We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Hotel(Stamford)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwynne House(Stamford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
900
297
125
74
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
900
297
125
74
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomoak panelledafternoon teayork bargarden restaurantroast beeflobsterdessert trolleydover soledress codespecial occasionjacket and tiethe main dining roomchristmas decorationsfour postersandwichesold coaching inn
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Came with a group of friends yesterday after really looking forward to a treat. From the moment we walked in we felt like a hindrance and looked down on by staff. We were shown a table but waited a while before anyone came to take our order and even then the waiter looked at us with disdain.

The drinks order came and was wrong, this had to be attempted 3 times before it was right but eventually it was.

The waiter came to confirm we all wanted the afternoon tea but again seemed put out by the fact we asked for clarification of what the sandwiches were and even more faces pulled when we asked for no salmon sandwiches! It really was like we were a total inconvenience.

The food itself was ok, plentiful but nothing special for the pricetag.

When the bill came it was wrong due to all the hassle getting the drinks right. When queried the response was that we must be wrong as the waitress as compiled the bill herself! It was wrong and came back corrected.

Upon paying (well over £100) the bill we were asked how it had been, explained the issues and although apologised to it was followed by a 'I'm surprised by this as you can see how busy we are and you're the first to have any problems' not the response you expect from a 5* high class establishment! So disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 1983trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

We were really saddened to read your review, particularly as we received such lovely comments from afternoon tea that day. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the experience was not as you hoped, we never want anyone to leave disappointed. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We had not been to this hotel for nearly fifteen years, but although it had been upgraded, the basic things had not changed. It's old-fashioned in a good way. The staff are superb, especially the wait staff -- polite and unflappable in the midst of very busy lunches and dinners in the restaurants. We also booked a private dinner for around fourteen family members, and it went without a hitch.

Our room, which had a separate sitting room, was very pleasant. It was not quite five-star; the bathroom fixtures were not of a high enough quality. But we had a good night's sleep and ample space. The hotel gardens, by the way, are lovely. It's worth having a look at them if you're staying during the spring and summer.

In short, what you pay for at the George (and its environs) is the experience of an England that you hope will never disappear.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

The George has one of the prettiest exteriors I’ve ever seen, it’s just beautiful, rather like Stamford itself. Inside is a bit disappointing by contrast, dated & ever so slightly residential home in style. Various open fires add cosiness & there are some nice lounge areas with Afternoon Tea clearly a big hit. The reception team are superb & we appreciated the suite upgrade, a stunning, spacious, sumptuous room, we loved it.
We dined in the gourmet restaurant, a grand & proper affair (jacket requested, no jeans). It's a majestic room, candlelit & adorned with orchids. Food is old school in style as is service with vegetables silver served & puds & cheese taken from a trolley. It’s all rather charming. Our waiter was superb, having perfected the balance between fun & formality. Food was good rather than great & it’s a costly experience. Overall, a very pleasant stay in a legendary & historic hotel blessed with a gentle bygone charm.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We held a Wonderful Private Dinner in The London Room for 23 and the staff ,food and drinks were 5 star the service was sublime Well Done to Chef Patron Paul Resieigh and his wonderful Team .We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

A joy to read, thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night and had a meal on the restaurant. It was fantastic from start to finish. The hotel is wonderful to look at and has amazing character. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The restaurant is excellent and the food is wonderful. The room was great and very comfortable. Cannot recommend more highly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Fabulous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews