We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$105
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$156
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwynne House(Stamford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
899
296
125
74
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
296
125
74
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomoak panelledafternoon teayork bargarden restaurantroast beeflobsterdessert trolleydover soledress codespecial occasionjacket and tiethe main dining roomchristmas decorationsfour postersandwichesold coaching inn
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The room is oak panelled with comfortable leather arm chairs and an open fire but has little ambience. It serves a bar type menu. This was poor. Sandwiches were expensive at £8.50 and were unattractive. I had two thick slices of bread with Brie and crispy bacon. The bacon had been shredded or crushed into tiny pieces and was unrecognisable as such.
I asked if they could do a flat white and was told they could. What I got was a cup of very bitter strong coffee with a jug of frothy steamed milk to add myself. A friend asked for a latte and got a cup of frothy bitter coffee - more like an Americano with milk. The brand of coffee was really unpleasant and we both left our coffees.
I would not eat lunch here again. A review of catering is urgently required. I think the place relies on its wonderful appearance and that I was overcharged for unattractive average food and coffee

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

First time in this hotel. I was on business and booked into here. on a four night stay I had to move on the last night from a four poster double into a single room because of previous bookings. The four poster was excellent. I have no idea where they get their pillows from but you just sank into them and had a very supportive and wrap around feel. Same with the single room. The four poster came with full room air conditioning. Ther ws no in room tea/coffee facilities. What they do is ask what you would like and a time, and they will deliver fresh tea/coffee and orange juice to your room at that time. They even turn down your bed and close the blinds. This was the same for both rooms. Excellent service. It is a bit of a rambling building with what appears to be private dining rooms every where. The only downside was the cost of meals in the restaurant. Very expensive. Check their website for sample menus. They have a large car park and 5 minutes walk gets you into town. There is a height limit on the car park entrance so if you have anything significantly bigger than a car you might struggle. They do have free WiFi. Lovely hotel. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Steeped in history and character, The George is a one of a kind 1000 year-old inn that has two restaurants. The Garden Room is more relaxed, less expensive and has pub-food style dishes, and the Oak Panelled room is more a formal, expensive, downton abbey-style, jacket-required affair. Have eaten in both several times and they're fantastic. I really can't fault The George. Amazing at Christmas too. It's my favourite restaurant full stop.

Ps, try the sticky toffee pudding - food doesn't get any better than that!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank timberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Visited with our neighbours who had been given a voucher for a birthday present.
Super place and service.
Food was super with more if required,
Scones were simply delicious.
Attentive staff and very polite.
Can't wait to go back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JuliaTynan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

In the centre of the historical town of Stamford with its own parking. We booked for a birthday meal for my husbands 60th. We had a fantastic evening and outstanding service from the staff. The food was amazing and so tasty. Stunning grounds and in the summer a nice outside dining area. At the George there are two restaurants. We have now eaten in both and love them both.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

A great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews