We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We had not been for the last nine months we always have the George hotel burger we was two adults and three children my younger wanted some pasta was over cooked and no taste at all my husband had fish and chips and was very oiled can't eat my oldest got the lamb that was good and me and my second young one got the burger was disgusting the bread was sweet and was different the burger was very dried I don't know if they changed the chef or the ingredients in the end we didn't pay for the fish we never had problems the time we have been there very disappointed we will think twice before we go again

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank liliana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Really sorry to read that the food in the Garden Room during your recent visit was not up to our usual standards. We hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Back here again on our annual friends gathering. Lovely to have upgrades to double rooms and the rooms are spotless with high quality furnishings. Wonderful meal in the Oak Restaurant. Areas of the hotel are a little cold - heating could be turned up a notch or two. Wonderful breakfast. We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Please accept my sincerest apologies that you found the hotel a little chilly and for any discomfort caused. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Came with a group of friends yesterday after really looking forward to a treat. From the moment we walked in we felt like a hindrance and looked down on by staff. We were shown a table but waited a while before anyone came to take our order and even then the waiter looked at us with disdain.

The drinks order came and was wrong, this had to be attempted 3 times before it was right but eventually it was.

The waiter came to confirm we all wanted the afternoon tea but again seemed put out by the fact we asked for clarification of what the sandwiches were and even more faces pulled when we asked for no salmon sandwiches! It really was like we were a total inconvenience.

The food itself was ok, plentiful but nothing special for the pricetag.

When the bill came it was wrong due to all the hassle getting the drinks right. When queried the response was that we must be wrong as the waitress as compiled the bill herself! It was wrong and came back corrected.

Upon paying (well over £100) the bill we were asked how it had been, explained the issues and although apologised to it was followed by a 'I'm surprised by this as you can see how busy we are and you're the first to have any problems' not the response you expect from a 5* high class establishment! So disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 1983trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We were really saddened to read your review, particularly as we received such lovely comments from afternoon tea that day. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the experience was not as you hoped, we never want anyone to leave disappointed. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We had not been to this hotel for nearly fifteen years, but although it had been upgraded, the basic things had not changed. It's old-fashioned in a good way. The staff are superb, especially the wait staff -- polite and unflappable in the midst of very busy lunches and dinners in the restaurants. We also booked a private dinner for around fourteen family members, and it went without a hitch.

Our room, which had a separate sitting room, was very pleasant. It was not quite five-star; the bathroom fixtures were not of a high enough quality. But we had a good night's sleep and ample space. The hotel gardens, by the way, are lovely. It's worth having a look at them if you're staying during the spring and summer.

In short, what you pay for at the George (and its environs) is the experience of an England that you hope will never disappear.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

The George has one of the prettiest exteriors I’ve ever seen, it’s just beautiful, rather like Stamford itself. Inside is a bit disappointing by contrast, dated & ever so slightly residential home in style. Various open fires add cosiness & there are some nice lounge areas with Afternoon Tea clearly a big hit. The reception team are superb & we appreciated the suite upgrade, a stunning, spacious, sumptuous room, we loved it.
We dined in the gourmet restaurant, a grand & proper affair (jacket requested, no jeans). It's a majestic room, candlelit & adorned with orchids. Food is old school in style as is service with vegetables silver served & puds & cheese taken from a trolley. It’s all rather charming. Our waiter was superb, having perfected the balance between fun & formality. Food was good rather than great & it’s a costly experience. Overall, a very pleasant stay in a legendary & historic hotel blessed with a gentle bygone charm.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 km away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.4 km away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.2 km away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
597 reviews
18.8 km away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,167 reviews
12.9 km away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: RM827 - RM1,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing