We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
159
71
19
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
71
19
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front morning coffee and afternoon tea lovely hotel coach trip plenty of choice stayed here for nights biscuits watch the world short break sister hotel older people without exception warm welcome folk week single room porridge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with my 90 + year old parents and it was an ideal venue for us. The rooms were good and my father has limited mobility so the lift and easy access to the prom were good. The food was very good - excellent breakfast and we had a couple of evening meals which were good. The staff were very good with my parents so if you want a hotel that is suitable for the elderly + have a good time yourself then this fits the bill.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have been visiting the K&D for many years with large groups of friends and individually. The reason is fairly obvious. The quality of service has never wavered. The staff, although there have been changes over time, have always offered the same high level of professional care you come to expect. They are always attentive to the needs of their guests and contribute to the friendly ambiance of the hotel. As for value for money one would be hard pushed to find a better deal. We shall continue to put it top of our list.

Room Tip: Book early! (Your Hotel ratings above does not work by the way!)
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Neville J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

My husband and I have stayed at the Kingswood on a number of occasions over the years. Reading some of the other recent reviews, guests must remember that this is a very old hotel, which used to a a local bathing house in the early 1900's and the small rooms come with charm. They are very clean and well appointed, with tea, coffee, biscuits and water in your rooms. Plus a floor safe, ironing board and some toiletries in the bathroom. Although we are by far one of the youngest guests in the hotel,late 40's that does not both us as there is so much to do nearby. I agree the pub next door can by noisy at the weekend, it is always finished by 11.30pm. The hotel offers very good value for money, for breakfast you can have a mixture of anything you want from the menu, with a much to drink hot and cold and toast as you wish. The dinner menu is the same, the courses are traditional but very tasty and for 4 courses extremely good value for money. Plus coffee and biscuits and tea and cake in the afternoon is a nice addition. The only real issue we had was that although the staff are extremely helpful and can't do enough for you which is nice a few of them struggle to understand English which makes ordering you food a bit of a challenge and on occasions we have not got quiet what we ordered but they always seek to rectify this. Definitely work a visit, a perfect location with great sea views and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

A lovely time was spent by our friends and my husband and I. The rooms were well decorated, clean and comfortable . We had sea view with balcony and was able to watch the Red Arrows from there which was a bonus as weather was rather damp. The staff were most welcoming, polite and very helpful. Breakfast was really good. Having read previous comments cannot understand some people’s negativity. It was certainly not like walking into an old people’s home in any way. There was a mixed age range including some young families. Would definite recommend and will hopefully return at some time . Thank you for making our stay so nice.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

We stayed here for one night on Monday (Family of four).
As previously mentioned, we were the youngest people there by some distance and we're in our mid forties!

The hotel has a great location for the beach and town, but the hotel itself was only OK.
Some rooms were ok, others were a bit tired.

Breakfast was disappointing - we were told that "croissants would take 20 minutes" - Are you heating up frozen croissants? Why not get them from a local bakery?
My wife ordered eggs benedict, and I'm not exaggerating by saying these were disgusting. Uncooked muffin, under cooked (and cold) eggs, and the sauce was horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna w, General Manager at The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks for the review, the croissants are freshly baked daily by our team which is why they take 20 minutes to bake. We are sorry about the eggs benedict, we will adress this up with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews