We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan Lunch”
Review of The Den at Twenty Three - CLOSED

The Den at Twenty Three
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Description: The Den at 23 sells simple familiar food with a vegan twist. A kind of cafe-diner, selling barista coffee, alongside burgers, hotdogs, & cupcakes! The Den aims to break stero types that vegan food is bland and boring, or that vegans just eat houmus and falafel! For that reason we sell foods that are considered a treat, to show that vegans can eat every bit as decadently as everyone else. Vegan or not, everyone is welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: The Den at 23 sells simple familiar food with a vegan twist. A kind of cafe-diner, selling barista coffee, alongside burgers, hotdogs, & cupcakes! The Den aims to break stero types that vegan food is bland and boring, or that vegans just eat houmus and falafel! For that reason we sell foods that are considered a treat, to show that vegans can eat every bit as decadently as everyone else. Vegan or not, everyone is welcome!
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Having visited their burger van at an event, I was really impressed - one of the nicest vegan burgers I have tasted. So as we were in Colchester, we decided to go there for lunch - blink and you will miss it!
It is not the cheapest places to eat, but the burger sizes are massive. Decor was basic, independent and rustic; service was great and cannot wait to go back to have some more!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I've been visiting The Den at 23 for a while now and I've always had such a wonderful experience. The food and drinks are always ridiculously delicious, and excellent value for money. Its also nice that the lovely couple who run the cafe remember you and always make an effort when serving, which is a real rarity nowdays!
Literally one of my favourite places to go in Colchester and I am absolutely hooked on the cakes ♥️♥️

Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

The shop itself is quite small, but it can house quite a few seated people considering. Menu is reasonably small but understandable considering the target market. Service was great and didn't have to wait too long. Food was tasty, however I would have preferred fries over nachos as a side as the quarter pound beef burger is quite small (even though it's the same price as the twice as large chicken burgers with hash brown). My burger was also very messy to eat as it had far too much sauce in it. Overall it was good, but prices should come down or you should be offered something more filling as a side.

Thank JadeStrikesBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamDen, Owner at The Den at Twenty Three, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Jade,
thanks for the review and for sharing your thoughts.

In regards to our pricing, each item is priced based on its cost for us to make, rather than size.
Although some of our burgers may look bigger, the quarter pounder is one of the most costly ones to make.
We do wish we could offer more of our food at lower prices, and initially we did, but we soon found that we wouldn't be able to cover our expenses unless we increased the prices of certain dishes, (especially those using specialist vegan ingredients — our cheese for example costs around 5 times that of dairy cheese!) It's a sad state of affairs that we live in world where dead animal parts and animal milk cost less than their plant equivalents, but unfortunately that is the case right now.
We'd still rather give people the chance to order these items though, even if the price is premium, and thankfully lots of people still do.

For people looking to reduce their spending we have a few cheaper items that we make from scratch (such as our sundried tomato chickpea toastie, our roasted vegetable toastie and our smoky chickpea salad.)

As for fries — we do wish we could serve them (as we know they're tastier than tortilla chips!), but we simply don't have the extraction facilities needed to deep fry, or permission from the council to do so.

Once again thank you for visiting. We're glad the service was friendly, and we're happy to be able to respond to your concerns regarding our pricing.
We'll also take on board your comments regarding the amount of sauce!

Kind regards,
Rob and Jen at The Den.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I've had many burgers in my life (meat and vegan) but the Den Stack burger must be one of the best I have ever had. What can I say? It was delicious through and through - and unlike meat burgers, it tasted so good going down and I felt SO GOOD afterwards! This is now one of my favorite places to eat out. If all vegan restaurants were this good, it would be easy to be vegan always.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A-More-Excellent-Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamDen, Owner at The Den at Twenty Three, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for the glowing review of our stack burger! Rob was really keen to replicate the famous Big Mac, vegan-style, so we spent a while perfecting the perfect secret burger sauce, for optimum authenticity!
We're so happy that our burgers make being vegan a bit easier — that's exactly what we set out to do, so we're chuffed to know that we're doing something right!! Huge thanks again taking the time write a review!

(Rob, Jen, and Team Den)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Probably the best vegan burger I've ever tasted. The décor could do with some serious attention and it's a little expensive. We thought the £7.50 we paid for a burger should have included fries, maybe as an option to salad or something. Not just the little pile of crisps on the plate. BUT the food itself was top notch. Friendly, helpful staff. Will visit again when next in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adiexx2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamDen, Owner at The Den at Twenty Three, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello!
thanks for the review and for the compliments regarding the burger! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed it so much.

In regards to our pricing, we do wish we could offer more of our food at lower prices, and initially we did, but we soon found that we wouldn't be able to cover our expenses unless we increased the prices of certain dishes, (especially those using specialist vegan ingredients — our cheese for example costs around 5 times that of dairy cheese!) It's a sad state of affairs that we live in world where dead animal parts and animal milk cost less than their plant equivalents, but unfortunately that is the case right now.
We'd still rather give people the chance to order these items though, even if the price is premium, and thankfully lots of people still do.


As for fries — we do wish we could serve them (as we know they're tastier than tortilla chips!), but we simply don't have the extraction facilities needed to deep fry, or permission from the council to do so.

Once again thank you for visiting. We're glad the service was friendly and that our staff were helpful, and that you'd return to visit again. (Despite our dodgy decor!)


Kind regards,
Rob and Jen at The Den.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Den at Twenty Three also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 
Dedham, Colchester
Colchester, Essex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing