We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Sylvern House

Sylvern House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sylvern House
Ranked #66 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Great location close to town and central for both beaches but beaches all downhill, friendly host, parking free and we had no problem, a great breakfast with plenty of choice (not greasy) there was free wi-fi which has reasonable speed

Room Tip: stairs quite steep
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Sylvern House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

We booked this particular B&B on the strength of trip advisor reviews. I then looked at the place on google streetmap and was a bit worried as from the outside, it did look a bit shabby in a not too nice area, and a bit of a throw back to a 1960's hi-de-hi establishment. I was therefore pleasantly surprised to find that the inside was very clean and fresh, and had a very modern 'feel' to it. It was also situated very close to the sea front on the cliff top near to the castle and the city centre well within walking distance.

The rooms were a bit on the small side (but you are not paying Hotel prices), and they did have a good TV and a kettle with supplied tea/coffee/milk/sugar, as well as a complimentary bottles of drinking water every day. The best bit was to come in the mornings at breakfast, you ordered whatever you wanted by ticking a pre-printed sheet and was cooked fresh for you when you sat down. We did enjoy a goodly sized breakfast which meant we could well last out without feeling hungry until the evening.

9 rooms in total with numbers 8 and 9 at the very top with 48 steps to trundle up (yes I counted them!!!). Didn't bother us as we were there on a walking holiday, but if you do have trouble with steps it could be worth contacting Richard to ask for a room lower down if available.

Richard and his wife were lovely hosts, and have been in B&B in that house since the 1980's so they must be doing something right. And, if you do read these reviews Richard, I will say my one and only negative comment in the hope that you take it the right way and maybe put it right ------ the bread you use to make the toast is rubbish. Toast should be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, yours was crispy and dry all the way through and just not right. Of course, being British, didn't like to say at the time as every thing else was first class.

Thoroughly recommend to anyone. Thanks.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank LouLewLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Wanting to take advantage of the good weather I booked to stay here at very short notice having confirmed that the hotel was dog friendly. Upon arrival the owner gave me a friendly welcome and showed me my room and the available facilities. The room was clean and tidy with a well equipped bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice. We had a lovely stay here and felt the cost was exceptional value for money and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ash167301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Room.
We had a family room no7. Small basic but clean and tidy.
Good shower only gripe was that the temperature control on it had been assembled wrote resulting in shower temp indicator been difficult. I have same shower unit at home and made same error when replacing a part. Not a big issue really and most would figure it out workout help.
Kettle in room with a few teabags and coffee sachets.
Beds were comfortable and clean.

Steps up a little steep but owner can't change that.

Breakfast was fantastic. You fill out a little tick list of what you would like and it's cooked perfectly for you once you wake up.

Owner is fantastic and will help out with anything you need. We needed an extra towl for little lad. No problem.
Even went so far as laying children sized cutlery out for him at breakfast.

You can tell the owners have been in this business some time and understand how to run a small hotel or b and b.

We don't do hotels very often as we prefer to rent a holiday cottage. however I would happily stay hear again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Sylvern for one night last weekend, in a single room, while visiting family in Scarborough.

The room was clean and modern, the ensuite bathroom was nice too, and modern. The breakfast was lovely, 3 courses with a lot of choice! Would definitely use again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Dizzy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.7 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
0.1 km away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
393 reviews
0.2 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.1 km away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvern House

Address: 25 New Queen Street, Scarborough YO12 7HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: RM312 - RM374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvern House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome, good home cooking and a friendly atmosphere with Vicki and Richard at Sylvern House. All rooms en-suite. Children and pets welcome. Free Wi-Fi. Open all year, including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sylvern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing