We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwynne House(Stamford)
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Hotel(Stamford)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,430)
Filter reviews
1,430 results
Traveller rating
901
297
125
74
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
901
297
125
74
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomoak panelledafternoon teayork bargarden restaurantroast beeflobsterdessert trolleydover soledress codespecial occasionjacket and tiethe main dining roomchristmas decorationsfour postersandwichesold coaching inn
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1,430 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Visited the York Bar with a friend for a light lunch. Those of you who read my review in September 2016 will remember my disappointment with the Lincolnshire Poacher which basically was an £8.00 cheese sandwich, well be warned it is still on the menu. This time I had a ham and cheese toasty very pleasant. Coffee ok, service a little slow at times.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 713rossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Delighted to read you enjoyed your cheese and ham toastie and please accept my sincerest apologies that you found the service a little slow at times. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We had not been for the last nine months we always have the George hotel burger we was two adults and three children my younger wanted some pasta was over cooked and no taste at all my husband had fish and chips and was very oiled can't eat my oldest got the lamb that was good and me and my second young one got the burger was disgusting the bread was sweet and was different the burger was very dried I don't know if they changed the chef or the ingredients in the end we didn't pay for the fish we never had problems the time we have been there very disappointed we will think twice before we go again

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank liliana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Really sorry to read that the food in the Garden Room during your recent visit was not up to our usual standards. We hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Back here again on our annual friends gathering. Lovely to have upgrades to double rooms and the rooms are spotless with high quality furnishings. Wonderful meal in the Oak Restaurant. Areas of the hotel are a little cold - heating could be turned up a notch or two. Wonderful breakfast. We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Please accept my sincerest apologies that you found the hotel a little chilly and for any discomfort caused. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Came with a group of friends yesterday after really looking forward to a treat. From the moment we walked in we felt like a hindrance and looked down on by staff. We were shown a table but waited a while before anyone came to take our order and even then the waiter looked at us with disdain.

The drinks order came and was wrong, this had to be attempted 3 times before it was right but eventually it was.

The waiter came to confirm we all wanted the afternoon tea but again seemed put out by the fact we asked for clarification of what the sandwiches were and even more faces pulled when we asked for no salmon sandwiches! It really was like we were a total inconvenience.

The food itself was ok, plentiful but nothing special for the pricetag.

When the bill came it was wrong due to all the hassle getting the drinks right. When queried the response was that we must be wrong as the waitress as compiled the bill herself! It was wrong and came back corrected.

Upon paying (well over £100) the bill we were asked how it had been, explained the issues and although apologised to it was followed by a 'I'm surprised by this as you can see how busy we are and you're the first to have any problems' not the response you expect from a 5* high class establishment! So disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 1983trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

We were really saddened to read your review, particularly as we received such lovely comments from afternoon tea that day. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the experience was not as you hoped, we never want anyone to leave disappointed. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We had not been to this hotel for nearly fifteen years, but although it had been upgraded, the basic things had not changed. It's old-fashioned in a good way. The staff are superb, especially the wait staff -- polite and unflappable in the midst of very busy lunches and dinners in the restaurants. We also booked a private dinner for around fourteen family members, and it went without a hitch.

Our room, which had a separate sitting room, was very pleasant. It was not quite five-star; the bathroom fixtures were not of a high enough quality. But we had a good night's sleep and ample space. The hotel gardens, by the way, are lovely. It's worth having a look at them if you're staying during the spring and summer.

In short, what you pay for at the George (and its environs) is the experience of an England that you hope will never disappear.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulReseigh, Chef Patron at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews