We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great & charming cottage and location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear Elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear Elevation
Front Elevation Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Rear Elevation
Front Elevation
Living Room
Kitchen/Living Room
Kitchen.
Dining room.
Sitting room.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Approaching the house from Ballater.
Salmon leaping at the Falls of Feugh, Banchory.
Walks for ALL the family !
Burn O'Vat, Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve.
Harry Potter's steam train over Glenfinnan Viaduct.
Spectacular Dunnottar Castle, Stonehaven.
Pretty Stonehaven harbour.
Balmoral Castle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bakkeruit
Sneek, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great & charming cottage and location!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We've had a wonderful stay! Beautiful scenery and a cottage with all comfort a person needs. It was also nice that we could sit outside and enjoy the birds etc. Great for walkings, nearby the cottage. And Ballater was lovely, juist at walking distance.
Gavin: thanks for having us and the answers by email!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thanks for your kind review of your stay at Aberdeen Cottage. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suebilly
1 review
“Comfortable, relaxing and a great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was the third time we have stayed in Aberdeen Cottage, it is a wonderful house in a great location! The new extension is a real bonus as it is now more spacious but still very cosy. Gavin & Sue the owners have thought carefully about what people need while staying there. The location is particularly good with almost everything being within a short walk. We will definitely be back for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed another holiday at Aberdeen Cottage and that you appreciated the new extension.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank L
Fussa, Japan
1 review
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

From the very beginning Gavin was very helpful. The whole process was very smooth. House was a perfect (and comfortable) place to stay for exploring the highlands. We plan on staying there again in the future.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad that you had a good time - your are quite right, it is a fantastic area. See you again. Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartPet...
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely house, finished to a very high standard. Owners went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The cottage has a rural feel but is only a 10 minute walk into Ballater. Our only reticence in giving the cottage a good review is that it will make it harder to rebook when we want to come back - which will be soon!
Had a great holiday here - best holiday cottage we have stayed in when in Scotland!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post your review and for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Hayw...
Harrogate
2 reviews
“Great, comfortable, well equipped cottage in Deeside”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in Aberdeen Cottage and both times it has been great. The cottage is well equipped with everything that you would expect in a good self catering cottage. Great location, private detached cottage on the banks of the River Dee. Picturesque vista and plenty of bird life.
The cottage has a garage which is great for stroing mountain bikes. Kitchen is very well equipped with modern white goods and the lounge has a nice wood burning stove which is great on a cold Scottish night (it does eat logs though and takes time to master best/most economical settings).
Gavin the vendor is very pleasant and very helpful, good and easy to deal with. Nice welcome pack on arrival and local housekeeper easily contactable if required.
NB. I would also agree with previous reviewer, the tv is too small to watch comfortably in the evening. I learnt from last time and bought a 30 inch lcd with me which was a pain but worth it.
If you want a quiet, comfortable, well appointed self-catering cottage in a beautiful location and reasonably priced, then I would happily recommend Aberdeen Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and location
Liked least: TV and lounge chairs could be more comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We acknowledge your comments about the size of the television. We have bought a larger replacement which we are taking to the cottage in March. We are very pleased you enjoyed your second trip. Kind regards, Gavin and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing