We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Price range: US$0 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Visit The Crown in Sutton Coldfield for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our pub-food menu features classic meals made with award-winning ingredients. Included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasions, and great value set menus too. You'll also find a hand-picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A true local in Sutton Coldfield, we're a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. Take part in our bi-weekly quizzes, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings.
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Came in around midday
Food excellent value and really good quality
Cooked and presented with care. We had the two course special unfortunately they had run out of the fish as it was very busy so had the pie which was nice. I really like the crown however word of warning be careful going in after 15:00 as there are local builders that go in sometimes swearing and burping
Shame as its really not in keeping of the establishment and certainly not family friendly at this time of day

Thank SuttonColdfieldBowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi,
Thanks for your nice review and I'm glad you enjoyed you food so much! We do try to monitor the language as much as possible but the odd expletive does get past us I'm afraid. Also we do keep them out of the dining area but many of these builders assist us with charity events and have been using the pub for many years.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Layla & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

The plate came out I counted 16 chips and 20 peas although the chicken was tasty it doesn't warrant the high charge.

Thank nickfL6998KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Crown F, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry you were unhappy with your portion size and that does sound on the small side to me. It would have been helpful to know which dish you ordered so we could investigate further! I do hope you will dine again with us in the future and if so you ever feel your portion size is too small please speak to a member of staff about it.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Layla & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Just not good. Wine tasted soapy? Prawns not nice but pudding lovely. Won't be back in a hurry - sorry! Been quite a few times and the last time they refunded our money as food was poor. Don't think we'll be back anytime soon.

Thank Cathymallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Hi
I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us! I will have to look into the issues you have brought up here as without investigation I can't offer you a good explanation. I do hope however you will be willing to give us another chance,
Yours sincerely Layla & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Use the Crown for a quick meal on Saturday lunchtime most weeks Food always good and staff always friendly. Just a nice relaxing atmosphere Food always good, as is the service. Can't fault the place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Crown F, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're really glad you enjoy our pub so much, we pride ourselves on being a friendly and welcoming place to view sit!
Have you downloaded our new Ember Inns app yet? To make you visit even better value for money you get a free drink and a 20% off voucher just for downloading it!
Thanks again for your great review
Sincerely
Layla & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Eight adult family members all enjoyed good food and service at the Crown, Four Oaks. We booked a table prior to visit and despite being very busy all meals were delivered at the same time and gave the impression of being well organised in the kitchen.
Ensuring a very enjoyable evening for all members of our party. JBF

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi John,
Firstly sorry for the delay in response, it just came to my attention that we had 2 listings on Trip Advisor! I'm extremely pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your great review.
Look forward to seeing you next time you visit.
Thanks Again.
Sincerely
Layla and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Aldridge, Walsall
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing