We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works Do Gone Wrong ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

My partner attended a works do/meal here with a disco after the meal. He had a 3 course meal and had drinks from the free bar that was being supplied and had a dance with everyone at the disco too. As I was the one who was picking him up when he got in the car, he was severely ill and actually ended up vomiting twice on the way home and passing out. (Not from being too intoxicated may I add) He only drank Stella that night and not much and even if he had he likes Stella as his alcoholic beverage and is used to the taste. He isn’t allergic to anything such as foods and that night said something was slightly off and he fell extremely poorly the following two/three days and had to be off work because of it. We questioned if it had anything to do with the drinks been supplied as nobody else was ill from the food and two other people from the alcohol. He was in serious pain with his stomach and bones were aching constantly and he was extremely lethargic and sleepy.
I have heard stories before about places supplying free bars using cheap alcohol to save them cost and cause people getting drunk quicker/easier. Now I’m not throwing allegations out there but these points need to be raised as he was severely poorly and it caused a lot of stress and upset amongst family and loved ones.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank emilybbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear that your partner has been ill and I trust has now recovered. As I am sure you are aware we are very busy over the Christmas period with parties and events and have operated all inclusive party nights for over 5 years now, we have served over 9000 guests this year alone and have had no reports of any illness following any of the events. The drinks that we serve for all inclusive nights/events are all supplied from a reputable supplier which is the same supplier we use throughout the year and throughout our entire company. Whilst certain spirits may not be the more well known 'household' branded products, they are all still branded in their own right. The draught products, which as you have said is all your partner was drinking are the same products that we sell throughout the entire year in the hotel. As I said, I am sorry to hear that your partner has been ill I do hope that they are feeling better, but I do not believe this is related to the quality of the food or the drinks that we serve in the hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Just been for a works Christmas party, and must congratulate holiday inn on the lovely food that was served to us, from starter, main and then dessert, it was delicious, I did leave some of the dessert but for the only reason that I was full,
Top marks I would certainly go there again very enjoyable

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for posting such a great review and rating us 5/5. It was great to read that you had a really enjoyable evening and found the quality of the food to be excellent. Once again many thanks and I trust we will see you again soon.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Don’t know if there is some cost cutting going on but one of the best features of the hotel is the staff. Reception as always were good but breakfast service has been changed. While the food was good there is no interaction with the staff other than providing a room number.

Used to have staff bringing coffee to the table now it’s self service. Your staff made this hotel one of the best to stay at when we visit Sheffield, you are not using that resource.

Also awoken with water coming through the bathroom ceiling and having to move rooms at 8 in the morning to another room on the same floor that smelt musty and had a damp carpet near the bathroom door so possibly a regular issue?

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Inths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am sorry to read that your most recent visit was not up to our usual high standards. Please be assured that we are not cost cutting and would never do this if it was not affect our guests experience at the hotel. I will be looking into the issues that you have mentioned you experienced during your stay and rest assured these will be addressed promptly. Once again many thanks and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Went for £9.99 Christmas lunch and it was amazing. 3 courses all very well made and piping hot. Excellent service. Id say its the best Christmas meal I have had in quite a few years. The service was great. Id go back in a shot.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mickyq0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for posting such a great review. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your festive lunch with us and would say its the best you've had for years. I will be sure to share your comments with the team as feedback such as yours really does mean such alot to everyone here at the hotel. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2018.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

ALL-INCLUSIVE PARTY NIGHT

Attended last night with a team of 30 Children's Nursing staff.. we had a ball!
Lots of us stayed over and facilities were amazing, the pool, sauna, steam room were a brilliant way to relax before we partied the night away. Food was good and service was prompt.... one friend has recently become vegan so the meal she ordered months ago wasn't suitable anymore... staff without hesitation asked chef to cook her a Vegan friendly dish... we were all blown away. Great atmosphere.

2 drinks a time was a good idea and cocktail menu (included) went down a treat.

The ONLY downfall for me was that DJ refused to play Christmas songs until last 30minutes.... considering its a festive gig I would expect there to be more Christmas favorites.

Price of open bar, meal, room etc with facilities included was a steal! Couldnt ask for more.

Reception very helpful, super fast check-in, breakfast was tasty.

I will be returning to Holiday Inn again, beautiful hotel I will consider for for future events.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetteAndAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you for posting such a great review. I was delighted to read that you and your party really enjoyed the party night and all of the other facilities that the hotel has to offer. It is great to hear that you will be returning to the hotel in the future for other events and we look forward to seeing you again then. Once again many thanks and we wish you and your party a very Merry Christmas.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
1.9 km away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
927 reviews
11.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
1.5 km away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#5 of 15 in Rotherham
593 reviews
7.8 km away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
957 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Address: West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: RM 278 - RM 589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is a modern hotel just off the M1 motorway conveniently located for Sheffield city centre Rotherham and Meadowhall Shopping Centre. As our guest, you'll be met with outstanding service, a spacious bedroom with ergonomic workspace, cotton linen and high-speed internet access. For breakfast or dinner the restaurant in the Holiday Inn tempts with international cuisine or choose the lounge where light meals are served throughout the day where wireless internet access is available. The hotel also boasts a superb refurbished leisure club, with large 17.5 Metre indoor pool, spa, steam, sauna and gym . For Rotherham conferences the Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Offers 11 well-designed, air-conditioned Meeting rooms filled with natural daylight, accommodating up to 250 delegates with a large car park for up to 260 cars. Near to attractions such as the Peak District National Park, Chatsworth House, Ponds Forge, Hallam FM Arena, Don Valley Stadium, Magna Science Adventure Centre and near to the many business parks in the Sheffield region, the Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is the perfect choice for business or leisure. Planning a wedding or special event in Rotherham? Call now for information about our amazing packages. Want to get fit? Join our leisure club now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield m1, Jct. 33 Hotel Rotherham
Rotherham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing