We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Romper

Romper
Ranked #17 of 214 Restaurants in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: On the edge of the old Manchester to Oxford Road stands The Romper, an old coaching inn welcoming patrons through our doors for over 400 years. With its charming, whitewashed, slate-tiled exterior and rampant lion roaring above the door, The Romper is a former coaching inn, tucked away on a old country lane, on the edge of Altrincham. The Romper is also just a stone’s throw from Manchester Airport, making it a perfect stopover, whether you’re exploring the local area or about to take to the skies. Offering easy access to Cheshire’s lovely villages and towns, including Hale, and Wilmslow, as well as some of the county’s prettiest countryside, Sat in the lovely beer garden on a sunny day, surrounded by leafy lanes, it’s hard to believe how close you are to one of Europe’s busiest airports. In winter, when the log fire crackles in the hearth, and pints of cask ale are being poured under the old-beamed ceilings, you’d be forgiven for thinking you were in a rustic county pub
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely breakfast didn't made a reservation but we managed to get a table excellent customer service friendly smile and excellent food thank you nice spot for lunch before planespotting

Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Manager at Romper, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Good Morning David,

Thank you for the great feedback from your recent visit. We will pass on your comments to the team and we hope this means next time you do a bit of planespotting you will pop in and see us!

The Romper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Great pub and service and great beer and wines.nice old styal family pub. set in a nice area, just near Manchester airport.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank sarason32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Manager at Romper, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Good Morning,

Thanks for the great review from your recent visit. It’s great to head everything was to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon!

The Romper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I visited the Romper this afternoon for lunch with my sister and my elderly grandmother partially disabled to celebrate her 78th birthday. I’d booked online and requested an easy access table but knew this may not be possible, alas they had sorted us a suitable table, to which we were very pleased. The food was served quickly on a busy Sunday lunch time and the service was brilliant. Friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely experience.

Thank laraapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Manager at Romper, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Good Morning Laraapril,

Wow! Thank you so much for your outstanding review,by the sounds of it you had a brilliant time with us on Sunday.
We are so glad we could accommodate all your requests. I know that Kelly and Sue whom served you on Sunday will be so pleased to see this review. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a stunning review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
The Romper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Recently visited here for an evening meal and I ordered the Seafood Grill. I was very disappointed by the portion sizes of the fish, it was only the chips that bulked the meal out. It also came with roasted peppers but when it arrived the peppers were the size of a 50 pence piece. This meal definitely wasn't value for money.
My partner ordered the mixed grill which he enjoyed apart from the gammon, which was very gristly. Have had lovely meals here in the past so we were very disappointed unfortunately.

Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Manager at Romper, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Good Morning Elaine R,

We are really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the Seafood Grill and the Gammon from your mixed grill. I will pass all your comments onto our kitchen team who will be saddened to hear that it wasn't up to the standard they strive upon. If you feel that you wish to discuss this visit further. Please contact ourselves on 01619038473 Asking for a duty manager.
We hope that you will visit us soon.

Regards
The Romper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

We have just been out to the Romper and must say what a fabulous meal we had.The place was buzzing and the atmosphere was great The staff are excellent especially Kal. Nothing is to much trouble.It has now become are regular place to eat.A must to go to.

Thank shirley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Manager at Romper, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Good Morning Shirley E,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent visit. Kal will be over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I Will ensure he sees this review. Thank you again and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Regards
The Romper Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romper also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
Styal, Cheshire
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Romper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing