We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Scarborough ”
Review of Sylvern House

Sylvern House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sylvern House
Ranked #66 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This B&B was a really good find. It is easy to get to the harbour as well as the town centre. The room was clean and cost but had everything you needed. There was bath, shower, tv, teatray, hair dryer, shower gel and hand wash. Plus the bonus of bottled water and biscuits. The breakfast was by rock box the night before and very substantial. The proprietors were welcoming and could have not been more welcoming to myself and my guide dog. Will be back there soon
.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank brighteyes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Sylvern House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2016

Sylvern House turned out to be a perfect booking for us. We brought our two dogs with us and they were welcomed in the hotel. North Bay is only fifty yards away albeit with an ensuing walk down to the beach. For four days we were able to enjoy the freedom of the beach resorts and the half term crowds. Sylvern House is an excellent place to stay. Clean and spacious rooms excellent food tailored to our needs and although there is no car park to the hotel we never failed to get a parking space adjacent to the hotel for which we were issued with a free zonal parking permit by the hotel. We will definitely return to botht the hotel and the area.

Room Tip: Rooms can be tailored to suit couples or families. You only need to specify your requirements.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vince-evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Thanks to Richard and Vicki for putting up with us lot this weekend. Nothing too much trouble, fab rooms, fab breakfast,fab company and those beds...... so comfy. Will definitely be back if they will have us.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Any positives for me were cancelled out by a stark negative ,that being unnecessary moodiness. The term "nothing too much trouble" is incorrect. After being shown to our room we asked Richard for something for us to place our dogs water bowl on to place on the carpet like a bit of old newspaper or bowl tray. However the response to this request was an unwillingness to assist and a disinterested look .On departing I noticed there was a "Contact less" paying card machine .When I inquired to settle our remaining bill by part guaranteed "contact less" and part credit card his hospitality then turned instantly moody and intimidating by demanding it in one payment. I accepted this yet the reaction alone I found quite disgusting .Note: I've previously found these sorts of requests are easily catered for by other guest houses and so are fair to ask without the negative reaction. This really spoiled our visit and so shall not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank googleuser2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Hi stayed for four nights 19th to 23rd Sept 2016 on arrival was meet by Richard who showed me to my room I was in a single room on top floor, the room was large for a single and spotless. Richard was very friendly and gave me a menu to fill out for b/fast just tick what you need and live it on table down stairs. After a good nights sleep went down for b/fast and Richard served my a full b/fast that was great hot and plenty of it and just as I had ordered The whole four days were the same plus my room was spotless every day with all little extras on top of tea coffee biscuits fresh bottle of water This was one of the best b&b I have stayed in, So if you need a very good b&b stay at Richards Sylvern House.

Room Tip: my room at top three floors no lift but a great single room
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.7 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
0.1 km away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
393 reviews
0.2 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.1 km away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvern House

Address: 25 New Queen Street, Scarborough YO12 7HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: RM312 - RM374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvern House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome, good home cooking and a friendly atmosphere with Vicki and Richard at Sylvern House. All rooms en-suite. Children and pets welcome. Free Wi-Fi. Open all year, including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sylvern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing