We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room News”
Review of The Sherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sherwood
Ranked #30 of 92 Skegness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2015

My husband and I had our normal yearly visit to Rob and Linda and as usual it was great. This B&B is in such a handy location for the shops and beach. Comfortable and clean and a substantial breakfast - you can have yogurts, cereals, full English, toast along with tea and coffee.

Linda and Rob are great hosts and they make you feel more like friends than visitors.

Anyway just wanted to let you know - not only have they got a superior room on the top floor they now have one on the ground floor - twin bedded and a super duper en suite.

Look forward to seeing you next year.

Room Tip: We are normally based on the first floor. This B&B has stairs only but has the new twin bedded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

dear Elizabeth B

thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.
Rob & I are very pleased that your yearly stay with us at The Sherwood has met your expectations with regards to the comfort of our rooms continued renovations and upgrading of our rooms and Robs Breakfast continues to please
We appreciate your kind words It is very rewarding and motivates us.
We do hope to see you again for your next get away in Skegness,
Kindest regards
Rob & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Will be back for sure lovely guest house stayed one night to see friends everything within walking distance lovely clean room and bathroom,bed was comfy too lovely soft bed linen we stayed in room 2 was perfect breakfast was very good thank you Linda and rob see you again in the future

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Srcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear SRCoy
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
rob & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Booked at the last minute to get a 2 night break, room was a little dated but clean. No proper curtains at the window meant we were awake early due to the light. Breakfast was nice. The en-suite however was unacceptable by any standards, there were two nails sticking out of the skirting board (missing) near the shower tray, and the whole thing smelt damp. The toilet had cracked and been repaired. I think its a bit unfair that the only pictures on here of bathrooms are the nice refurbished rooms on the top floor and ground floor, which I'm sure are lovely. We left after one night as we didn't feel comfortable.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the nicer rooms they've done up, otherwise I'd give it a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Dear PeteT
It is with regret that I read your review of your recent visit with us at The Sherwood, Skegness.

First and Foremost, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, your comfort during your stay is our priority.

After speaking with Rob, I understand that you did not speak with either of us before your departure shortly after breakfast, I am sorry for this, as I personally would have liked it if you had taken the time to speak with one of us, so that we could address your issues in person and have been given the chance to resolve them.

Your first complaint/compliment is the room is a little dated but clean. We purchased The Sherwood in 2011 and we have gone through a significant upgrade/update to The Sherwood on a yearly basis. we have made and continue to make a significant investment to our property and will continue to do so.

The Window dressing which consists of a wooden Venetian Blind and neutral patterned voile panell, (inspiration from current home magazine) 'to create a cool summery hue to the room' was not to your taste which let in to much light in the morning and disturbed your sleep, I have now replaced curtains to add another layer to create a darker room.

We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast,

We recognise that most of our bathrooms on the first floor are compact, but they are definitely useable. However, I agree with you, a small piece of skirting board approx. 2 inches had been removed when a replacement shower tray was fitted. I apologise for this oversight and has now been replaced. The odour I can only assume is where the previous shower tray had a crack in and leaked onto the floorboards underneath, which was why it was replaced and the flooring underneath had not properly dried out. We have installed a dehumidifier to draw out any moisture. I can assure you that the updating of our bathrooms is on our list of refurbishments. As you are aware from your later comments of our bathrooms on the top and ground floor yes these have already been upgraded. They are an extra £5 pp/pn, as you agree definitely worth paying the extra for larger bedrooms with a large en-suite, had you have made your reservation for the superior room I am sure they would have been to your liking.

I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Sherwood and would welcome the chance to discuss this with you. It is always better to have the opportunity to put things right during a guest stay rather than after the event, but as you can see from all our reviews we strive to make our guest stay a positive one.

Assuring you our personal and professional attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Rob & Linda
The Sherwood, Skegness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

wonderful hosts, beautiful food and facilities , situated perfectly for bars, theatre and shops . will 100% be returning. the welcoming off the landlord and landlady was real genuine, nothing is too much trouble for them , the mattress must get a special mention as it is possibly the most comfortable one I have ever lay on

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank geoffmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be seeing you again on your next visit to Skegness.
Rob & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Linda & Rob are the Propriators . They warmly greeted us upon our arrival . Took us to room 8. Lovely large bed & shower room. Very clean throughout. Great value for the price. Coffee facilities in room. Full breakfast including cereals & juices. Breakfast was freshly cooked.
The Hotel has only 9 bedrooms of various prices & sizes. We have stayed in much bigger & more expensive , but for value & service this was very comfortable & enjoyable. We would go back, when next in the area & recommend to friends. . We think it's a work in progress as some public areas are not as modern, but everywhere is clean and in good order.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Thank you for your positive review for The Sherwood. It is lovely to read your feedback, puts a smile on our faces. Hopefully when you return you will see more improvements that will also get a thumbs up.

Rob & Linda
the Sherwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.7 km away
Karema
Karema
#20 of 92 in Skegness
94 reviews
2.7 km away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
6.3 km away
No photo provided
The Kings Head
#1 of 1 in Addlethorpe
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
#2 of 3 in Ingoldmells
125 reviews
0.4 km away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
1.4 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood

Address: 11 Rutland Road, Skegness PE25 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range: RM336 - RM345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sherwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherwood, Skegness, is a family-owned and run bed & breakfast in a quiet, convenient location in Skegness. With views across Tower Gardens to The Embassy Theatre. The Sherwood is set in a Victorian villa in a quiet residentialjust off Lumley Road the main Shopping area in Skegness, whilst being just a gentle walk from the sea front and aquarium and 10 minute walk from the rail and bus station. A full English breakfast is included in our rates. We have limited car parking for only 3 cars, which is complimentary for our guests. Rutland Road offers free car parking where available and Skegness has many paid car parking only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing