We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOTEL - our visit was at least 10 years too late.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We were at least ten years too late visiting the George.
We booked a weekend break in a Junior Suite which consisted of 2 nights B&B plus dinner on one night in the Oak Panelled Restaurant for £660.
There is no doubt that this is a fine establishment and the Hotel, gardens, car park and courtyard are maintained to a very high standard.
It’s quite a walk, with steps, from the large free car park to Reception so I suggest you drop passengers and any luggage at the entrance to the courtyard.
We received a warm welcome from all the staff and it was a pleasure to stay in a building so steeped in history. We found the lady who was front of house to be particularly knowledgeable and helpful.
Somebody over the years has been buying up job lots of convex mirrors – they are everywhere.
We were immediately asked what time in the morning we would like tea or coffee served in bed, surprisingly there was no hospitality tray in the Junior Suite but this was quickly rectified when we declined the offer of being served in bed.
I was surprised that we were only offered a Times or Daily Mail newspaper.
Breakfast was very good with food of a high quality –only low fat yogurt though –what are they trying to suggest!
We enjoyed Dinner in the Oak Panelled Restaurant – an unrestricted choice from the full menu. The food was great and the service exemplary. Before ordering coffee and brandy I enquired where I could enjoy a cigar – I was directed to the bottom end of the courtyard, where there was no lighting and cushion less seating. Ironically our Junior Suite overlooked this dismal area. It beggars belief that with so much real estate and the prices charged there is no decent provision for sinners. We walked out to Wetherspoons for a Latte, Brandy and Cigar.
In every nook and corner & by the fires you could visualise travellers, in times gone by, sitting by the various fires with their pipes and tankards.
Hence, we were at least ten years too late visiting the George.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good -look for special offers though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kenm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

The room is oak panelled with comfortable leather arm chairs and an open fire but has little ambience. It serves a bar type menu. This was poor. Sandwiches were expensive at £8.50 and were unattractive. I had two thick slices of bread with Brie and crispy bacon. The bacon had been shredded or crushed into tiny pieces and was unrecognisable as such.
I asked if they could do a flat white and was told they could. What I got was a cup of very bitter strong coffee with a jug of frothy steamed milk to add myself. A friend asked for a latte and got a cup of frothy bitter coffee - more like an Americano with milk. The brand of coffee was really unpleasant and we both left our coffees.
I would not eat lunch here again. A review of catering is urgently required. I think the place relies on its wonderful appearance and that I was overcharged for unattractive average food and coffee

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

First time in this hotel. I was on business and booked into here. on a four night stay I had to move on the last night from a four poster double into a single room because of previous bookings. The four poster was excellent. I have no idea where they get their pillows from but you just sank into them and had a very supportive and wrap around feel. Same with the single room. The four poster came with full room air conditioning. Ther ws no in room tea/coffee facilities. What they do is ask what you would like and a time, and they will deliver fresh tea/coffee and orange juice to your room at that time. They even turn down your bed and close the blinds. This was the same for both rooms. Excellent service. It is a bit of a rambling building with what appears to be private dining rooms every where. The only downside was the cost of meals in the restaurant. Very expensive. Check their website for sample menus. They have a large car park and 5 minutes walk gets you into town. There is a height limit on the car park entrance so if you have anything significantly bigger than a car you might struggle. They do have free WiFi. Lovely hotel. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Steeped in history and character, The George is a one of a kind 1000 year-old inn that has two restaurants. The Garden Room is more relaxed, less expensive and has pub-food style dishes, and the Oak Panelled room is more a formal, expensive, downton abbey-style, jacket-required affair. Have eaten in both several times and they're fantastic. I really can't fault The George. Amazing at Christmas too. It's my favourite restaurant full stop.

Ps, try the sticky toffee pudding - food doesn't get any better than that!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank timberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Visited with our neighbours who had been given a voucher for a birthday present.
Super place and service.
Food was super with more if required,
Scones were simply delicious.
Attentive staff and very polite.
Can't wait to go back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JuliaTynan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 km away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.4 km away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.2 km away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
596 reviews
18.8 km away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,166 reviews
12.9 km away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: RM825 - RM1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing