We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glorious stay at the pigsty”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Pigsty

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

michaelbi...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Glorious stay at the pigsty”
Reviewed 22 June 2021 for a stay in June 2021

This is a great little Condo, has everything there for a couple to stay, all in one room, Bedroom, Lounge, Kitchen, and bathroom. Very well presented and comfortable property, with your own patio and entrance. Stewart and Sarah were great hosts and were always there if needed . Some lovely cake was left for us on arrival, and we were greeted by the chickens, whose eggs we ate during the week. The Pigsty is situated on Strawbridge farm and the postcode takes you to the front door. The area around is very quiet but is in an ideal location for going to the North or South Devon coasts. Whilst we were there we did visit Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, National Trusts houses Montacute ,Selworthy and Nightshayes and the RHS Rosemoor.There is plenty around and plenty of walks to do.

Date of stay: June 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
Thank you for your very kind review. The Old Pigsty is in an amazing location, very quiet and in the middle of the countryside, but yet Taunton, Wellington, the M5 and A303 are just a short drive away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
helen382
Wokingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute bolt hole !”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very much enjoyed our stay at The Old Pigsty, cleverly converted to make good use of the available space. Situated in a pretty quiet country lane, easily within reach of all necessary amenities in nearby Wellington.
We enjoyed walking the traffic free lanes and being greeted by the chickens and the cats each morning!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thanks so much Helen, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the tranquillity of the local area and enjoyed meeting our hens!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector...
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderfully relaxing stay. Cottage very well equipped. Sarah was a welcoming,helpful but inobtrusive host.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

We aim to make The Old Pigsty as comfortable and relaxing as possible for our guests.

I'm so pleased to hear that you had a peaceful time, and hope the rest of your trip went well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D
Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint and Quiet”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We arrived around 4pm after driving round in circles for 30 minutes. The directions don't take you directly to the holiday let so be prepared to hit the same road afew times before you find the property.

We were met by the chickens which love to chatter away to you and follow you to the property, very cute!

Sarah introduced herself after around 15 minutes of us arriving, and let us know that she'd tried a new cookie recipe with samples left for us - they were delicious!

The property itself is small but does the job for 2 people. There's everything you could need in a self contained holiday let and all in good working order. The decor is a bit tired but the bed is comfortable and the heating and hot water work a treat. Oh and the shower is lovely and powerful.

If you're after somewhere remote, away from the big city then this is your place. We were visiting for a wedding afew miles away so still wanted to be around some shops and pubs/restaurants. Unfortunately we struggled with getting around unless we drove. No taxi company would cover the area, we only found one out of pure luck - I think he took pity on us!

To some up, Sarah was a lovely warm host but maybe we booked the wrong kind of property for our stay. If you like quaint and quiet, and want somewhere to stay to enjoy walks in the beautiful countryside then you can't go wrong with The Old Pigsty.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your review. You are right, the basic directions that Trip Advisor gives you are not terribly helpful, which is why we email all our visitors with clear directions to get to us. I am sorry that you did not use these to get to us.

I am very pleased to hear you found the accommodation comfortable and liked the shower, so many of our guests comment positively on that!

We do pride ourselves with being in a lovely quiet and remote location, and we do describe that in our advert on here, and also set out that you do need a car to be able to access shops, etc.

I'm very pleased to hear you liked the cookies and that the chickens entertained you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.