny antiques and pictures of the Tudors, Plantagents, and ill-fated Stuarts etc. haunting all the nooks and crannies, wood paneling throughout, really, Americans would die for this stuff! We were given our own alcove table, which was.. perfect for us, intimate without being isolated, quiet enogh to have conversation but absolutely no loss of atmosphere.

The Service: Once again, excellent, our waiter Ben kept on top of our needs at all times, he seemed natural rather than coached, and if I coud tell a little story about him. I had quarter of a pint of beer left, and asked him if he would set another one up, he asked "Straight away?" (seeing I had some left), I said "no, in four minutes". Madonna would have been proud of him as, despite being in a restuarant chock a block with diners he delivered right on the money, 240 seconds later! Efficient and witty.

The Food: Two of us don't eat meat, I'm a part time vegatarian, the others are carnoholics, so it was never going to be a doddle catering for all of us, but guess what? The snap varied from perfect to more than perfect!

OK: This is an observation, not a negative crticism. The vegetarian options WERE EXCELLENT - but a couple more choices would be unbelievable. (And what is not to like about melted cheese and mushrooms?). (If you'd like to test some alba truffles with caviar and champagne, I will volunteer as guinea pig to try them)

OK: This is an observation, not a negative crticism. I run an air bnb and I had two lovely guests last week who said "If anything our room was a bit warm". You just can't win can you?

So let's' get down to the nitty gritty - The price. It was a set menu, with one price for the main course, another for the sweet or starter + main and another for all three. Beer is less than £3 a pint. And that was it!!! Talk about What You See Is What You Get! Two weeks before we had been to a restuarant nearby, loved it so much, yet it was 50% more than the Kings Arms. We were all full, happy, some of us were drunk, we left a tenner tip, Angela (mum) ate for free, and the rest of us bunged in £20 each and were soooo stoked.

So this is, unabiguously, a massive big up for The Kings Arms and their staff. If all places were like this I woud eat out more often.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssBrewGM, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Kings Arms and we truly appreciate your kind words regarding the venue, staff and food.

We do hope that we will see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Heath Common is a beautiful hidden village less than a mile from the industrial metropolis of Wakefield.
The pub is a traditional stone building in keeping with the rest of the village. It is a maze of darkened nooks and gives you a feeling that you have stepped back in time. There is a conservatory attached with tables for those that need a bit more daylight.
The food is pretty traditional pub fayre but it is really well prepared and served by friendly staff.
It is a go to place for me if I want to meet anyone for lunch in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OssBrewGM, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Jim,

Thank you for your great review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting The Kings Arms and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Arms also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing