We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Skegness)
US$71
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Bell Hotel(Skegness)
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Balmoral(Skegness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel(Skegness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
68
20
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
20
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull englishbars and restaurantsbreakfast was excellentperfect locationlovely clean roomembassy theatrea great nights sleepstay there againshower gelchoice of cerealsyogurtthe ground floorfirst floorbed and breakfastcooked breakfastsea frontlinda
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Will be back for sure lovely guest house stayed one night to see friends everything within walking distance lovely clean room and bathroom,bed was comfy too lovely soft bed linen we stayed in room 2 was perfect breakfast was very good thank you Linda and rob see you again in the future

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Srcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear SRCoy
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
rob & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Booked at the last minute to get a 2 night break, room was a little dated but clean. No proper curtains at the window meant we were awake early due to the light. Breakfast was nice. The en-suite however was unacceptable by any standards, there were two nails sticking out of the skirting board (missing) near the shower tray, and the whole thing smelt damp. The toilet had cracked and been repaired. I think its a bit unfair that the only pictures on here of bathrooms are the nice refurbished rooms on the top floor and ground floor, which I'm sure are lovely. We left after one night as we didn't feel comfortable.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the nicer rooms they've done up, otherwise I'd give it a miss
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Dear PeteT
It is with regret that I read your review of your recent visit with us at The Sherwood, Skegness.

First and Foremost, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, your comfort during your stay is our priority.

After speaking with Rob, I understand that you did not speak with either of us before your departure shortly after breakfast, I am sorry for this, as I personally would have liked it if you had taken the time to speak with one of us, so that we could address your issues in person and have been given the chance to resolve them.

Your first complaint/compliment is the room is a little dated but clean. We purchased The Sherwood in 2011 and we have gone through a significant upgrade/update to The Sherwood on a yearly basis. we have made and continue to make a significant investment to our property and will continue to do so.

The Window dressing which consists of a wooden Venetian Blind and neutral patterned voile panell, (inspiration from current home magazine) 'to create a cool summery hue to the room' was not to your taste which let in to much light in the morning and disturbed your sleep, I have now replaced curtains to add another layer to create a darker room.

We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast,

We recognise that most of our bathrooms on the first floor are compact, but they are definitely useable. However, I agree with you, a small piece of skirting board approx. 2 inches had been removed when a replacement shower tray was fitted. I apologise for this oversight and has now been replaced. The odour I can only assume is where the previous shower tray had a crack in and leaked onto the floorboards underneath, which was why it was replaced and the flooring underneath had not properly dried out. We have installed a dehumidifier to draw out any moisture. I can assure you that the updating of our bathrooms is on our list of refurbishments. As you are aware from your later comments of our bathrooms on the top and ground floor yes these have already been upgraded. They are an extra £5 pp/pn, as you agree definitely worth paying the extra for larger bedrooms with a large en-suite, had you have made your reservation for the superior room I am sure they would have been to your liking.

I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Sherwood and would welcome the chance to discuss this with you. It is always better to have the opportunity to put things right during a guest stay rather than after the event, but as you can see from all our reviews we strive to make our guest stay a positive one.

Assuring you our personal and professional attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Rob & Linda
The Sherwood, Skegness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

wonderful hosts, beautiful food and facilities , situated perfectly for bars, theatre and shops . will 100% be returning. the welcoming off the landlord and landlady was real genuine, nothing is too much trouble for them , the mattress must get a special mention as it is possibly the most comfortable one I have ever lay on

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank geoffmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be seeing you again on your next visit to Skegness.
Rob & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Linda & Rob are the Propriators . They warmly greeted us upon our arrival . Took us to room 8. Lovely large bed & shower room. Very clean throughout. Great value for the price. Coffee facilities in room. Full breakfast including cereals & juices. Breakfast was freshly cooked.
The Hotel has only 9 bedrooms of various prices & sizes. We have stayed in much bigger & more expensive , but for value & service this was very comfortable & enjoyable. We would go back, when next in the area & recommend to friends. . We think it's a work in progress as some public areas are not as modern, but everywhere is clean and in good order.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Thank you for your positive review for The Sherwood. It is lovely to read your feedback, puts a smile on our faces. Hopefully when you return you will see more improvements that will also get a thumbs up.

Rob & Linda
the Sherwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here twice now and it's been excellent both times! Prices are very reasonable for location. Even though your a stones throw away from the Main Street, it'd exceptionally quiet and peaceful!!
Rob and Linda are so friendly. It's like visiting friends.
Bedrooms are comfy and warm.
Breakfast is delicious.
Very accommodating hosts.
There's no other hotel for us in Skegness!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jules1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

It was lovely to see you both again and thank you for your positive review.
Look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Rob & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews