We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”
Review of The Hind

The Hind
Ranked #108 of 336 Restaurants in Rotherham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This stunning pub is set on the hill with a beautiful spacious beer garden for summer and a roaring fire for the winter. Food is served from 12pm-10pm Monday to Friday and we serve a lovley brunch bettween 10am-12pm Saturday and Sunday with the full menu starting at 12pm. So if its just a coffee and a muffin or a full blown meal, come in an see what treats we have to offer. We also have a full bar stocking Wines, Spirits, Beers and our very own Ember Ale.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Usually use Beefeater at Brecks but unable to book a table for time required so decided to try the Hind. When we got there our prebooked table was not ready due to reserved sign being removed and people sat at our table. After a short wait table available and we ordered our food. Starters and children's meals arrived and were ok but although starters were finished main meals did not appear until children had nearly finished their meals. Three steak meals and a chicken meal arrived after a wait of almost 45 minutes. The rare rump steak had a chemical odour to it and on tasting was inedible having a strange taste. The rare steak was returned to the kitchen together with the medium rare steak which was overcooked. We were offered replacements but declined and were given a refund. There was no real apology, we were told that all 3 steaks were from the same pack and basically the staff implied that they felt there was no problem, although the waiter had agreed that the rare steak smelled odd. We asked a female member of staff, possibly the manager, to go and smell the steak for herself, but she just kept saying it came out of the same batch. At this the third steak was also put to one side!
We left. Will not return as there are plenty of good quality eateries in Rotherham, with friendlier more capable staff.

    • Service
2  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.
If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01709 532490 to speak to our manager directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2018

Although the pub has quite a nice feel and decor, our food experience was disappointing, the fish and chips were greasy tasteless, chips Luke warm and you would be being generous if you said there was a tablespoon of peas, the tartar sauce was also swimming in oil! The salmon salad was also swimming in brine from the olives and pickled garlic which was not even on the menu! Plenty of room for improvement all round and at almost £45 for just a main course for the four of us, hardly value for money. Do yourselves a favour and go to The Chequers, or Bay Tree Bistro, both within easy reach.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Julie M, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Sunday afternoon around 3pm.
45 min wait for food.
Just 1 person Woking behind the bar who appeared very stressed and unhappy, had to go into the kitchen to ask for help as bar was quite busy.
1st course was soup which was ok
Main course was Chicken which was dry served with what looked like frozen veg and frozen Yorkshire puddings
Vegetable Tart Tatin served with the same veg and puddings was barley edible
Pigs in blankets were very pink inside and appeared raw.
When we spoke to the Manager she was unapologetic and just asked ‘what was wrong with it?’ And also assured us that the pigs in blankets couldn’t possibly be undercooked because the cane in ready cooked and were simply heated up in the kitchen! Also when we asked for some cutlery she just grabbed some from an adjoining table and dumped them in the pot in our table. An altogether forgettable experience, will definitely not return!

2  Thank Keithe247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Hind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

We held out works night out at The Hind. There was a large group of us and we were sat comfortably in a raised area at the back. We had pre ordered a Buffett (b) selection and were more than happy with the selection that was brought out to us. The team where lovely polite and very accommodating. Thank you xx

Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your great 5* review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your night out and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Terrible dried up over priced food!! Never again. We ordered two meals and one was lovely but the other was terrible it was Over cooked and dried up. If the meal had been reasonably priced I wouldn’t have complained but at 11,00 I felt completely ripped off. I ate the meal as I didn’t want to upset my mum who was enjoying hers. But then I felt ripped off so told a staff member.. they knocked 5 pound off the meal. I won’t be going back again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

My apologies that you were not happy with your meal, I did ask if everything was good at the time and you said yes; it wasn't until you finished that you brought to Holly's attention that you were not happy. We would have quite happily and quickly changed your fish pie for another or something else if you had let us know. Again my apologies that you feel unable to return
Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hind also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing